Geeks logo

The Exclusion and Disrespect of Black Cosplayers in Arkansas

The shady side of con organizers

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished about a year ago 11 min read
1

February is the start of 28 Days of Cosplay. For those who aren't familiar with what it is, it's a month where black cosplayers share their cosplays, as well as their experiences, celebrating their excellence, and encouraging everyone to support them. The hashtag #28daysofblackcosplay was started by a woman named Chaka Cumberbatch, also known as Princess Mentality Cosplay a few years ago. Now that I've explained that to everyone, there was something that I've noticed since I've started doing cosplay in 2014: an ongoing pattern that I never disclosed to anyone, especially to my cosplay friends or followers. Why is that, you ask? It was because of the fear of being "cancelled" or shamed by them. I'm a realist, so me sugarcoating the truth is not an option.

This ongoing pattern I'm talking about is cons and con organizers refusing to acknowledge black cosplayers in Arkansas. In the almost nine years as a cosplayer, I never recalled seeing a cosplayer or cosplayers of color from my area or state being on cosplay guest rosters. To be honest with everyone, I've been asked twice to be a cosplay guest in 2018 and 2020 respectively. While I was honored to be asked, the problem was both conventions were hours away and the timing wasn't right. However, one of my goals and still is today is being a cosplay guest in my area for the first time. Black cosplayers exist and are deserving of recognition and respect. Last month, I made the conscious decision to not attend a con in my area because of the lack of black cosplayers on their cosplay guest roster. Just to be clear, I'm not sharing my horrifying experiences to discourage anyone from attending conventions. It's also not my intention to ruin anyone's fun. My intention, however, is to bring attention to everyone a pattern that has never sat well with me. While I don't have any concrete proof of these claims, I just know. I call it my cosplayer intuition.

For almost a decade, I've done some of the best cosplays, from Superman to Spider-Man. I've won two cosplay contests, becoming a cosplay model for an Instagram page, and proud to describe myself as an award-winning cosplayer. Those are my only meaningful accomplishments to date. I'm not just some one trick pony or a Johnny come lately. I'm the real deal and a big deal. I've always been a true believer of diversity and all cosplayers should be acknowledged and recognized, regardless of skill level, race, skin color, or sexual orientation. Over the years, I've made lots of cosplay friends on social media and at cons. Plus, I've felt welcome at almost every con. That is, except one I may or may not attend in the future. I'm referring to NWA Comic Con, or Northwest Arkansas Comic Con as it's called, which is held in Rogers, AR every year. I've never been to this specific con, nor I have any plans of attending in the future, unless they address the lack of representation when it comes to cosplay guests. Besides, I don't need to attend a con to know that they're falling behind when it comes to excluding black cosplayers from their cosplay guest lineups. Whether they're doing it intentionally or not, I find it very suspicious and appalling. My Spidey sense has been telling me that some things didn't feel right to me. This con claims that it's diverse, yet they won't do their due diligence of finding and asking black cosplayers on social media who live in the area or state if they are interested in becoming cosplay guests at their con or even allow them to host panels. I have yet to be invited to be a cosplay guest in the Northwest Arkansas area and that has always been one of my cosplay goals. It still is and I'm not giving up on that dream. Honestly, that's every cosplayer's dream, right?

If a con is made for everyone to attend, then black cosplayers in the area and the state of Arkansas should have to opportunity to be cosplay guests and host panels, just like any other cosplayer. We exist and have stories to tell. We want everyone to get to know us and what we're all about. We want to be the center of attention and not just about being attendees. Not including area cosplayers of color as cosplay guests and letting us participate in panels will only make things worse for us, making us feel that we're not welcome. Also, it'll make us feel like we don't matter to our community. That to me is very problematic and frustrating.

To the organizers of NWA Comic Con, I have some legitimate questions to ask you and also address a few things to you:

Do y'all choose which cosplayers get to be guests based on one's skill, likes, and the number of followers they have? Also do y'all choose cosplayers based on whether or not they can make their own costumes or props? Are you choosing them based on how popular they are?

If you're choosing cosplayers to be guests at the con based on those factors, then your claim of a diverse con is not genuine. Your plight is not genuine, either. It's a hypocritical stance that I don't agree with. I don't doubt that attendees and cosplayers from all walks of life go to conventions, but it seems like y'all are biased and showing favoritism over other cosplayers who would love to take part in panels and be cosplay guests. It excludes other cosplayers and again, it's hypocritical. As for me, I always intended to be more than just an attendee at cons. Like I mentioned earlier, my goal of being a cosplay guest in the Northwest Arkansas area is still a thing. I would like to introduce myself to those who have never met me and host my own cosplay panels. I want people who look like me to be inspired. Excluding local black cosplayers like me from doing cosplay guest duties is just silencing our voices and talking over us. Black cosplayers face the most discrimination in the cosplay community and are constantly being disrespected. I know this from experience, because it has happened to me numerous times on social media. Yes, you have the right to choose which cosplayers get to be cosplay guests. However, what I don't agree with is us not being appreciated and acknowledged. It doesn't change the fact that it's disrespectful to forget about local and state cosplayers of color. That has been my biggest criticism of cons: not doing enough to fully commit to having cons being diverse and represents all cosplayers. It's been something that I couldn't stand. Cons, including yours, have to accept constructive criticism when something is questionable and problematic. For the record, I'm not upset at cosplayers who have been cosplay guests at different cons. I'm also not upset at cosplayers who come from out of town to be invited to cons as cosplay guests. It's a great opportunity for them so it's no fault of their own. Just wanted to clear that up. I've met plenty of cosplayers who come from out of town and those who live in Arkansas at cons, especially those who I've followed on social media but never met in person. They're really nice people and I respect them.

I'm not trying to cancel you or discourage anyone from attending cons in general. It's about being fair across the board. My belief is that all cons should commit to being diverse, not just for show or whenever it's convenient to them. Also, representation at cons across the board matters. Again, you can't say that a con is diverse and then leave out local cosplayers of color from cosplay guest rosters. It comes off as Mean Girls-esque. And yes, cons do have a responsibility of leading by example when it comes to this. Otherwise, I can't take their plights seriously and I have to give them the side eye. My criticism of you is valid and any con is not safe from potential backlash, including yours. We want to be treated as equals rather than outcasts. Also, you should take notes from BlerdCon, San Diego Comic Con, and New York Comic Con. They really know how to include everyone, especially having diverse panels.

I love attending cons, spending time with friends, and meeting new faces. The only thing that I don't like con organizers doing is not listening to us and excluding us. Recently, I started to use #blackcosplayersofarkansas on social media to not only advocate for myself, but for other black cosplayers in the area and in Arkansas who deserve the overdue praise and recognition. I'm not angry, but very disappointed in y'all for not addressing the lack of representation at NWA Comic Con. I don't believe in leaving or excluding other people, because that's not who I am. I just want you to understand where I'm coming from. The advice that I would give to y'all is to lead by example. Black cosplayers are strong, resilient, and we stand out. Speaking about this inequality wasn't easy for me, especially writing this story. I hid this from everyone for years, because any time I speak the truth, it comes off as problematic and people describe me as bitter. I don't hold anything back when it comes to speaking up about something that's been going on for as long as I've been a cosplayer. I know racism is a very touchy issue to some, but it's necessary for me to share my horrible experiences as a black cosplayer to everyone so that they can walk in my shoes. I'm not going to let this issue go, because my cause is too important to ignore. I'll make sure that all cons are committed to setting a positive example to us and all cosplayers.

I'm the Julia Sugarbaker of the cosplay community: very opinionated and unapologetic. By the way, that was a reference from the 80s show, Designing Women. I'll never apologize for standing up for what I believe in, even if people don't agree with what I'm saying or doing. Also, I'll never apologize for my feelings. I'm going to continue being a supporter for all black cosplayers in Arkansas and also continuing speaking about the racism we face in the cosplay community. Another piece of advice I would give to y'all is listening to our stories. That way, you would have a better idea of what we go through as black cosplayers. Our stories and presence can make a huge difference in people's lives at cons. We're a big deal and just as important as any other cosplayer. However, the ball is in your court if you're serious about committing to real diversity and representation at NWA Comic Con. Not only that, but supporting us local and statewide black cosplayers to the fullest. I hope y'all take this constructive criticism as a learning experience and see my points of view. I'm open to having a meaningful conversation sometime with you addressing my concerns. There's no doubt that planning a con is hard work and volunteers make sure a show is a success, but playing favorites when it comes to choosing cosplayers to be cosplay guests is unacceptable.

You must be wondering why I'm speaking about this now and didn't do it years ago. It's because I don't want any cosplayer, regardless of race, to think that they're not important and don't matter. I hope this story reaches out to many people. Also, another reason why I finally decided to be vocal about this is because I belong in the cosplay community and deserve to exist. And for those who are telling me to stop badmouthing this con or any con, I'm not going to stop talking about the lack of diversity and representation at shows. Again, they have to expect backlash and critical feedback when they do problematic things. If I come off as being mean and a bully, then so be it. I'm not going to ease up on them. That goes for every con as well. It's my job to speak on this inequality. There are many people who do care about me and the content I post online. For others, I'm an inspiration to them, due to the fact that I'm a queer, black cosplayer on the spectrum. I do my best to represent all three communities to the best of my abilities. Nothing or no one will ever stand in my way of the goals I intend to accomplish. If you don't believe that racism in the cosplay community, the points that I've made in this story are prime examples. I hope this story will open people's eyes and understand my thoughts about these concerns. I'm probably one of the first people who actually had the balls to speak the truth and I won't be the last. Some people will praise me, while others might call me every name you could think of. Regardless of what you think of me, I don't owe anyone an apology for being real. I rather be upfront than tell lies.

humanitycosplayconventions
1

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.