Geeks logo

The best Marval movie to date

The beginning of the end was also the best Marvel had to offer in the 20+ films over the last two decades

By No IntroductionPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The best Marval movie to date
Photo by Morning Brew on Unsplash

There's no denying that the Marvel film beginning with Iron Man was the film that allowed Marvel to grow into a success story, and for a good reason. Robert Downey Jr. had the most significant second chance anyone could ever get in their career, thanks to the fighting help of Jon Favreau to get him into the iron suit. We're all glad he did. We got an excellent introduction into a great franchise, as well as the very much deserved second chance for Robert Downey Jr.

With a hell of a wait because of COVID, we are back on track to seeing a whole new phase of Marvel film and television shows. With that said, there's a lot of discussion on what's considered the best Marvel film to date, most of which points to Iron Man. There's no arguing that Downey's portrayal of Tony Stark is more than the perfect choice for any superhero character or even film character, period! But there's a lot that Iron Man doesn't have the keeps it from reaching the best Marvel film's status. Many of you might disagree with me, but I need to tell you why the movie I'm about to say is THE BEST Marvel to date. The beginning of the end. That's right, Marvel's Avengers: Infinity War is the best of the Marvel franchise film so far.

Here's why.

First, I pick this to be the best in the franchise because of its perfect mix of each character introduced so far. When watching the film, I didn't think there was one character who had more screen time than any other, and vice versa. Each character had the right amount of time on screen. My only real gripe with the film was the fact that (spoilers, duh!) Star-Lord stupidly almost cost the Avengers the fight. Obviously, with the 14,000,605, it must have been necessary to lead into the correct future where they ultimately defeat Thanos.

Thanos Thanosing GIF

I pick Infinity War to be the best of the franchise because of the number of sacrifices and real losses the Avengers had to endure to really prep them for Endgame. The hero's had a real challenge with Thanos, and it, to me, made them work together more closely than precisely than previously in any film. Of course, Thanos and his plans were ones that the hero's had to be ready to fight. I also enjoyed seeing characters from the previous films, such as Red Skull, who was doomed to watch over the Soul Stone and guide those who wish to obtain it but will never be able to get it himself. Hugo Weaving as Red Skull is also, to me, the most underrated villain in any of the Marvel films.

Now, you're probably wondering, these are entirely great reasons to name the movie where the heroes lose (for the time being) as the best in the franchise. Here's why I disagree, though. In every other Marvel film, I can justify the heroes and their reasons for fighting for the greater good. However, the story, playing out as it does, tells me one thing about Thanos and his pursuit to wipe out half of all life in the universe: that's it is justified. Thanos is willing to sacrifice anything and everything to reach his goal. But when you think about why he's doing it, you have to admit; he's got a very valid point for his pursuit of destruction.

It might seem very cynical of me to try and make this point, but I believe Thanos is fighting for a more valid point than our heroes. Don't get me wrong; I'm glad that in the following film, Endgame, they rise to the occasion and defeat Thanos, restoring peace to the film series (and also their world, of course). When you breakdown the reasons for both sides and compare them, you can see that both Thanos and the Avengers are fighting the same fight, just on different sides. Similar to how Captain America and Iron Man fought in the Civil War Captain America film.

When I saw this movie in theaters, I was cheering on the Avengers every step of the way. Still, I would be lying if I said that when everything was said and done, and we get to see a calm and collected Thanos, seemingly and finally at peace, it made me wonder; maybe he does have a point for everything he's doing? Of course, I love my fellow Avengers too much to officially move over to the Thanos side, but I did have to question the story a little bit.

superheroes
Like

About the Creator

No Introduction

Small content creator discussing abuse and mental health in my NoIntro Podcast. Love yourself and allow yourself to believe in change. You are loved, you are worthy, and you deserve this life you've been given.

♥️🧡💛💚💙💜🖤🤎🤍

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.