Geeks logo

The Neckbeards of Adult Animation

Plus my love for Bob’s Burgers

By David DauschPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am 37 years old, and I will admit that every night I fall asleep to the sounds of adult animation. I have loved cartoons since I was a kid, my favorite being Scooby-Doo. There are so many amazing shows out there for our viewing pleasure, but as adult animation evolves into new genres, so does it create a new breed of viewers. Family Guy and South Park were really the first adult animated shows to come on the scene, to really push the boundaries of what could be said and shown on television, and make viewers think “what will they do next?” As more and more shows followed, they became more edgy, more complex, and more popular. One show that has caught fire over the past few years is Rick and Morty. Let me preface this by saying I am a huge fan. I think the universe that has been created allows for endless possibilities and years of entertainment. They can do anything because the writers are not handcuffed to any type of laws of time and space. However, there seems to be a population of fans that believe Rick and Morty is this intellectual masterpiece that many don’t understand. The truth is, Rick and Morty is Family Guy with science fiction and less flashbacks. A beligerent lead character going on a zaney adventure every week and utter non-sense follows. They aren’t trying to make some political or cultural statement, or bury messages about society in the episodes, they are just trying to tell fun stories and make dirty jokes. This idea that Rick and Morty has all these layers and only those with a certain intellect can truly enjoy it, is laughable. For the few of you that are reading this, and thinking “do people really think that?” The answer is, yes they do. In my opinion, the only show that has successfully been able to make a statement in its work is South Park, and at the end of the day, even that is toilet humor. However, some have said South Park is the closest you will get to what ancient Greeks were trying to accomplish with their comedies. For the record, I love all these shows. I’m not writing this to trash them. I am writing this to say that the reason I, and so many others watch them, is not to learn a lesson or feel like we are high and mighty (looking at you neckbeards), but because we love the stories, the characters, and the shit do and say. I will admit I spend less of my time watching shows like Family Guy and South Park, because as an adult I connect better with other shows. To side bar this entire article, I would like to take an opportunity to tell you what I think is the best adult animated show on tv: Bob’s Burgers. No show is as real and pure as Bob’s Burgers. The characters are relatable and they function in the real world. Sure, we all don’t have financial struggles, or kids, or weird friends, but we can still watch the show and understand what it might be like and appreciate how Bob and Linda will literally do whatever they can, sacrifice whatever they have to, to give their kids a happy life, all while having a lot of good laughs in the process. If you haven’t checked it out, I can’t recommend it enough. And if you’re looking for something a little more adult, wild, lot more depressing, check out Bojack Horseman. To close, watch what you want to watch and enjoy it, and next time someone implies that you are not intelligent enough to understand shows like Rick and Morty, just have a good laugh and enjoy the show!

comedy
Like

About the Creator

David Dausch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.