Geeks logo

(The Owl House oneshot)Raine's a Fool

Raine had feelings for Eda immediately. This cute story shows those feelings developing. This is all wrapped around the song Can't help Falling in love originally by Elvis.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
A screen shot from "Them's the Breaks, Kid" where Raine and Eda are having lunch in the Hexide cafeteria seen through a window that is framed by flowers and flowering vines. The title is above their heads.

I'm wrapping a story around Elvis's song "Can't help falling in love". In my mind it's to the tempo of the A*Teens' cover, there are some changes in the lyrics between the two versions.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It was time for the IFWOT, and I was competing again. I figured it would be the normal boring event with the same boring events. I was glad to be wrong.

As I looked around the room, my eyes stopped on someone with long orange hair. She was definitely not pleased to be here. I watched her during the usual activities and the way she kept pulling practical jokes on the staff. Her chaotic nature drew me in like a moth to a flame. I needed to talk to her. An old Earth song popped into my head.

~

Wise men say

Only fools rush in

But I can't help falling in love with you

Shall I stay?

Would it be a sin

If I can't help falling in love with you?

~

Being with her during the events was the happiest I've ever been. I was a fool that rushed in. it was to the point where I didn't even care about getting a ribbon, I just wanted to spend time with Eda, this wonderfully chaotic girl that I had just met. I couldn't help myself.

My shenanigans with her made it so no one got ribbons including me. Without the ribbon scholarship. My parents couldn't afford to send me to St. Epiderm, so I was sent to Hexside instead.

~

Like a river flows

Surely to the sea

Darling, so it goes

Some things are meant to be

~

Hexside is the school Eda goes to. We'd be able to spend plenty of time together. That was all I could think of while my mom was yelling at me for not getting a ribbon. Some things were meant to be.

After a few months as I fell more and more in love with Eda, I tried to find a way to ask her out without making it awkward, and with the possibility of losing her as a friend. Music. I got her alone and reached out my hand which she took and sang an old song, hoping she'd pick up on it. To help me with my stage fright I've sung and played for Eda and Lilith a lot, but I didn't often sing love songs, and never when it was just the two of us.

"Wise men say

Only fools rush in"- I started

...

"Take my hand

Take my whole life, too

For I can't help falling in love with you"

~

At this point, she started laughing. Something, that is usually my favorite sound, was almost painful to hear. "Is this your way of saying that you like me?" I shrunk in on myself.

"Well, I like you too, Raine," she gave my hand a squeeze, "But whole life? that might be a bit much," she smiled, and what a smile it was. I just nodded as the next verse ran through my head.

~

Like a river flows

Surely to the sea

Darling, so it goes

Some things are meant to be

~

"I've actually been thinking of a way to ask you out, I figured I'd do it after the song." Some things are meant to be.

~

Take my hand

Take my whole life, too

For I can't help falling in love with you

For I can't help falling in love with you

~

"Wanna kiss? I've never done that before, but it's supposed to feel good, Wanna try it out?" there was a huge hopeful grin on her face.

"I've never kissed anyone either, heh," I chuckled awkwardly. "Well we are dating now so, let's give it a try?" she pulled me close and we brought our faces closer until our lips touched. I closed my eyes and savored the feeling. It was extraordinary. Then she pulled away with a goofy grin. She can have my whole life, too.

AN

If you like this story? I have more Owl House one-shots out and more to come. I have and several different series, including one about Raine figuring out their gender, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, comment, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.