Geeks logo

Stop with the Musical Episodes

The annoyance that are musical episodes in TV

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Flash from the 1920's musical themed episode

I watched Grey's Anatomy, The Flash, and Riverdale. They all have one thing in common and that is the stupid musical episodes. I enjoy musicals, do not get me wrong my favorite film is Singing in the Rain, I have lived through the High School Musical phase and loved it, I have watched wicked 21 times and did not get sick of it, but television dramas need to stop making musical episodes. They just have to stop it. It usually has nothing to do with the plot and it is just plain weird. The first musical episode I ever watched was Riverdale and it was...beyond weird. It felt awkward and off-putting. I was okay with Archie singing once in a while with his guitar. Then, of course, Grey's Anatomy had a weird singing musical and I could not watch it for the life of me, I fast-forwarded most of the episode and carried on with the rest of the season as it turns out I did not miss much. Then, in the Flash, I know that there are talented singers and that maybe they wanted to show off skills, but it was still rather annoying, I am more concerned about the plot than the singing. The episode was not as off-putting as I thought it would be because of the storyline. It's like watching Glee all over again. I liked the original songs better...please stop ruining my favorite songs and just carry on with the plot. It seems that there is no point in making musical episodes, they usually have nothing to do with the plot. The only show I respect to have musicals is High School Musical: The Musical on Disney Plus because it is meant to be a musical, so it all worked together nicely. Riverdale started out as a great show to binge-watch, but it took a slide downhill after the black hood was caught, things went beyond ridiculous with Archie being arrested and then put into some sort of secret fight club and then Archie and Jughead running away from a man who could and did find them wherever they went. Then, it got a little supernatural with the game that was a rip off of Dungeons and Dragons, which was intense and a little creepy, but it hit rock bottom as soon as they did a musical episode. I sat there for minutes wondering what I was witnessing at the moment. I was witnessing something weird and embarrassing. They should just stick to plot lines and taking down bad guys with secrets. To prove my point further the episode titled "Big Fun" had one of the shows lowest ratings at 4.0 out of 10 stars. All other earlier episodes rate at around 6 to 7, so you can see that large decline in the episodes. In Grey's Anatomy the episode titled "Song Beneath the Song" earned a rating of 6.2 out of ten where other episodes in the series were rated at 7.6 out of ten and higher. The flash had 6.1 out of 10, which was not the worst episode from the three television shows. The average rating for the Flash stands at a 7.7/10 and once again we saw the drop in the musical episode, it was not as dramatic of a drop compared to the other television shows. Now, on the contrary, there were other musical episodes on other television shows that did work such as How I Met Your Mother when Barney sings about the suits, but it added a certain element of humor in it and it was Neil Patrick Harris singing and who doesn't like him singing? because I certainly love it.

tv
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.