Geeks logo

Ten 2021 Films I’m Extremely Excited For…

This year Is going to be full of incredible films and It's going to be so exciting to finally get back to the cinemas and see most of these incredible films on the big screen. There are many films I’m excited about but I’ve narrowed it down to a list of ten. Keep in mind films like “My Salinger Year” were actually released in 2020 but are only now hitting Australian cinemas…

By Gemma Walsh Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

10. No Time To Die

James Bond… Enough said…

Actually, I’ll tell you a few more reasons I’m excited about this film. Obviously, the cinematography and editing are going to be stunning. The trailer makes this look incredible and the soundtrack is going to be great too. This film is also full of many actors and actresses I adore, such as… Ana de Armas, Léa Seydoux, Rami Malek, Christoph Waltz, Naomie Harris, and Billy Magnussen.

9. A Quiet Place Part II

Really not much to say here, I loved the first film and am incredibly excited for the second one… I mean, it has Emily Blunt… I would watch anything with her. I would honestly watch her sit talk and talk crap into a camera for two hours. It also has the MAGNIFICENT Cillian Murphy. Also, I adored Millicent Simmonds's performance in the first film and am excited to see her kill it again. Another actor I adore is Noah Jupe, mark my words he is going to be something special… Every single time he is in a film I struggle to take my eyes off him. He is so exciting as an actor. We know what to expect from him though as he, like Millicent and Emily, was in the first film. If this film is even half as good as the first, it will be incredible.

8. Black Widow

Florence Pugh. That is all.

No, but many things excite me about this film, and whilst Florence is number one she’s not the only reason I’m so keen. Obviously, as a Marvel fan, I’m excited for Natasha Romanoff (Black Widow) to get her own film, I adore Scarlett Johansson. There are many other actors I’m excited to see as well such as Rachel Weisz and David Harbour. I can also trust that this film, its effects, its score and its cinematography is going to be absolutely stunning and the acting is going to be top-notch.

7. Candyman

Nia Dacosta and Jordan Peele behind this “spiritual sequel” of one of my FAVOURITE horror films of all time, YES PLEASE! The original Candyman was so underrated so the fact that the spotlight is being shone on this amazing story is incredibly exciting to me. I could go on all day about how much I love Candyman and the messages and undertones of that film but I’ll save you a thousand-word read… Just know I am unbelievably excited about this film. The trailer looks visually stunning and ahh! I’m just so damn keen

.6. My Salinger Year

So you might not know this about me but I LOVE Margaret Qualley. I fell in love with her in Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood. Since I saw that film I have slowly developed a little crush on her. I love her as an actress and a human being. I think she is something special and only a few years of an oscar nomination and being a household name. Now starring alongside Margaret is Sigourney Weaver (a name that needs no explanation) and Douglas Booth. This film also has a great plot and exciting concept so I’m looking forward to it.

5. Malcolm & Marie

Two incredible actors (Zendaya & John David Washington) playing a couple is enough for me to get incredibly excited, but beyond that, it has a great plot and is written and directed by the very talented Sam Levinson. The style and cinematography look beautiful and It’s just a very appealing story and is visually, very appealing too.

4. Supernova

Colin Firth and Stanley Tucci (Two talented actors I already have so much love for) play Sam and Tusker, an older gay couple. One of them is diagnosed with dementia and they travel across England In an RV to visit friends and family and see places from their past. Doesn’t that just sound like the most beautiful thing ever? I'm already obsessed with this film… It’s like someone peered into my dreams and pulled this out. The only thing that turns me off is the fact that the plot alone brings me to tears, I’m already crying just thinking about it. This film is going to be one of the best of the year, I’m calling it now.

3. Cherry

I’m so excited about this one, I cant wait to see Tom Holland in something so serious. He is so talented and I’ve been a fan of his for a while now, so any film starring him I’m going to love. It also stars Ciara Bravo who many people may recognize from Big Time Rush but she has also starred in other movies and tv series with more serious undertones, so I know she is going to be incredible and I was so happy to see she was in this. The plot is incredible and there’s really not much to say here besides I already know this is going to be a film I rewatch over and over again. This one is also probably going to make me cry too, the trailer gave me that vibe.

2. The French Dispatch

Wes Anderson and his style are always so aesthetically pleasing to watch. I mean, Wes Anderson already sells this film to me but if you’re still not convinced just listen to some of the actors and actresses starring in this film… Timothée Chalamet, Saoirse Ronan, Elisabeth Moss, Léa Seydoux, Frances McDormand, Tilda Swinton, Edward Norton, Bill Murray, Christoph Waltz, Adrien Brody, Willem Dafoe, Benicio Del Toro, Owen Wilson, and Liev Schreiber! I could write individual paragraphs on how I love every single one of them. All the reasons I’ve listed above is why it has landed at number two on my list, I’m so excited about this one.

1. Dune

If you know me, you’d know It really couldn't be anything else here at number one. I am a certified Timothée Chalamet fan and have loved him since early 2018 when I read and then watched Call Me By Your Name… Since then, anything with him in it I run to the cinemas to see. Besides him though, It also stars many other incredible actors and actresses such as Zendaya, Oscar Isaac, Josh Brolin, Stellan Skarsgård, Jason Moama, Rebecca Ferguson, and Javier Bardem. It’s also a great story we’ve seen on the screen before and it is also an adaption of one of the greatest sci-fi novels of all time. It is directed by the very talented Denis Villeneuve. This movie is for sure going to get nominated for many Oscars and I’m sure cinematographer Greig Fraser will snag one of those noms. Also, the score to this is going to be insanely good with Hans Zimmer doing the music for this film. There are so many things to get excited about with this film, I could be here writing all day. For now, I’m gonna cut this short and just say this is number one for a reason! This will be the greatest film of the year. I can not wait.

list
Like

About the Creator

Gemma Walsh

Writer & Website owner. For more content check out my website:

www.captivatedbyfilm.net

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.