Geeks logo

The Son of Joker and His Queen: Chapter 2

Jade's night was interrupted, a certain mystery face shows up with more information about her life than he should

By Ky WritesPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

News Broadcast #Two

Last night’s charity ball took an unexpected turn as our beloved daughter of Gotham, Jade Wayne’s speech was hijacked, and she seemed to have anodd reaction. She spewed out words about some of Gotham’s former villains who were sentenced to death and children that shouldn’t exist. She mentioned threats of a “new Gotham”; but as long as we have Batman, Gotham City will be alright. Many witnesses from that night said Miss Jade Wayne had a distant look in her eyes like old victims of Mad Hatter but Commissioner Gordon said there is no connection yet. Jade is still in Gotham General; they are asking for no visitors except family.

Chapter Two

“I don’t care if they didn’t leave a trace, I want to know who did this to my daughter.” I woke up to screaming voices, a pounding headache, and tubes sticking out of my nose and arms. I felt groggy and my mind felt fuzzy. I slowly opened my eyes to blinding light from the windows and stupid light hanging from the ceiling. “I paid you to give me the best you had and now my daughter is in the hospital.” I heard dad scream from right outside the door. I’m in the hospital. What happened last night? “Miss Jade you’re awake.” Alfred exclaimed coming into my field of view. “Alfred, who’s my dad talking to?” I asked keeping my eyes on the door to the hallway. “the security company he hired for last night’s benefit.” Alfred said helping me sit up and making sure my pillows are comfortable enough for me. Alfred never was a butler to me; he was more like my grandfather. I loved him so much. I would help him cook when I wasn’t in school and he taught me how to play mahjong and how to beat him in chess. He will always have a spot in my heart. I thanked him for fixing my pillows since it was really difficult for me to move.

My dad walked back into the room looking tired and stressed. “Dad please go home and go to sleep.” I said grabbing his attention. He looked up surprised to see me awake. He walked up to the side of the bed and caressed my hair. “I’m not leaving you here, the doctors want to keep you for another night to make sure everything is okay.” He said with a sad look in his eyes. I couldn’t tell if it was an apologetic or a regret look. “Mr. Wayne” We both looked to the door, and there stood Commissioner Gordan, another man who influenced how I was raised. “Jim, you have known me since I was 7, You can call me Bruce.” My dad chuckled giving Gordon, one of those weird bro hugs. “you’re right but with the occasion, I thought it was best if I used formalities.” Gordon said rubbing the back of his neck. “I need to ask Jade some questions, only if you’re up for it.” I nodded my head signaling it was ok. “ok, what can you remember from last night?” “not much, after everything I had said my memory is a blur.” I honestly couldn’t remember a thing. It felt like there was something missing. “anything before that, that seemed unusual or out of place?” As soon as the word unusual fell from his lips, those electric eyes flashed in my mind, but I couldn’t remember anything other his eyes and sly smirk. “there was this guy, I don’t remember much about him, but I saw him before I walked on stage and before I started my speech.” I said trying my hardest to remember more. “Can you give me a description?” he asked getting ready to take notes. “All I remember are his unusual eyes. Their electric blue which I know isn’t a common eye color in Gotham at least.” I knew this because Gordon was teaching me a few things about criminology, so I can have options when I graduate from studying law. “Ok I’ll get a sketch artist in here later today, that might be able to help us.”

It's been a few hours since I gave Gordon my statement. I had to convince my dad to go home with Alfred and take a nap, then go check on his company, Wayne Enterprises. I told Alfred to not wake him until he was asleep for at least an hour. That was about 2 hours ago. Now I was laying in the hospital room with all the lights off with only natural light coming from the window, trying to take a nap. It was so quiet and peaceful. “I’m glad you didn’t rat me out baby girl.” A familiar voice said from the shadows. “You!” I exclaimed. “you’re the reason I’m in here. Your voice is the last one I heard.” My memories were slowly coming back. “you hypnotized me.” “technically that wasn’t me. I didn’t mean for you to faint and end up in the hospital. I needed you to get my message across.” He said not showing his face. But his voice was alluring and tempting. I heard his footstep start to come closer. “from the first time I read about you, you intrigued me. Adopted at such a young age, grew up with the richest man in Gotham and become this amazing woman that everyone loved.” He stopped at the head of my bed and played with my curls. “But what really intrigued me is your heritage. You don’t even know where you came from and I can’t wait for your past to catch up with you.” I was confused. I knew my past. My mom died when giving birth to me. “you're lying.” I said trying to pull away but not really wanting to. He tucked the strand of hair he was playing with behind my ear and leaned in. “Believe me baby girl, if I was lying how would I know about the heart-shaped birthmark inside your left thigh” I was speechless. I never told anyone about that. My dad knew about it but that’s only because someone had to help me get dressed. Plus, my medical records weren’t released to the public and never will be. “If you want to know more, come to the costume party this Saturday at Gotham Academy,” He said backing away from me. “Wear the costume I left on your bed.”

I was released from the hospital Thursday morning, three days after the benefit. My dad drove us home in his sleek black Lamborghini. We sat in silence as I fiddled with my thumbs. I wanted to tell my dad about the mysterious man I keep seeing and how we might have to have the house swept for bugs and cameras. But I couldn’t bring myself to do it. The man that I never found out the name of has consumed my every waking moment and every single one of my dreams. I wanted to know more about him and what he knew about my past. “Dad, can you tell me more about my birth mom?” I asked hoping he wouldn’t look too deep into it. But being the dark knight and a pretty good detective without going to a police academy, it was a long shot. “Where is this coming from Jade?” My dad turned his head slightly to look at me. “I’m just asking. I’m grateful for everything you have given me and done for me. But I feel like I should at least know more about my birth parents.” I said hoping my dad wouldn’t see through my half-truth. “I understand, sometimes I wish I had more time with my parents and learned more about them.” He said taking my hand in a comforting manner. “I only know what the foster home told me. Your birth father didn’t want you and who adopted you to know who he or your birth mother were. He also asked that neither one of them would know who adopted you. The only information I was able to get was that your mother was a lawyer and your father a nurse.” My face fell. Was I such a mistake that my parents didn’t even want to meet me or know me? I needed to know more, I needed to know what he knew. But mostly I needed to see my mystery man again.

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ky Writes

Writing has always been a passion of mine, I have just been trying to find the right platform to share it on.

Insta: write_bake_create

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.