Geeks logo

The Major Flaw in Amy's Plan in 'Gone Girl'

Warning: This blog post contains spoilers.

By Loni BeachPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

Alright, so recently I decided to watch the movie Gone Girl. I was actually pretty excited to watch this movie seeing as it was a thriller and contained Neil Patrick Harris in it. Yes, I am aware the movie came out in 2014 and I am now finally getting around to watching it. I guess, I just never really found an interest in it until now. So, my boyfriend and I laid down and proceeded to watch the movie which, by the way, is almost two hours and thirty minutes. It took us two days to watch it since we were not aware of this going into it.

It was a good movie, and it had some very interesting scenes and plot points. Now, I can't say this is one of the best movies of all time because in my opinion, it's not. Plus I've never read the book, so I'm not 100% sure how accurate the movie is in comparison. But, from what I observed in the movie, there is the HUGE plot hole that I'm not sure a lot of other people noticed, too, and it kind of ruined the movie for me. Also, if the characters were smart and had basic common sense, then Amy's plan would have completely blown up in her own face. So, Let me explain...

In the movie, Amy fakes her own murder and tries to make her husband the one at fault. She planned this entire thing down to cleaning just like her husband would, and knowing exactly what steps he would do next. For one, I applaud Amy for her attention to detail, but she didn't do enough research. Don't get me wrong; I know it's just a movie and just a book and I know there are other plot holes to consider, but this one stuck out to me the most and I felt that it would have crumbled her whole plan.

Amy befriends a pregnant neighbor so she can get a urine sample, saying that she is pregnant herself. She stops up the toilet so that when this neighbor goes to the bathroom it would clog up and she could collect the urine. Okay, are you still with me here? If so, thank you for your patience. My point here is that this neighbor is at least seven months pregnant, which by my count is more than six-weeks pregnant.

For those of you who don't know; most of the at-home pregnancy tests will show up negative after being six weeks pregnant, because there are not enough hormones in the urine to show a positive response. So, being that this woman is at least seven months pregnant, it's just not possible to work out like she planned.

But, let's just say it does work, for argument's sake. That the pregnancy test DID come back positive. Considering the situation and the circumstances, they would have to still investigate it further. Like, check the urine for DNA or better yet, use the blood they found at the crime scene. Blood can show if a woman is pregnant and give proof of whose blood it is. So that being said, it's not possible for this to work.

I know it's just a movie and I shouldn't take it so seriously, but it just bothered me so much. If you have any ideas that could prove me wrong please, let me know–I would like to see if anyone can think of some reason that her plan might possibly work.

celebritiesmoviepop cultureproduct reviewreview
Like

About the Creator

Loni Beach

My name is Loni and I assume you’re here to find out what my blog is all about, correct? Well, at least I hope that’s the reason. Anyways, Welcome to my blog Spondulix; where I talk about pretty much anything that comes to my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.