Geeks logo

The Complete Anthology of Every Movie That Has Made Me Cry

I'll admit it, there have been a few.

By Jacob CraigPublished 5 years ago 8 min read
Like
Photo via Seventeen

When it comes to emotionally taxing movies and tough alpha males, the two walks of life usually don't co-exist. However, there are just some films that can make any viewer get something caught in their eye, and I am not afraid to admit that there have been far more than one occasions in which I bawled like a toddler. I'll admit that my taste in movies is far different from that of a seasoned movie critic, but I would still like to share with the world the films that always catch me right in the feels.

'Man of Steel'

Photo via the Hollywood Reporter

I think that almost every comic book fan would agree that Man of Steel is perhaps one of the greatest DC Comics movies ever made, but I don't think that it impacted a lot of people emotionally. For some reason, there is a scene in this movie that is just absolutely gut-wrenching for me.

Whenever Pa Kent is running towards a tornado to save a dog (how noble), Clark Kent has every chance to run and save his adopted father's life, but Pa just holds up a hand and lets himself go. There was something about a father giving up his life so that his son can live a better one that struck a chord with me for some reason, and I couldn't help but to choke back a few tears.

'Where the Wild Things Are'

Photo via Osburnt

Where the Wild Things Are wasn't the most successful film at the box office, and it may not even be a memorable film, but it made me cry harder than any other movie on this list. The entire movie was bleak and depressing, which is just not what I expected from a children's movie.

The final nail in the coffin was when Max didn't get a chance to give Carol a hug goodbye, and all he could do was stand in the water and roar as his friend floated away forever. Whoever interpreted this kind of story from a children's picture book is a sick, brilliant individual.

'Rugrats: The Movie'

Photo via YouTube

This entry may just be because of how young I was at the time, but the rift between Tommy Pickles and his little brother made me cry. Perhaps I related it to my own relationship with my older brother, but something about seeing two babies stranded and alone, with nothing but each other made me cry.

Not only were they alone, but Tommy didn't even like his brother until he was almost—and I cannot stress this enough—KIDNAPPED BY MONKEYS. This movie is a complete mess all-around, but I love it, and it still makes me tear up every time I watch it.

'Logan'

Photo via Vulture

I feel like I don't even have to explain why I cried during Logan. Hugh Jackman has been Wolverine for literally my entire life, and seeing him not only leave the role, but die as the character really changed me. I cried in the theatre, I cried all the way home, and I cry every single time I watch it—and I will never not admit that this movie makes me want to curl up in the fetal position with a bag of chips and resist the urge to whine like an infant.

'Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2'

Photo via Microsoft

Yet again, I feel like I don't have to explain why this movie made me cry. The words, "I'm Mary Poppins y'all" will forever be a sad, sad phrase. While Guardians 2 wasn't the best Marvel movie, it still managed to give us all a little bit of heartache, and I am going to truly miss James Gunn's storytelling.

'Captain America: The Winter Soldier'

Photo via the Mary Sue

Ok, so maybe there's a little bit of a trend in the movies that I like. However, Captain America: The Winter Soldier is one of the best superhero movies to ever be made, and it offered a little bit of everything. Action, betrayal, romance, and even the slightest touch of heartbreak. Whenever Cap accepts his fate and essentially lets a brainwashed Bucky Barnes beat the mess out of him just to say, "I'm with you... to the end of the the line," and I think it made every viewer cry.

'Gran Torino'

Photo via the Hollywood Reporter

Gran Torino is notorious for being one of the saddest movies ever made, and has actually received major critical acclaim. In my opinion, this is a classic that should be seen among the likes of The Godfather and Scarface, and it features perhaps one of the best representations of a tragic hero in popular culture. The death of Clint Eastwood's character not only served a reasonable purpose, but it made yours truly cry like a real man should.

'Armageddon'

Photo via SBS

By all accounts, Armageddon is perhaps the most classic, horrible action movie, and a film so bad still managed to make me cry. Bruce Willis's noble sacrifice for the planet will forever be in our hearts, and the underlying romance story just made it even more heart wrenching.

'Up'

Photo via the Center for Creative Media

I don't think I can even write about Up without crying. Just... you know why.

'Kingsman: The Golden Circle'

Photo via Eric D. Snider

While I enjoyed the first Kingsman film much more, it was the second installment of the franchise that left me misty eyed. However, it wasn't the climax or ending of the movie that made me cry, it was Merlin's noble sacrifice. A character that was featured much more heavily this time around, Merlin was the ultimate sidekick, and he proved that by giving up his own life so that Eggsy could complete his mission.

'Braveheart'

Photo via Mental Floss

Perhaps it is my Scottish heritage that makes my want to cry every time I watch Braveheart, but that doesn't change the fact that I shed a tear on each viewing. William Wallace is one of the all-time greatest action heroes- in pop culture and real life- so watching him get tortured and beheaded is bound to make a few people upset. Until this day, I can't hear the word "freedom" without thinking of him, and choking back a couple of tears for the original freedom fighter.

'Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix'

Photo via Electronic Arts

The entire Harry Potter franchise is full of tear-jerking moments, but for some reason it is Order of the Phoenix that always sticks in my mind. Not only is this my favorite Harry Potter film to date, but it is also one of the saddest, marking the death of Harry's godfather Sirius Black. Watching Harry's last true family member be taken from him before his eyes hit me hard, and I will always remember Sirius's death as one of the saddest in movie history.

'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince'

Photo via Letterboxd

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is one of the worst films in the franchise in my opinion, but that does not change the fact that it took away one of the most beloved characters ever portrayed in media. Dumbledore will always be an all-time favorite character in not just the Harry Potter series, but in movies in general. I think that everyone cried when Dumbledore died, even the people who had already read the book, and I am not ashamed to say that his death still gets me to this day.

'Rogue One: A Star Wars Story'

Photo via Nerdist

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story was not only one of the best films in the Star Wars franchise, but it was hands down the saddest as well. Rogue One did an excellent job of making the audience get attached to each and every character in the movie, and as a byproduct, made the ending twice as sad. I knew that everyone was going to die, I shouldn't have cried because I knew everyone was going to die, and yet I still did.

'La La Land'

Photo via WhatsOnStage

Even though I see myself as a bit of a movie buff, and I strive to watch as many films as I can, I HATE musicals. I can't stand them. But due to the overwhelming hype, I watched La La Land, and I was almost instantly captivated by it.

I'm not ashamed to say that I cried several times throughout the entire movie, and it is still one of the only musicals that I have ever enjoyed. Would it have been a better movie if it was just a drama? I think so, but that didn't stop me from losing it whenever we saw what Sebastian and Mia's life could have been like together. What can I say? I'm a romantic.

'Avengers: Infinity War'

Photo via GeekTyrant

It's no secret what happened in Avengers: Infinity War anymore. Thanos snapped, the heroes lost, and now half of the people pictured above are dead. We all know that they're coming back, but did that stop me from crying? The short answer is no.

Watching Tom Holland's (improvised) performance as Spider-Man dying in Tony Stark's arms made me weep like a child, and even though he has another Spider-Man movie coming out this year, that scene was so good that it made me lose control for a solid car ride home.

'The Good Dinosaur'

Photo via Amazon

When I watched The Good Dinosaur (with my nephew, I didn't recreationally watch a children's movie on my own), I drew a lot of comparisons with The Lion King. However, I never cried during The Lion King. Maybe I was too young to understand it, but Mufasa's death just didn't affect me nearly as much as Arlo's father's death.

It's hard for me to explain, but watching a fatherly sacrifice akin to Mufasa's as an adult really affected me for some reason. Perhaps it was a degree of nostalgia, or perhaps I'm just a giant baby, but The Good Dinosaur is far too sad to be a children's movie.

'Pokemon: The First Movie'

Photo via Alamo Drafthouse Cinema

If you grew up in the 90s then chances are that you've seen Pokemon: The First Movie. If you've seen Pokemon: The First Movie and didn't cry, then you have no soul. The message behind this movie is so anti-war, anti-hate and anti-racism that it both makes me happy and makes me want to cry.

Watching Pikachu cry over Ash's seemingly dead body, and so many Pokemon beating the crap out of each other for no reason until they see the error in their ways is enough to make anyone get a quivery lip. Every single time I watch this movie, I go through an entire box of tissues, and I don't think that will ever change.

Did you enjoy this article? Be sure to leave me a tip below!

list
Like

About the Creator

Jacob Craig

Stand-up comic. MMA historian. I can guarantee I'm the geekiest person you know. Men in Black 2 is the greatest movie of all time, change my mind.

Twitter: @jacobccraig

Insta: @jacomalfoy1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.