Geeks logo

The Prophecy

A short story by Maddilyn Crowe

By Maddilyn CrowePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I could feel the warm, thick sensation of blood pooling at my fingertips. Slowly rubbing my finger and thumb together I realised I was not imagining this. My eyes dart open and I am blinded by a light so bright I could only guess I was dead.

“Ava!” I hear my name being called. In an instant I am being hurled up and on my feet, in a blur I see me friends Max, Crystal and Ronan fighting for their life. We are in a forest. Luke, my best friend and protector is standing in front of me yelling orders at me, however I can not make out what he is saying from the loud ringing in my ears. I am watching his mouth move trying to make out what he is saying.

“What is going on Luke? Am I dead?” I ask. Luke starts shaking me and suddenly, I feel a very heavy weight on my chest as I snap back into reality. “Ava, it is up to you. You are the strongest of us all.” He hands me a parcel. It is a small rectangle shape with brown paper and string wrapped around the object concealing it.

“Take this to the order and trust no one. If we make it out of this we will meet you there. Until then you are on your own. Do you understand me Ava?” I could hear the panic in his voice.

I trust Luke with my life. I nod. “Yes I understand but I don’t see why you all can’t come with me.” I whisper with tears rolling down my eyes. “They are after you Ava. You and that” he looks down at the parcel he just handed me. “together you are the key to unlocking our worlds doom. You must leave now and all will be reavealed when you get to the Order.”

Thinking this could be the last time I see him I smash my lips down on his so hard I feel my lips sting. I then teleport myself to the Order, collapsing when I arrive. letting the dark swallow me up. I welcome it.

I wake in a panic. My head is pounding. I sit up so quickly I feel pain all over my body, reminding me of the battle I just left. I look around and realise I am in a hospital. I notice the parcel is gone. I spring to my feet, Frantically looking for it. I hear voices coming from the hallway. I hide behind the door.

“Ava? Where are you? You are safe, you made it to the Order.” The voice is familiar to me. “Professor lightwood?” I step forward revealing myself. “My dear girl, look at you. You have been through a great lot.” I can see the pity in his eyes. Professor Lightwood is the “ruler” of our world. He has been around for what feels like forever and he is the most wise of us all.

“What is going on? Why am I the chosen one for this? Where is the parcel Luke gave me? Why am I here?” I snap. “All will be reavealed, I am sure you have many questions. When you are well rested and feelin”- “I feel fine.” I cut him off. “I need to know now.” I beg. Professor lightwood starts walking out of the room And says “Very well, follow me.”

He leads me into a black room with old wooden furniture, the room is glowing from so many candles being lit. It is also filled with the members of the Order. The Order are our protectors. They fight all evil that threatens this world. The worst of that evil being the Vals. The ones I just left my friends with to fight off on their own. Feeling guilt ripple through me, my thoughts are interrupted.

“Ava, we don’t have much time so I am going to cut straight to the point.” Professor lightwood says. I take a seat. at the table. “You see, you are actually born from our royalty. Your parents were elves and you are the last of your family surviving. Your parents died protecting you and for good reason. You are the chosen one. The most powerful of us all. You can destroy the Vals and only you can do so.” I am stunned by the words coming out of his mouth. “I know my parents died protecting me but I never knew I was...royalty. This can’t be right. Me the chosen one? The only one able to destroy the Vals? I can’t be.” I exhale. This is all too much information to hear. “I understand this is a lot to take in but we really don’t have much time, your parents gave us strict orders that you were not to be told unless you life depended on it.” He pulls out from under his robes the parcel Luke handed me. “All of the answers lie in here. This is your prophecy and the Vals desperately want this as is is the key to your power.” He hands it to me. I slowly pull at the string and pull back the brown paper. I look down at the object and am confused. “This? This is my prophecy? An old black book? it looks like someone’s diary.” I exclaim. Opening it I read my parents handwriting. It is in elves language and although never learning it I can understand it. I snap it shut. Feeling the burn of my tears fill up in my eyes. My parents died when I was 2 saving me from evil. I never realised what evil.

“Ava that is not the only thing your parents left for you.” Professor lightwood continues. “See since being royalty you have inherited a large amount of wealth.” “How much?” I ask. “Actually Ava there is no limit to your fortune you inherited. You have not only all the money and possessions in the world but you now also rule the Order.” The room goes silent.

“Me? I am the new ruler of the Order?” I am yelling now. “Yesterday I was just an ordinary 19 year old girl learning potions and spells to defend myself at school. Now I am getting told I own everyone and everything on this planet and I am the key to either destroying the Vals or destroying the world if they get ahold of the prophecy my parents made? why would my parents creat this if it can help them?” I am standing up now and holding the small black book above my head. “Ava.. I understand you” I didn’t even give him the chance to finish I storm out of the room.

I walk outside to get some fresh air. Filling my nostrils with it I exhale. “What the hell is going on?” I ask myself.

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.