Geeks logo

Terri Abney

Dreams Turned Into Fruition

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 12 min read
Like
Terri Abney ( Photo Credit: Lilly K Photography)

Terri Abney received her breakout role as Mildred’s (Ruth Negga’s) sister in the Oscar- nominated film, LOVING. She can also be seen on-screen in John Hillcoat’s Triple 9 and Peter Billingsley’s Term Life. Terri recently starred alongside Gary Carr and Ian McShane in Dan Pritzker’s Film “Bolden” set in the 1906, based on the Jazz Musician Buddy Bolden, which premiered in theaters May of this year.

A native of Washington, D.C., Terri studied acting at the prestigious Duke Ellington School of the Arts and Clark Atlanta University. Her professional acting roots are in stage work, having worked in theater on the East Coast. Ms. Abney’s film debut came with her starring in Ryan Richmond’s feature Money Matters, playing the title role of Monique “Money” Matters, alongside Aunjunue Ellis. She reteamed with the director on his telefilm, Lyfe’s Journey, and most recently the feature, Chasing Waterfalls.

Terri appeared in the premiere episode of Oprah Winfrey’s hit television drama GREENLEAF, directed by Clement Virgo, and recurred on the first season. Ms. Abney’s other television credits include, Donald Glover’s FX Show Atlanta, a guest-starring arc on Game of Silence, and BET HER’s One Crazy Christmas.

Terri’s first feature film “Victoria” is in development, which she pens with her writing partner Rashonda Joplin. Terri recently participated in a live stage reading for the New Normal Series, Broken Barriers. She directed a stellar cast, who read a short version adaptation of her feature project “Victoria” in front of top industry professionals. Between gigs, Terri continues to train as an artist and student of life.

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to enter the entertainment industry?

Terri Abney:

My grandmother was a cinephile. The time I spent with her I considered it to be sacred. It allowed me a love for all things films. As a child, I had a gifted imagination. I always wrote short stories and watched a lot of television and films with her. When I was about 6 years old, I discovered Hollywood was where tv and film were created, not the way that I thought of it. That moment I knew I had to live and work in Hollywood. I daydreamed of seeing content with women of color that helped push the social needle forward for social change. It really just started with a simple love of watching television and film with my grandmother, and me wanting to be a part of the process of the magic that I was able to watch. 

Tammy Reese:

What was your experience like working on Loving and Greenleaf?

Terri Abney:

Loving served as a daily masterclass and a tremendous history lesson. I did a deep dive to prepare for the role. I’ve learned a lot about race relations in our country from the end of slavery leading up until the Loving’s supreme court case. The Loving Case pushed social change for not only interracial marriages. It was the groundwork for the same sex marriage initiative and precursor for the Black Lives Matter conversation. I am so grateful to have been a part of such a wonderful project that compassionately told the story of Richard and Mildred Loving’s fight to simply just love one another. They just wanted their love to be acknowledged in the eyes of the law. The Loving case was at the forefront of a movement that pushed social change. We talk about wanting to be a part of pieces that push the social needle forward and that have gravity, but then when you do it, sometimes you sit back and realize how the universe is always listening to your heart. I was able to work alongside some of the greatest artists in the game. Jeff Nichols (Director/Writer) is one of the best people I have ever worked with. It helped me bring a maturity to my work that wasn't there prior to working on that role.

Greenleaf and Loving are different, but both hold the same weight in my heart. When I think of church, I have this image of what church is supposed to be. I think it physically leans towards the positive images. Most of the time we don’t think about, or there is no space for things that may not be so positive. There is no room for the negative things or scandals. We don't talk about it within our community. Overall working on Greenleaf was an amazing experience . I mean, Oprah Winfrey was my boss! Greenleaf is one of the best shows on television today. People stop me in the supermarket just to talk about the show and get my opinion. I'm still called Faith often in public (Terri shyly laughs)

Tammy Reese:

Why is it so important to you to campaign for mental health awareness?

Terri Abney:

While researching the matter, I have learned that primarily the psychology work force is Caucasian. Something is wrong with that. We should be more heavily represented. When I figured out why, I realized there is a disparity gap due to lack of exposure and access to those resources. Also, within our community there is a huge crucial stigma of shame for mental health resources. In my opinion, this is one of the things that needs to be addressed. If we go back generations there is psychological warfare, emotional, physical and family trauma, along with systematic racism.

Culturally, we have been trained to suppress our emotions. A lot of us buy into the stereotypes of the “strong black woman.” I am grateful to be a part of a generation who chooses to seek help, get medications and therapy. As for my mother's generation, they associated therapy with being crazy. It was deemed that there was nothing wrong with us, or say, “that's not what WE do, that’s what white people do.” We need a better understanding of the importance of protecting our mental health and seek alternatives to cope. I feel it is really time to break the cycle and embrace the notion that vulnerability is not a sign of weakness but a sign of true strength. 

Recently, I wrote, produced, and starred in a PSA short that obtained thousands of views on social media. It’s called Black Mental Health Matters, Too. It’s a piece that's very difficult for some people to talk about and even watch because it is more relatable than not. Many people are affected by this current pandemic and race relations in our country, yet aren't getting the help they need. This time period has led to thousands of suicides. The statistics are out there for you to research. The numbers are heart wrenching. I felt that people were going to struggle with the stay at home order, and what we are calling the “new normal.” I knew I needed to bring awareness to black mental health. I also have a project called "Stop Killing Us" which touches on social injustice in correlation with black mental health that will be released soon. These matters directly tie into not only the community but also issues that need to be addressed before the upcoming election.

Tammy Reese:

What is your stance on the Black Lives Matter Movement?

Terri Abney:

I feel it is a movement that has always been around, we've just given it a new name. Our generation will continue to marathon what our ancestors and leaders before us have already been running. From the Civil Rights Movement to the Black Panther Party, perhaps BLM is not as militant as the latter, but it's something in this country we have always been fighting for. Our ancestors have always marched, organized, boycotted in this country. I feel the pandemic has forced people to face this and not turn a blind eye. Many eyes are wide open now to what has been occurring in this country for over 100 years. It can no longer be denied. All races want real change, and we are starting to see it. I feel we are starting to see real progress being made. Michael Che from Saturday Night Live did a stand up special in 2016 that is famously making the rounds again on Netflix. He has a bit in regards to “All Lives Matter” that sums up the feeling perfectly. I highly recommend anyone who hasn't seen it to take the opportunity to watch it.  Also, Dave Chappelle's 8:46 is a must watch. It gave me chills. My forever first lady, Michelle Obama, gave a speech at this year's Democratic National Convention that deserves a standing ovation.

Tammy:

How has the pandemic shaped your day to day life?

Terri:

The pandemic has given me the opportunity to reflect and reset. Before, I was mainly choosing roles that were brought to me by my agents. The pandemic has given me the confidence to create roles that reflect the narrative that I have always wanted to shine a spotlight on. I’ve made a lot of self discoveries and changes. I even changed the way I eat. It's afforded me freedom to explore creative avenues. “You can stay in your cocoon or emerge as a butterfly.” I love that saying. I feel that is what this time period has been for me. Hardship has a way of showing how much fight we have in us. 

During this time, I was able to become a certified reiki practitioner and now on my way to becoming an herbalist. My days are more full now, but full of purpose.

Tammy:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Terri:

I am extremely grateful for so many opportunities I've been afforded, however, the one thing  that comes to mind is a full circle moment. It coincides with the first question of me discussing the time with my grandmother and why I pursued this industry. At the age of 9, I wrote a letter to Oprah Winfrey discussing my desires to be in the entertainment industry. I don't really know if she's received that letter, but  I always considered her to be a role model.  Fast forward years later, I am on the green carpet for Greenleaf standing next to her while cameras are flashing away. As a child, I didn't know much about manifesting, but today that will be my equivalent to setting your intention and seeing your dream come into fruition.

Tammy:

What do you want your legacy to be?

Terri:

I love that question. I want to leave both both my handprint and footprint on this world. I want them to be ingrained in cement for future generations to come. The creatives of color and women. That is why I work as hard as I do and present the issues that matter versus what is trending at the moment. The lyrics from Beyoncé’s song "I Was Here" hold so much weight in my heart.

"When I leave this world, I'll leave no regrets 

Leave something to remember, so they won't forget

I wanna say I lived each day, until I die

You know that I have been something in somebody's life"

My legacy will belong to my children's children but is also for my family that is still here. I am not only about uplifting future generations but those who surround me, my tribe too. As I rise, I bring those around  and those to come up with me. We live in an abundant universe and there is enough for all of us. I love that we focus on legacy and that it is typically attached to the future, but also I feel our legacy is here and now. It is very important to be in the present. What I am doing at this moment is apart of my legacy.

Tammy:

What's next for you?

Terri:

I am following up “Black Mental Health Matters, Too” with the “Stop Killing Us” short film. That will be dropping within the next month. Follow me on social media and you will be able to see everything else that follows.

Tammy:

What is some advice you would have for anyone wanting to get into the film and television industry?

Terri:

Remember your “WHY.” This industry will test you. You won't get the part or you will. They may recast you for a person with a bigger name, or for reasons out of your control, funding for a project may fall through. You may still be serving tables after being in Hollywood for years. The WHY will ground you. It will give you the mental force to keep going. Trust your vision. There is no other YOU in this world. That is your superpower. Your gifts will make room for you. It may not happen immediately and everyone won't always get you, but so what. We wouldn't have a Quentin Tarantino or an Ava DuVernay if they were following the trends. It won't be easy. This is a journey. As Denzel Washington famously stated, “If it was easy, there would be no Kerry Washington, Taraji P. Henson, Viola Davis.” I want to elaborate more on that. I personally believe if it were easy, there would be no Erica Watson, Issa Rae, Michael B. Jordan, Lena Waithe, Jonica T. Gibbs...I could keep going. “ Fall down 7 times, get up 8. Without commitment, you would never start, but without consistency you’ll never finish.” This is an industry of luck and preparation. Do the work, stay ten toes down, be kind, stay ready because if you stay ready you won't have to get ready. Just don't quit! I have always told people there is no Plan B. If you have a Plan B, then you plan to fail. All roads lead back to Plan A.

Follow Terri Abney on Instagram on @terrivictoriaabney

Keep up to date with her journey discussing mental health, diet, issues within the black community, all things love, all things life, her career, and so much more.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.