Geeks logo

The Red Brick Road

Chapter 1: The Worst Day Ever *pt.1 Do you guys remember the yellow brick road from The Wizard of Oz? Do you remember the mysterious red brick road that was spiraling next to it? Ever wondered where it led to? Then this is the story for you! Find out where it leads & what happens to Sabrina on her journey down this mysterious road. *I'm still working on this story, but I want to put it out there just to see how the people will react to it. If it gets a lot of attention I'll continue to post pieces of the rest of the chapters & hopefully finish the story with you guys. I hope you guys enjoy!

By Dominique ReneePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Most people, well everyone I should hope, knows the story “The Wizard of Oz”. You know, the country Kansas girl with her dog? Big twister? Lands in a magical place “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”? Yada, yada, yada, you get the idea! Anyway, this isn’t her story, it’s mine, and I can already tell you that my story is far more exciting than hers. Ladies and gents, my name is Sabrina Nichols, and this is the story of how I died in Oz. Yes, you heard me, I died in Oz. This means of course I went to Oz, okay look let me just tell you the story and it’ll all be clear.

I used to live in Toronto with my mother, father, and little brother. We were an alright kind of family, no real problems . . . unless count me and my “antics”, as my mother used to call them. No real arguments around the house. . .unless you count my brother and I, and our countless arguments. Okay, so maybe there were a few problems in the house. But they never understood me there so they always saw my actions as acting out, dramatic, mean, rude, every word in the book. Of course, I never realized they were right about me until now, and I suppose it’s too late for me to go back and change it all now.

I was a pretty happy girl living in Toronto. I had friends, I had a gorgeous boyfriend, and not to mention I was the by far the coolest, and realest girl in that boring town, until that big storm came around. But I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s go back to the day before I landed in Oz. It was about 7:30 a.m. and I was still asleep in my bed. I did not plan on getting up for school that day, but my mom busted into my room yelling out her usual morning spiel. “What are you still doing in bed?! Do you not realize what time it is? GET UP NOW!” I pulled the covers over my head to block out her loud annoying shrieks. “No, you take this off now and get up! You are going to school whether you like it or not.” My mother yelled. She grabbed the covers and threw them on the floor. “UP. NOW.” She warned through clenched teeth. I knew that when she started talking like that it was best for me to just listen and do what she says. I got up and angrily mumbled my way to the bathroom to get ready.

After I took a shower, I stumbled sleepily back to my room to get dressed. On my bed were clothes that my mother had laid out for me. They were so preppy and girly, and just not my style. She did this all the time. She’d buy clothes for me (clothes that aren’t my style) and bring them home, expecting me to have a sudden change of style and wear them all the time. No, not ever. I closed the door behind me and walked over to my closet. There I found a nice plain black t-shirt, a random plaid flannel to tie around my waist, my leather jacket, and my favorite leather leggings. I turned to find my mother at the door. “Why don’t you ever wear the clothes I lay out for you?” She asked. She sounded rather hurt, but of course, I didn’t care. I kept telling her that I didn’t like the clothes she brought home, but she continued to do it; so she got what she asked for. “Because mom, I’m not into that type of style. I told you that before.” I explained for the one thousandth time. I walked over to my bed to get my black Converse and beanie. “I know, but Sabrina you’d look so pretty in these clothes.” My mom said. “No, I think I’d look fine or whatever no matter what I’m wearing. You just want me to be more like you.” I shot back at her. “Is that such a bad thing?” She asked me. “Well if it’s to the point where I feel like I’m being forced, then yes it is.” I said.

By that time I had gotten my books and phone and headed down stairs to go to school. “Sabrina, I’m sorry.” My mother said, walking after me. “I know you have a certain style, and I was wrong to try and force you into wearing the clothes.” She looked so sincere. “Really?” I was surprised. That was the first time she ever apologized. “Well then, it’s okay.” I said quietly. “Good. But of course if you just started out wearing the shirts only, then that’d be a good start!” She started again. “Are you serious??” I asked in disbelief. “Okay, you know what? I’m going to school now.” I stormed over towards the door. I was so heated and decided to have the last word. “Oh, and just so you know I’ll never wear those clothes. So your attempt to make another you is a bust. I don’t ever want to be and never will be you.” I said heartlessly. I walked out and slammed the door behind me.

I was so heated. I couldn’t believe she had apologized only to start right back up again. I started to walk my way to school. It was a cold day, too cold to be walking to school, but I refused to go back into that house and ask her for a ride. I walked down the block mumbling to myself when all of a sudden I heard a crack. I turned to see where the sound came from, but saw nothing, so I continued to walk. Just as I started to walk I heard the sound again. I quickly turned around again to see if I could see anything, but still nothing. This time instead of just completely ignoring it, I slowly turned & walked slower. When I heard the sound again, instead of turning around abruptly, I just looked to the side. Someone was following me. I started walking faster, trying to get away from whoever it was but then they started to walk quickly as well. I started to run hoping that the person would just give up but then I heard the footsteps picking up with mine. Desperate to get away, I made a dash for the alley up ahead. I knew that if I could use the usual shortcut then maybe I’ll lose them. When I got to the gated fence, I started to climb my way up. Just then I felt a pair of hands go around my waist and pull me down. “No! Let me go! Who are you?!”

To Be Continued. . . .

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Dominique Renee

27 year old writer. Currently working on 2 books that I'm posting here. Mostly write fiction, but I'll also put up some poetry from time to time. & once I get comfortable enough, I'll try to put out journalism pieces. Hopefully you'll enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.