Geeks logo

The Biggest Snub in Academy Award History…

…as told by MiMi

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Photos Courtesy of Prince. OrgWikifandom/ABC respectively

I would be remiss if I didn’t take this time to mention that the “The 94th Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), will honor the best films released between March 1 and December 31, 2021, and is scheduled to take place at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, on March 27, 2022,hosted by Amy Schumer, Wanda Sykes and Regina Hall “ (thanks, Wikipedia).

As for MiMi, I’m not planning on watching it. 🤷🏻‍♀️.

I’m not being petty or contrary, but the last time I physically went to a movie was in April of 2016 when AMC decided to show Purple Rain ☔️ in honor of Prince’s passing.

Those of you who know me personally have already buckled in and are prepared for the free fall down the rabbit hole 🕳 that’s about to commence.

But I can almost guarantee that NOONE is prepared for the next few words they are about to read:

Purple Rain ☔️ was, for all intents and purposes, a horrible movie.

😱I know right. I mean it’s one of MiMi’s all time favorite movies; and those who know me personally already know that I have seen Purple Rain ☔️ HUNDREDS of times. I know the dialogue by heart even after thirty seven years; but the movie??? It was -bad.

Fix your face, you know I’m telling the truth 🤣.

And, not for nothin, it did win two Academy Awards:

Best Original Musical

Best Original Song Score

Rightly so, because the absolute creative brilliance of Prince’s musical acumen deserves ALL of the awards.

#ISWISAIIWII 🤷🏻‍♀️

But, in my opinion, sans the music as horrible as the movie was, I feel, along with the members of “The Household” that the ACADEMY slept on two actors in Purple Rain ☔️

And yes, every time I type Purple Rain ☔️ the little umbrella ☔️ emoji is going to accompany it.

It’s my blog, fix your face. 🤷🏻‍♀️

With all of that being said, the two actors who didn’t get the props they deserved in Purple Rain are:

Clarence Williams III

and…

Billy Sparks

I’ll wait whilst y’all pick your faces up off the floor and finish Googling).Some of y’all may even be laughing hysterically and that’s fine, I get it. It IS kinda funny unless you happen to be Mr. Williams or Mr. Sparks.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Clarence Williams III, he played Francis L., the abusive father in Purple Rain and to my recollection was the only legitimate actor in the film.

The scene in the basement when he asks The Kid if he has a girlfriend and then tells him to never get married was brilliant 🤣 and gets quoted often whenever a young man with talent expresses to me that he’s serious about someone he’s dating.

I’m only half playing. 😐🤣

Here watch:

RIP Mr. Clarence Williams III 🙏🏼

Now the other Oscar Award worthy performance that was snubbed came from Billy Sparks

Mind you, Billy was all about his business as we saw from the scene when he pulled Morris Day’s coat tail to the fact he’s gotta cut one of the acts from the show. And that no one was safe not even The Kid:

“This here is a BIDNESS!!!” is by far one of the most underrated lines from Purple Rain ☔️ ever.

And when Mr. Sparks nods and sheds a tear during Prince playing ☔️ I cried too.

Quiet as it was kept, we all knew the act who was gonna get cut was Dez Dickerson.

Photo Courtesy :Pinterest

Cuz what in the entire hell is a modernaire?

So until the Academy recognizes its blunder, I’m not watching the Oscars 🤣.

#ISWISAIIWII 🤷🏻‍♀️

✌🏼💜💨

Peace, Love, Exhale

movie
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.