Geeks logo

THE FALCON (CAPTAIN AMERICA) AND THE WINTER SOLDIER: The Finale Review

It was Sharon aaaall along

By Helen MorganPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Here we are, the long-awaited finale.

Episode 5 drew a lot of storylines to a conclusion, so Episode 6 felt like a good chance to sit back and enjoy watching their fulfilment.

We all knew Sam was going to become Captain America - I for one am glad to see he didn't get rid of the wings. Though he did look a little too much like an angel. His one-liners were reminding us of Steve - it was a nice nod to the past, however, I am sorry I still am not as mesmerised by Anthony Mackie. I will withhold judgement until I see the new Captain America instalment.

Karli - good riddance. I am sorry but she was the least threatening antagonist of the MCU. I suppose it could have been interesting for her to switch to the ‘good’ side, but at the same time, we had seen more than enough of her. To this day, as I have said many, many times, I still don’t know what her final goal was.

I was disappointed that Bucky didn't get as much attention. His conclusion was very subtle, and we never got to see how his relationship with Yori develops. Does he speak to the Dora Milaje again? Does he become Sergeant Barnes and goes back to the military? It's not clear.

In other news *it was Sharon all along*. Is she actually the Power Broker? Or does she was people think she is? Who is that lady who picked her up in the car? And who was she talking to on the phone?

I have a feeling she might be in cahoots with Zemo. After all, how could he have instructed his butler to kill the flag smashers from the Raft? Unless it was an old order. This at least proves we will definitely see more of Zemo. He has definitely become a fan favourite, although I am worried he will be turned into more of a stock ‘funny’ character, as opposed o the nuanced man with a revenge agenda we got to know.

The question is, what is going to happen to supersoldiers now? I doubt this will be the end of them. I suspect there might be some more serum hiding somewhere, and perhaps Hydra is on a quest to find it. Otherwise, it could be something that Sharon is working on. In this case, she wouldn’t be working with Zemo but with Hydra. It does make sense, although, didn’t Hydra actively destroyed her aunt’s legacy by infiltrating it like a parasite? Has she lost all of her loyalty?

John Walker fully becomes U.S. Agent despite having a little moment of redemption during the final battle. I have to say, his character is perhaps the best written in the series, and Wyatt Russell did an incredible job at portraying his many faces. He's a little naive and cocky, his head full with slogans the government has fed to him, which he, in turn, believes as he tries to forget his traumatic experience in Afghanistan. He's ruthless, rough, but definitely has a heart. It would be amazing if they did a film for the Dark Avengers, led by Val.

And what a delicious villain Julia Louis-Dreyfus is. She has the perfect balance of sarcasm and intimidation. I cannot wait to see more of her.

This is it. Overall, the series felt a lot more routine and less original than WandaVision. Unfortunately, I didn't get to review each episode for that series... I didn't have as much material for theories with FATWS as I would have wanted, however, I still enjoyed watching new MCU content every week. Until 11th June for Loki!

review
1

About the Creator

Helen Morgan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.