Geeks logo

The Path To The Animated.

From live actors to voice overs.

By Jean JohnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Big Mouth Season 4

I've always loved watching films and many series' that have been recommended from friends and family. Who doesn't love coming home from work, you've just finished your regular 9-5 grind on a Tuesday. You're tired but you don't quite want to go to sleep just yet. So what should we do? We find something on Netflix. You're not super hungry because you've had little bites here and there throughout your shift but you're a little peckish. You grab whatever snacks that are in your cupboard from your last trip to the supermarket and to the living room you go, with your feet on the table and the remote at the ready.

You're all set.

Now I take it this is common wherever you are in the world. This is literally my life. Before I decide on something to binge watch, I decide which streaming service I would wanna use today.

We got Netflix, Amazon Prime, STAN, Disney+, Foxtel. Oh the options

I've watched it all, all the ones that I've been recommended by friends. The usual classics such as Breaking Bad, Game Of Thrones, The Office (Both US & UK), you name it. Animated ones are really good, I watch it from time to time. We all know them. You would have to be living under a rock if you haven't heard of The Simpsons, Family Guy, or South Park.

There is this Netflix Original that caught my attention a little while back. The name is called Big Mouth. A very crude, hilarious animated tv series created by Nick Kroll who is quite talented as he also does the voice of many of the characters. It's a coming of age type show that differs from the others. It revolves around a group of pre-teens going through puberty, and changes with their bodies. With the imaginary "hormone monster" to guide them in, shall we say a NSFW way.

From the first episode of the first season to the finale, I was hooked. This show has no limits and holds nothing back.

I think the thing with binge watching something is that you really have to follow through. If I were to recommend something to someone, generally they would come up with an excuse not to watch it. After the first to third episodes of the first season of any show, you will get hooked on as long as you have faith.

At the moment we are dealing with travel restrictions, quarantining if we do get the approval for an international flight. I am currently in a hotel room in Bangkok, Thailand. 8 and a half hour flight from Sydney, Australia where I'm based. I have loads of time to kill. When I'm not working out, enjoying one of three meals provided, or studying, I'd watch something on my laptop. Even though the internet makes me wanna throw my laptop out of the balcony, its bearable.

I used to crack jokes about people who watch anime. Jokingly of course. I never had anything against people who watch anime. I just made jokes about people who take it over the top. However, a friend told me about an app to download called Crunchy Roll that has a ton of anime. I wasn't that interested at first. But I've always considered myself open minded. I checked out the first show that came up on my suggested "Jujutsu Kaisen". About an invulnerable high school kid with cursed powers.

I honestly wish my friend did not recommend this... because now I am ADDICTED.

Episode after episode, I've already finished the season. Reading up theories and plot holes, I needed answers. I got hooked on many other anime shows, that weren't even on Crunchy Roll. There were many anime tv shows and films such as ones by the very famous Studio Ghibli who are well known for making films that tug at the heart strings. With their amazing and emotional story lines, their animation style, and their depiction on humans and other worldly creatures.

I've never been a fan of anime but after my 5th day in quarantine, I can safely say that I enjoy watching anime. If a co-worker, a friend, a family member recommends something to watch, keep an open mind. Ask them more about it and that will also make their day.

If you're a binge watcher like me, its good to keep up with whats good and whats so-so. However we shouldn't allow ourselves to be completely consumed by TV and movies. Moderation is key, and we can't have a screen be our one source of happiness. We have a beautiful world out there that doesn't require someone else to write a script

We are the writers, directors, producers, and the actors.

tv
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.