Geeks logo

Spider-Man: Homecoming 2k17

Another short review...

By Kaylee ChaffinPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Movie Poster

Spider-Man: Homecoming, Peter Parker returns again to the great silver screen, this time he faces against the villain called The Vulture. Enjoying his experience fighting alongside the immaculate Iron Man, the young spider-ling returns to live with his Aunt May and adjusts between balancing being a high-school student and also being Spider-Man. Peter feels responsible to express his worthiness to Tony Stark and to prove he’s worthy to be an Avenger.

Landing a spot as one of 2017’s top grossing movies, Homecoming has been applauded by the critics receiving a 93% from Rotten Tomatoes. Eagerly awaiting fans also seem to be impressed, I am one of them. The movie stars Tom Holland as Spider-Man, Michael Keaton, Jon Favreau, Zendaya, Donald Glover, Tye Daly, Marisa Tomei, and Robert Downey Jr. To express my inner fan girl, Tom Holland is the cutest little cinnamon roll; his portrayal of Peter is outstanding and captivating. I’m not just saying that because he is handsome but genuinely he is a good actor. It soothes me that he is also a fan of the hero himself. I look forward to seeing him in further films, not just from Marvel.

To target one of my favorite scenes from the film, let’s talk about Robert Downey Jr. (RDJ), one of my favorite actors. He is well known as an actor and particularly for playing Iron Man. Not only is his portrayal of the hero exceptional, RDJ himself is a lot like Tony Stark humor wise. Many people who are also in the fan base also make this connection. He does so well at playing the character; he even comes up with his own witty lines that are later put into the film.

This is where one of my favorite scenes came from; RDJ's quick thinking and his ability to step into the role of Tony Stark very easily. After stalking the movie for a while I learned of a car clip which quickly became the scene that we are talking about now, if you've seen the film then you should already know what I'm talking about.

In the scene, Tony is dropping young Peter Parker off and when he leans over Parker to open the door for him the Spider-man actor (Tom Holland) made a joke and grabbed RDJ in a hug. Not breaking his role as Tony Stark, RDJ responds saying "it's not a hug, I'm just grabbing the door for you." The film crew loved it so much they put it in the film. I adore this scene because it show's RDJ's ability as an actor to step into Tony Stark as a character. I loved it enough; I needed to applaud it personally. Whether this is because of his said similarities to the character is left to debate among other fans. Personally, I see it, I know they are different but his ability to step into being his characters is uncanny and receives the utmost amount of praise.

Providing the perfect amount of classic Marvel movie humor, Homecoming wins the hearts of many Marvel fanatics. However, like all movies, there are those that disagree and they are entitled to their opinions. I know personally that fandoms are wide and diverse and more often than not, sensitive. To conclude this short review, I’d like to state that as a member of the Marvel fandom myself, I support Spider-Man: Homecoming. If you enjoyed the humor in Marvel’s past movies then this is a good one for you, not only that but you will also keep up with the story. Also, if the past Spider-Man movies haven't been to your liking I suggest watching the film anyway as it brings a different light to the Spider-Man film franchise.

moviesuperheroes
Like

About the Creator

Kaylee Chaffin

I'm a young writer who is majoring in Biology but enjoys this and photography as a ruse to pass off time. I enjoy rock music above all and am particularly fond of 80's music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.