Geeks logo

Talking With: Dylan Mooney from BET+ Crime-Drama Series ‘THE FAMILY BUSINESS’

Interview with actor Dylan Mooney, whose actions as a cop will have audiences questioning if his motives are good or evil.

By FierceScribePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Dylan Mooney in 'The Family Business' (photos courtesy: BET+Tri Destined Studios)

This edition of Talking With focuses on actor Dylan Mooney, currently recurring as Detective Dez Bryant in the hit crime-drama BET+ series The Family Business, created by and based on Carl Weber's bestselling books.

As Dylan steps into the all-new Season 3, the Duncan family is under some fire as their upstanding citizen appearance fades to reveal their underworld dealings the leaders of the East Coast black mafia.

Dylan was a fan of the first two seasons of the show, so he was eager to join in the intrigue. But, before audiences get a chance to question Detective Bryant’s motives, Dylan himself had to investigate the character to prepare for the role.

The show is not Dylan’s first appearance on BET programming, as he starred in feature releases Always and Forever and Swag, Inc. Hailing from Santa Barbara, California, Dylan is most recognized for appearing along with Taye Diggs in the feature thriller Til’ Death Do Us Part. Fans also enjoyed him on ABC’s Modern Family, and as a series-regular on the Pop TV comedy, Impress Me.

To learn more, we are Talking With Dylan Mooney.

Why did you want to be part of The Family Business?

DYLAN MOONEY: I was a huge fan of the show before I was blessed with the opportunity to be a part of it, so naturally when I got the role I felt like it was a dream come true. I have also known ND Brown (showrunner/EP) and Trey Haley (Director/EP) for approximately a decade prior and have so much respect and admiration for their work. I have always wanted to work with them, I feel incredibly blessed by this opportunity.

As an actor, what helped you the most in bringing Detective Dez Bryant to life?

DM: It's not hard to bring a character to life when the writing is phenomenal. Carl Weber is just an incredible writer, and he truly writes in a way that you can fully envision his story and he crafts his characters so thoroughly that it enables actors to have the opportunity to really dig their teeth into them.

Where do you start when preparing for a role? And does that change depending on the genre or other factors?

DM: I start by breaking down the character, what type of person they are, what their intentions are, any mannerisms or nuances they may have and who they are in relation to the other characters they deal with in the story.

What was your favorite moment from working on the show?

DM: There were so many great moments during my time working on the show, so many great people but my favorite moment had to be my first day on set after not working for an entire year due to the pandemic. I mean it was so amazing being back on set doing what I love to do, it was just a special moment working again after such a tumultuous year.

Were you a fan of the show prior to booking the role?

DM: OMG yes! I was such a huge fan of the show before working on it, that's why when I booked the role, I was through-the-roof ecstatic, and felt so blessed by God. I have always wanted a role like this, and the fact it was on one of my favorite shows was the cherry on top.

Why do you think fans enjoy this show so much?

DM: I think people, no matter what show, what network, respect and gravitate towards good quality and this show is great all the way around. From the amazing performances, to the writing, to the directing and production quality, it's no secret why it's the number one show on BET+.

When you’re not on-set, you’re also an entrepreneur helping actors. What can you tell us about your app, Actor Trade?

DM: Just over three years ago, we launched Actor trade, a free live-rehearsal and self taping app that enables actors to connect for rehearsals, as well as self tapes from anywhere in the world, anytime. A while back I had a hard time finding a reader to help me rehearse and figured if I had this problem, so did other actors, and decided to do something about it. To date, we have surpassed over 20k users worldwide and my partners Shondrella Avery, Skyler Caleb and Sasha Poparic are very proud.

What inspires you the most creatively?

DM: Great performances really inspire me. For instance, some of my scenes were with the GREAT Ernie Hudson and man-o-man, watching him perform was like watching a master class in acting. His onscreen command was so inspiring, it elevated my performance without a doubt.

Finally, is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

DM: I am really grateful to ND Brown, Trey Haley, Carl Weber, Tri Destined Studios and BET for this amazing opportunity I was blessed to have.

Keep up with Dylan Mooney on Instagram: @idylanmooney Facebook: /iDylanMooney Twitter: @idylanmooney

Follow Actor Trade on Instagram: @ActorTrade

Dylan Mooney (photo by Sascha Paul Knopf)

interview
Like

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.