Geeks logo

The Beauty of Pixar’s “Soul”

Pixar excels at the morals in their stories. Soul continues that trend.

By Nick LuckPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
1

I have a podcast titled, “A-Okay” mainly on Spotify, Apple Podcast and Google Podcast where I love talking about pop culture things such as this. This article is technically the script I am using for my next episode. But I wanted to upload it here too for thise who may prefer reading it. Enjoy!

In this episode, I’m going to be talking about a fair amount of spoilers for Pixars 2020 movie, Soul. But before I do, let me start off by saying this :

If you haven’t watched the movie yet. Watch it. Whether you are happy with your life, or going through the motions, or maybe somewhere in between, somewhere on the edge, teetering. This movie, the soul of it pun intended - is meant for everyone. So I request you give it a watch first and then listen to this so it means more coming from both sides. I'm literally writing this minutes after watching it. But I will say this, I have never seen a Pixar movie, disliked. Only ones I may like more or less than another.

This one, hit me as hard as Inside Out and The Toy Story movies did just to name a few. And yeah, I enjoyed all of them including 3 and 4. I know those two are a tad hit or miss with people but - from the presentation, the voice acting, the comedy - it hits it back to back and is rather consistent. The story is simple but so deep. Clever. Pixar has mastered storytelling that will always make you stop and think about the message it's telling - but not because it's hard to comprehend. No, because life comes in many ways, Pixar is always showing us how important the many stages, the perspectives, those we are connected to in it, the beauty of it all. This movie is beautiful to look at, the character design from both sides - the lighting - you need to watch this movie. Even if after the movie you go, eh it was okay. Remember the message it's telling. That is the soul of it. I always wanted to work in the industry as a writer/ concept artist. Movies like this inspire me so much. Okay, spoiler territory now.

“I heard this story about a fish, he swims up to an older fish and says: ‘I’m trying to find this thing they call the ocean.’ ‘The ocean?’ the older fish says, ‘that’s what you’re in right now.’ ‘This’, says the young fish, ‘this is water. What I want is the ocean!’”

In the movie, Soul, Dorothea tells this story to Joe towards the end of the movie. This story I feel can be taken in a few different ways, the one I think of is - where you are right now - life, focus on that. You want bigger things and honestly- dreaming big isn’t bad. But don't let it consume you. The old saying, it's not about the destination - but the journey. Both are important, but dont lose sight of where you are and what surrounds you.

Like a lot of people I’m sure, I relate to Joe alot. We want that chance to show our talent to the world to have it actually be seen and appreciated by many. And to even teach/inspire others the beauty pursuing said talents, to speak that language of the arts or whatever talent you have. To reach deep inside and escape into that world that is passion. But as the days go by, we try and try and just don’t seem to get there. We feel trapped, I’ve felt trapped. Lost in a pursuit that I may or may not ever achieve. As Joe said, this isnt the exact quote but, “without that, my life would feel meaningless - I have to try. That’s what defines me.” End quote. But even if I do, would it live up to the hype? Or is the happiness truly in just doing what I love regardless of where it gets me, regardless of who is there to share in it.

By the end of the movie we find Joe finally achieving the biggest break in his career. Performing alongside one his idols, after so much conflict. He asks, “What happens next?” With a look in his face that showed, “There’s more to this, right?” He thought he found that last puzzle piece to his life, only to find out - there was a piece left he overlooked. And the movie foreshadowed this well, even having the supporting character, or secondary protagonist if you will, succumbing to what many people in life suffer from. Being a lost soul, stationary, single minded on something that could be good to you, could be bad but that is what traps you. Your mentality traps you. Like you're in a tunnel, trying to get to that light - only you're on a treadmill.

A movie like this shows how much we influence one another. The supporting protagonist, 22 spent generations upon generations being shown why life is so good. But in the realm, the great before, there's no senses like taste or touch that 22 needed to want to be alive. How powerful the senses are and feeling how others feel about it when she experienced part of that through Joe when she temporarily had his body.

It was like, 22 showed Joe how important and beautiful the small things are in life and how more meaningful his life was outside of his music. But still showing how meaningful it was still when experiencing the performer in the subway and one of Joe’s students who was ready to give up on music despite how much she loved it but just wanted/needed that extra push to keep doing it. Inspired by 22’s change of heart who at first was agreeing why do anything but she convinced both of them.

And Joe showing 22 how big the small things can be that funny enough was all she needed. Interacting with people, experiencing their interests, tasting food - and might i say - having the first time to experience food being pizza? Oh yes. There's so much to admire about this movie - those were the biggest things that I got from it. 22’s journey for me kind of shows why its important to just experience life, soak in everything. “Live every moment of it” as the final words of the movie went.

To not lose yourself in the day to day rat race. Life is more than being consumed by that. Don't lose yourself in chasing your dreams. Work hard, but play harder.

It was a really cool development too having those two come to earth from great before but end up in different bodies because they didnt stick the landing. Thats a scary thing. And like, how you can just kick someone or in this case Joe literally kicked the cats soul out its body and sent it on the path to the great beyond. That was a funny gag but i felt so baf for that cat especially being a therapy cat thats a whole other level man, literally.

Also the issues Joe had, felt so realistic. From being denied from so many opportunities as many people do - i mean like the movie showed, Joe only got that big break in the movie with his idol because of his connection to one of his older students. And even then it wasnt guaranteed. But Joe got to show only to himself but to his band that yeah, this is my passion i can do this! Even after losing his spot due to the whole body switch mess - he asserted himself . “Youd make the biggest mistake by not letting me do this”

Getting this far - losing it all briefly to get it back to find out life has more for him than these musical escapes. All to sacrifice his 2nd chance, to give 22 the chance to live out a life for her own. Finally knowing how much life really means. Part of me was so sad there wasn't a reunion scene between the two - even if it was years down the line which would have made sense because 22 most likely was officially going to be born and then grow into a similar person as she was 22. Could you imagine if she ended up one of Joe’s students? Or seeing a blooper of her missing her target and lands in the doctors body delivering the baby or something - oh boy.

I teared up, man. The scene where they fell to the earth, Joe stating how he would jump with her just to support her. Knowing he could not return with her. Holding hands, they lock eyes for the last time at least in the movie. She continues to fall to Earth, fading from sight as Joe returns to the Great Before only to soon after be granted a 3rd chance at life. Which I guess technically would be just 2 because Terry was hunting them and made that 2nd trip temporary. Yet, that life is temporary regardless aaaaah you know what i mean. I would have loved to hear them say goodbye to each other, maybe a thank you- like them both saying it for the impacts they left but the silence of the moment was handled well because their eyes and physical interactions still told their feelings just as well.

I also loved the idea how people can meditate and land in a part of that realm. It was a good symbolic way to show the bliss the escape people feel when they are in the zone of what they are doing. The Moon Crew as I call them, how they all literally meet up once a week to sale that realm and help people who are consumed in their own negativity and set them free was a powerful set of scenes, man. Especially since they used a guy who was clearly just lost in his job, had no happiness , was just there and we all can or could have related to that at one point. Who hasn't had or doesnt have a job they hate or just find no joy in? But its money right, just a paycheck. But they released him from that dred, that darkness he was put in and boom suddenly he just explodes with energy and is high on life. Even going to the point of throwing all the computers and what not off his desk and others - not the best of moves because weeeeeeelll thats on him now but wow that was funny. That company probably deserved it too though haha.

22 going through this same crisis where she is mentally haunted by all her previous mentors and even Joe with all the things they told her that caused her to doubt herself and feel worthless. To view life as worthless because she never could see the greatness in it until Joe arrived. I hope that everyone that watches this movie , even if you don’t like it, at least appreciate the message its telling. A lot of people out there need this movies message as a reminder, including me. I get so lost sometimes in the chase to find my big break, to be able to create these things as an actual full on job for many to enjoy, that I often get so stressed over not getting it that my joy gets drained from not just my passion but with everything I do. I lose the value in what makes it even special to begin with.

Creating. Simply having that ability to do so. To be able to see the sun rise and set, to enjoy great food, feel the wind, enjoy great movies (like this one) books, and videogames. And even if some of these things you cant enjoy, look towards the things you can. Because there is something - there always will be. Even if it may take someone else to show you. Life isn't meant to be lived alone.

As my final thoughts, the overall experience of this movie really inspired me in many ways. Jamie Fox and the many others who performed in this movie did such a wonderful job and as the first black lead in a pixar movie - Jamie knocked it out of the park. He's been an actor for many years but I know he has only done a handful of voice acting roles and it can be different.

I think visually my favorite thing was how the realms outside of earth were handled. The rich colors and the designs of the higher beings who keep the souls organized was just so awesome. So simple and their movement was so fun to look at, whether they were just talking to interacting with the world around them, traveling. I hope that one day with my projects I can leave people with these rich feelings that I get all the time from this type of entertainment. But as long as I remember to keep the balance of life - the journey and the destination like for Joe and 22 - will always have soul.

Your life is important. Mine is important, so fill it with all the things that matter, from just really soaking in that first breath in the morning or outside - to playing your favorite instrument or video game - the list goes on. It's all apart of us.

Never lose sight of it. Never forget your soul.

movie
1

About the Creator

Nick Luck

An artist who loves telling stories and is always looking to improve, tell exciting and fun stories, find new ways to reach new people with them. I'm also a voice actor, I draw and am a videogamer!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.