Geeks logo

Stuff Hitting My Netflix Watchlist This Month

September 2019

By Sage + CinnamonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I've definitely been watching a lot of TV shows lately, especially on HBO (Succession and The Righteous Gemstones are where it's at right now.). I've been letting my Netflix viewing fall by the wayside, though. Thankfully they've been adding TONS of good stuff that I can't wait to watch this month.

I’m sure you all know that every single month Netflix takes on and lets go of shows and movies from their database. They release this list at the beginning of every month so that we know what exactly will be coming and going. I just peeked the September list yesterday and was pretty thrilled at all the things that are appearing in September.

So here’s what’s going to be hitting my Netflix watchlist:

AMERICAN PSYCHO

As I said here, here, and here, I’ve already watched this movie and will most likely be watching it again this month (because Christian Bale plus insanity? It’s a hard yes for me). I'm not sure why this movie keeps getting bumped from Netflix and then added back on so frequently (It's pretty annoying). but I'm going to milk this addition for as long as it's available.

REBEL IN THE RYE

If you know me, you know that JD Salinger is one of my top five favorite writers of all time. Not even for Catcher in the Rye (not even his best work in my opinion), but for his short story collection, Nine Stories. This movie details Salinger’s life in his 20s when he discovered writing, and then went to fight in WWII (which mentally destroyed him I think). Nicholas Hoult plays Salinger and judging by the trailer I think it’s going to be really good.

THE LAKE HOUSE

Okay this is cheesy but I’ve always wanted to watch The Lake House. I always thought judging by the trailer that it was a beautiful love story.

So this man and woman live in the same house, but two years apart (you know it’s going to be sad). I just watched the trailer and Keane’s “Somewhere Only We Know” started playing and that’s just an instant cry right there. So thank’s, Netflix, for allowing my dream of finally watching this movie to come to fruition.

THE SPY

Who knew that Sacha Baron Cohen could play a serious role? Well, the trailer was so compelling I don’t even need convincing. It’s just going on the list.

THE MIND, EXPLAINED

A simple explanation for being on my list: it’s about the brain. Narrated by Emma Stone. Enough said.

UNBELIEVABLE

A girl says that a man broke into her bedroom and sexually assaulted her. No one believes her. But then—similar attacks start happening in a (somewhat) localized area. The trailer gave me chills. And it’s not a movie, but a limited series, so you know they’re going to hopefully lay it out well.

Also, it’s based on a true story, which I am always down for.

WE HAVE ALWAYS LIVED IN THE CASTLE

Everyone seems to be cashing in on Shirley Jackson’s genius nowadays. And why not? Her stories are SO FRICKIN GOOD. She’s the female equivalent of Stephen King. But because she did her writing in the early 1900s, it’s more accurate to say Stephen King is the male equivalent of Shirley Jackson.

Netflix put out Haunting of Hill House last year (which wasn’t anything like the book and was merely an homage to the fright). However, the trailer for The Castle looks INSANELY good (and looks as if it’ll stay true to the novel—which I have yet to read. and will probably start today since it’s fairly short).

I’m off to go add these to My List.

xx

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Sage + Cinnamon

Hi! Welcome to my page.

I love bullet journaling, roller skating, teaching others about minimalism and sharing tips on how to simplify your life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.