Geeks logo

"The Night's Eye" Review — An Inkitt Story

"What if you awoke with a clairvoyant connection to all serial killers, along with the discovery that all share a unique mark? The same mark you now posses...."

By Ashley ThompsonPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Recently I've been invested into reading free, new, possibly not yet published novels on Inkitt.com. As I mentioned in the last post, I submitted my own novel there, so while doing that I stopped and found some books to read too. One of these was the chilling, twisted thriller, The Night's Eye by JA Hamilton.

The Night's Eye completely threw me off my feet with its original plot, or as all the hip teens my age would say, "I am shook!" The main character, Matt, is very original and has such an interesting hobby in swordsmanship. He is very real and a total smart-ass, which adds a humorous touch to the more serious, horror theme behind Hamilton's novel. It follows the concept of being connected to a serial killer, which causes Matt's whole world to be flipped upside down.

Hamilton develops best friends, Matt and Brandon, expertly through their POV's in the book throughout each chapter. You can really tell the similarities and differences between both of them. He also uses their friendship to make the story flow, twist, and surprise his readers.

This thrilling novel has twist at every end. I kept reading very quickly, just so that I could find out more. I went in thinking it was going to be one thing, but Hamilton surprised me with the twist involved in the story. Not to mention, the deaths and accidents involved with the serial killer, known as The Night's Eye, are shocking, gory, and Hamilton creates the imagery/emotions perfectly. I had vivid ideas of all the scenes described in the novel. However, if you are triggered or turned away from gore/gory descriptions, I would stray from this novel.

In the novel, there is a perfect flow of events and an added in theme to it. This threw me off at first because it can be a little confusing. The main flaw I found in the novel was that itself. However, it is easily ignored with how exciting and thrilling Hamilton writes the storyline. It is the perfect novel if you are looking for an adrenaline rush or chill goosebumps up your arms late at night, reading. While reading The Night's Eye, I felt like I could have been watching a horror film. In fact, sign me up to start a film franchise for this novel. I'm hoping Hamilton has more for this story.

If the typical YA, or romance, fantasy novels have gotten to be a bore for you and you want something new. This thrilling, exciting, and unique novel is the perfect start. Hamilton leaves his readers sitting on the edge of their seat, kicking their feet in anxiousness. I have read a few thriller and mystery novels but The Night's Eye was something very original. The plot of being connected to serial killers due to an ancient mark is something no one could imagine. Hamilton uses this to his advantage and creates potential for prequels or even sequels to how this story all comes together. There aren't too many characters to get the reader confused and it throws in natural male humor into the novel as well.

Matt isn't your romantic dream boy, he is very rough around the edges and mysterious. His character is flawed, different, and not the typical male protagonist in novels. He makes dirty jokes, plays with swords, and is interested in Asian culture. His friend group is pretty relatable and flawed too, and this can help a reader's connections to them. They don't appear or come out as this superhuman and perfect, natural good people. They are human and make mistakes, learn lessons, and fight to live the lives they are brought up in.

There is so much that can be reviewed for this novel. Its writing style is very unique and well written. Hamilton puts a lot of detail into the character's way of seeing things, how they narrate, and what is seen around them.

The Night's Eye has potential for a long, descriptive review about its suspenseful, thrilling qualities, but this review is meant to be quick. Hamilton creates relatable characters, a unique plot, and thrilling, goose bump creating imagery in his novel. It is the perfect, go-to novel if you are in search of a new thriller to add to your list. I'm not aware if he has it available for a shelf but it is available to read here.

If you are interested!

Give me your perspectives and check out my novel if you would like as well. I'd love to hear if anyone shares my opinions.

review
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Thompson

Hey viewers!

I am a huge bookworm whom will mainly post about books and review movies etc. You can expect lots of fun, dorky post from me. Also some small advice columns too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.