Geeks logo

Stop Body Shaming

Normalize real bodies

By Madeline KeysPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Stop Body Shaming
Photo by Cezar Sampaio on Unsplash

Billie Eilish regularly chooses to wear over-sized baggy clothing to protect herself from being sexualized. A few days ago, paparazzi snapped candid photos of the 18 year old in oatmeal colored shorts and a camisole taking a walk in LA. Sounds like a regular girl taking a walk in a regular outfit, right? Well the internet blew up with the sharing of the rare photo and bodyshamers quickly took to social media to comment on her body and her size...again.

This isn't the first time Billie Eilish has come across mean bodyshaming. A few months ago, in April she was called a slut for wearing a bathing suit. Some people went even further to say she was no longer a good example to young girls and lost their respect...all because she wore a swimsuit! She replied then with, "I can't win," which is sadly how it is for most female public figures as their bodies get constantly scrutinized across the internet and in person. Billie Eilish replied to all the recent comments on her IG story in a calm way by re-posting a TikTok created by Chizi Duru. The TikTok says: "Y’all gotta start normalizing real bodies, okay? Not everybody has a wagon behind them, okay? Guts are normal; they’re normal. Boobs sag, especially after breastfeeding. Instagram isn’t real." She also posted a photo of her in a tank top with the caption, "do you really wanna go back in time?" (referring to the slut shaming that occurred in April over her wearing a bathing suit).

On May 26, 2020 Eilish released a short film on YouTube called, "Not My Responsibility," which quotes, "The body I was born with , Is it not what you wanted? If I wear what is comfortable , I am not a woman . If I shed the layers , I'm a slut ... We make assumptions about people , based on their size . We decide who they are . We decide what they're worth . If I wear more , if I wear less . Who will decide what that makes me? What that means? Is my value based only on your perception? Or is your opinion of me not my responsibility." Many females, famous or not can relate to the words in the short film. It seems that no matter what a woman chooses to wear, someone will have an opinion. Eilish encourages girls to wear what they feel confident in as she herself came to the conclusion that it is simply not her responsibility to please everyone.

And so, a few questions for all the people who feel the need to share their opinion on someone else's body on the internet: Does commenting on a young girl's body make you feel confident? Does if make you feel more secure in yourself? Before commenting on a women's body, or any body for that matter, put yourself in their shoes and make sure you'd like to be the one receiving that comment. More importantly try to shift comments about someone's physical body to comments about their talents, creativity, curiosity or intelligence because young people need to know their worth is more then their physical appearance.

I appreciate you taking time to read this. If you liked what you read please take a moment to like and share with friends and family. Also be sure to check out my profile to see more topics I've written on and if you're feeling generous my tips are always open. Thank you! I've also recently started a blog. I'm new to posting there but I will write about more personal things in my life. Please check it out: https://threekeys123.wixsite.com/madelinekeys/my-blog

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Madeline Keys

I'm just a writer trying to find her voice. I'm passionate about writing things I'm learning about and things I've experienced.

I hope you enjoy exploring my page!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.