Geeks logo

Tapping(Guardians of Ga'Hoole fanfic)

The owls of the parliament are deciding what chaw each owl should belong to, focusing on who Ezylryb wants in his chaw.

By Ben Ray Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The left side dried caterpillars over sticks the right side is of hot coals the word tapping is written in the middle

“Now, as for the next order of business, figuring out which young owl gets put into what chaw,” Boron bellowed into the parliament chamber.

“I will be taking Otulissa, Albert, Martin, Ruby, and Soren for weather and colliering chaw, if no one has any objections, though Soren is not up for negotiation,” he looked at the monarchs, other rybs, and the other owls that made up the parliament. “Soren has the mark he held a live coal before,” he didn’t go on to say what all of the other things he saw in the lad that were invisible to everyone else.

“I would like to have Albert in my chaw Ezylryb, he is one of the few owlets that thoroughly enjoys my class and often asks me questions and even some suggestions about how to best care for our beloved tree.”

“Fine you can have him,” he knew how hard it was to find owlets that actually really want to be in the Ga’Hoolology chaw, “does anyone have anything to say about the other youngins?”

“Are you sure it’s a good idea to have Otulissa in your chaw, she is, or tries her best to be a very proper owl, and I know of your behavior when you’re out with your chaw. she has done well in my classes, and I know that she wants to be in navigation under my command,” despite growing up as a warrior and a rather good one at that, Strix Struma‘s use of combat terms always makes his gizzard quake with sadness and regret.

“Oh, I know how stuck up she can be, and am aware it would be a struggle for her to give it a blow as I conduct my chaw as I deem fit, and she is too uptight for her own good in my eyes,” though no one said anything, they all agreed with that observation. “I also see her potential in weather interpretation and her ability to navigate a forest fire. I also know that she is a very studious youngin and will take what I teach her and dive deeper into the research of weather and then even higher magnetics. This is something that more owls need to learn but not something to be forced onto any owl.” The barn owl in the hallow could hear Dewlap mutter “and thank Glaux for that” under her breath.

A silence fell across the hallow, as everyone knew he wouldn't cave.

“You just said how much study is needed in your chaw, but I know that Ruby struggles with reading,” A pigmy owl named Stars pointed out.

“Ah yes I know that would be a struggle with her, but she may be one of the best flyers in this year’s group of youngins and I know that with the help of her chawmates she’ll do just fine.”

“Marten is a northern saw-whet, are you sure he’s big enough to be in the weather chaw?” Barran asked, full of concern.

“It is true that I never had an owl that small, but he’s a skilled flyer with a strong gizzard and I know that with the proper training I will provide he’ll be able to fly through anything.” The parliament knows that on the rare occasion that Ezylryb seldom says that a tapping is non-negotiable, so no one questioned Soren. The parliament meeting went well into the day discussing the placements of the other new arrivals. The old whiskered screech normally remains distant and uncaring about the placement of any owls outside his chaws, but that morning he gave input to the placement of the rest of Soren’s band, it didn’t take much convincing to put Digger in tracking, Twilight in search and rescue and Gylfie in navigation and thus, making sure that they were everywhere but Ga'Hoolology. He knew that it would only make the unit as a whole stronger. He knew in his gizzard that that will help the tree more than being a member of the Ga'Hoolology chaw ever would.

I hope that you like this chapter, if you're caught up, I have several other stories for Guardians of Ga'Hoole out and more to come! Subscribe so you don’t miss out! To find the stories I already posted, along with my other works, go to THIS LINK containing an organized easy to navigate google document.

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

-----Ben

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.