Geeks logo

'Spider-Man: Far From Home' Review

My Review of the sequel to 'Homecoming'

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

While everyone was enjoying their Fourth of July with their friends and loved ones, I went to see Spider-Man: Far From Home. Usually, I would spend this day watching fireworks, but I decided that I wanted to go see a movie instead. This is the first movie review I'll be writing about, and I hope by the time you finish reading it, you would enjoy it. While Tobey Maguire will always be my favorite Spider-Man, I have to tip my hat to Tom Holland. I didn't get a chance to give him props before, but I really enjoy him a lot more. He played the web-slinging hero well, and I'm looking forward to seeing more of him. Just a heads up on a few things before I proceed any further. I love Marvel movies and the MCU, but I don't follow it as much. I'm Team DC all the way, but starting to keep up with as much Marvel-related content as I can. In this review, I'll just go thorough some parts from Far From Home that stood out to me. Please bear with me, because I haven't done a review for a movie before. Now that I've gotten that out of the way, let's proceed to my review.

The post-Avengers: Endgame sequel begins with Whitney Houston's "I Will Always Love You", showing images of Iron Man and a few Avengers, which will leave you in tears. The night that I saw Endgame, I neverexpected that Iron Man would die. I was in tears and still cried like a baby when I got home. With Tony Stark's death meaning that Peter had to step up.

Iron Man Will Live on Forever

When Iron Man died in Endgame, of course, it had us in the feels. I cried like a baby, and still was emotional when I got home that night. It seems like everywhere Peter goes, his mentor, Tony Stark, is there with him. Peter knew that he had to step up, but at the same time, wants to be a normal kid. As with every Spider-Man story, struggling with balancing real life and handling the duties of a hero can be difficult.

Who is Mysterio?

As I've stated at the beginning of this article, I don't really keep up with Marvel related content that much, but I was curious to know more about Mysterio. Quentin Beck, also known as Mysterio, does not possess any kind of superpowers, but is an expert in special effects devices and stage illusions, a master hypnotist, magician, and an amateur chemist and roboticist. Not only that, but he's a friend and ally to Spider-Man. The 5' 11" supervillain, played by Jake Gyllenhaal, claims to come from another dimension.

Let's Talk About Those Glasses

Later on in the film, Peter was gifted with a pair of glasses named E.D.I.T.H., which stands for "Even Dead, I'm The Hero." It's a tech system operated by voice control in the glasses that does some amazing things, such as identifying every single person within the owner's immediate vicinity, reading text messages, and deleting pictures from anyone's camera roll. In other words, it's a tech system that can hack into your phone and do whatever it pleases. The pair of glasses were the same pair worn by Tony Stark in Endgame, and were passed down to Peter. Honestly, I would love to have a pair of glasses like that in my possession.

What Is This Suit?

During the school's European vacation, havoc occurs. All of a sudden, there's someone wearing a black suit. It happened to be Peter wearing a stealth suit that was made by Nick Fury and his team. Peter's best friend, Ned (Jacob Batalon), dubbed him as "Night Monkey." Way before I got my Captain Spider-Man suit last December, I never realized that there were so many Spider-Man suits. This suit, in particular, is one I would love to have soon and wear to a future con. It strikes a striking resemblance to Spider-Man Noir.

The return of Spider-Man's nemesis

I had to save this one for last, because it's an Easter egg that I didn't expect at all. There were plenty of Easter eggs that I didn't notice, but this one takes the cake. If you have watched the first three Spider-Man movies, you know that the head of Daily Bugle, J. Jonah Jameson, played by J.K. Simmons, always had a huge disdain for Spider-Man. In the mid-credits sequence in Far From Home, Simmons played a journalist, who later outs and exposes Spider-Man as Peter Parker, echoing the same interrupting line as used at the end of Homecoming by Aunt May when she discovers Peter's secret: "What the f---."

I rate Far From Home 9/10, and honestly, I love Tom Holland a lot more than Tobey Maguire, no offense. It's a great movie that's worth seeing, but some parts will make you feel emotional. So that's my review of Far From Home and I'm looking forward to the next MCU movie. What were your favorite parts in the movie? Did Far From Home meet your expectations?

If you like any of the articles I've written so far, feel free to send me a a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It helps me and other Vocal content creators create better stories, and you'll be supporting us in a positive way. I've received so many tips, and I thank you for supporting my content.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.