Geeks logo

Spider-Man: Spiderverse Extended (Pt. 2)

Chapter Two: The City on Fire

By Hot PocketPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

Location: Brooklyn, New York, Earth 1610

I couldn't believe nor really understand what I was hearing. Did she mean that people like Doc Oc were free, yet somehow still in jail where she last left them? Gwen must have seen the confusion on my face because she explained further.

"I know how weird this sounds, Miles, but you have to understand. It's like there's duplicates of some people in my dimension, not just the villains. I can't really explain it, and I don't even understand it. That's why I came here, to make sure you were alright and if the same thing was happening here."

"I didn't notice anything different happening here Gwen. Maybe it's just your—" I was cut off by the television near the front of the diner. A small crowd of people stood in front of it as the news came on.

"Good evening, New York. My name is Christine Everhart and this is WHiH News. We have just received a report that Kingpin, the leader of the Sinister Six is missing from his cell. There were no records of a breakout or even him leaving the facility. It was like he just vanished into thin air. Officials are looking into the situation and will send updates as soon as possible." My veins went cold as I looked at Gwen, the same expression of shock on her face.

"Gwen, does that mean—"

"Yeah, I think so. We need to go now."

"Right. Excuse me, miss, could we get the food to go actually?"

🕷 🕷 🕷 🕷 🕷

"So you want to tell me about how you managed to get here?" Gwen and I half ran down the street as cars flew by us, honking at each other or people walking on the crosswalk.

"Right. You see, back in my dimension, I ran into someone. But, not just anyone. He's a Spider-Man." I almost fell on my face as I continued to jog with her.

"Did we meet him before?"

"No. But, he did tell me where he was from."

"And where's that?"

"The future, Miles. He's the Spider-Man of two thousand and ninety-nine. Like the year."

"So you're saying he's our way to travel between dimensions?"

"Yes and no. He was how I got here, but he gave me this." She slowed down to show me a watch on her wrist.

It was a simple metal bracelet with a red circle on the center.

"And that is?"

"It's what he used to get here. It's some sort of watch that can open portals to any dimension of your choosing." That explained a lot, or almost everything.

"But are you okay? Aren't your cells like dissolving or something?"

"No. I'm not sure how the watch is any different than that machine, but I'm fine now. It's weird, but I'll take it. Anyways we might be gone for a while. You wanna stop by your house and let your parents know?"

"They're both at work so I'll give them a call." Gwen nodded as we turned into an alley then swung up onto the roof of the apartment. I pulled out my phone and called my mom, holding my breath until she picked up.

"Hey, hijo. Something wrong?"

"Hey, Mami, nothing's wrong. Just wanted to let you know I'm going to my friend's house. I'm not skipping school or anything, but she offered to help me study for a big test I have coming up. I wanted to make sure if it was okay with you." I bit my lip as I waited for an answer, feeling nervous the longer she stayed silent.

"Okay, Miles. But remember, stay safe, okay?"

"Si, Mami. Thanks, love you, bye."

"Bye, love you too, hijo." I hung up the phone, exhaling quietly before I dialed my dad's number and raised the phone to my ear, waiting.

"Hello?"

"Hey, dad, um, are you busy right now?"

"Just a little, but it's okay, I can talk. Something wrong?"

"No, nothing's wrong. I just uh, wanted to know if I could go to a friend's house. She's going to help me study for a test I have coming up next week. Just wanted to check in if that's okay with you."

"What? Yeah, that's fine. Um, Miles, have you seen the news recently? Kingpin is missing, and we just discovered the rest of the Sinister Six is as well. We don't know where any of them are, so stay safe, alright?"

"I know dad, mom already told me. Anyways, thanks, I'll let you go back to work."

"Wait! Miles, I love you."

"Love you too, dad, good luck with finding Kingpin."

"That's a copy." The line went dead as I hung up and slid the phone back into my pocket. Gwen walked over holding out the bag of food.

"Here. We could have a sort of picnic in my dimension, then start looking for Kingpin and his goons. How does that sound?" I smiled, taking the bag so Gwen could work with her watch.

"Sounds good. I've always wondered-" I was cut off once again as what looked like a portal opened out of thin air. Gwen walked up to the portal before turning around and offering me her hand.

"Ready?" Gwen asked as I smiled and took her hand.

"Of course." Together we walked through the portal, entering a tunnel of constantly changing lights.

Location: ???

"Woah, this is so...cool," I said, breathlessly as we descended through whatever we were in.

Eventually, I spotted what looked like a portal opening on the other end, but something didn't seem right. I sniffed, feeling my nose prick slightly.

"Do I smell smoke?" The closer we got to the portal, the more intense the smell. Then all of a sudden, we were on the other side, standing on top of the Empire State Building.

"Oh no," Gwen whispered as the bag I was holding hit the ground with a soft thud. In front of us was what looked like New York City; in flames and ruins.

Location: New York City, New York, Earth 65

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Hot Pocket

Just a kid who doesn’t know how to write 😂

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.