Geeks logo

Sookie Reviews: 'Joker' Is Meant to Spread Kindness

What I've learned from the movie of the year

By Sookie NgPublished 4 years ago 10 min read
4

If I were to sum all of Joker in a word, it would be graceful. Joaquin Phoenix was on fire. Everything was perfect. Okay, maybe one word isn't enough.

--

Before I begin, I want to make a guess that most of us have already watched this, so for those who haven't, do take note of some of the spoilers I'm about to mention.

--

This was a much needed film, more now than ever before because of this cold and dark world we're living in. It's a film that's meant for everyone to watch, but sadly, not anyone will be able to understand.

I can't remember when was the last time I've watched such an incredible masterpiece on screen (sorry, Endgame, I love you, but Joker topped this for real). Immediately after Joker was done, I caught myself speechless and I only just uttered these two words to my boyfriend: fucking powerful.

From the jaw-dropping cinematography to the amazing score that simply gives you the chills, to the eerily beautiful bathroom dancing scene and the painful laughter Arthur gives us, there's really nothing short of amazing about this film. It is one of the darkest-themed movie I've seen, but yet the whole setting and the entire flow makes it all the more a colourful piece.

With that being said, I hope this review can do the film justice, because honestly there's too much beauty in it that you'd be damned not to watch it. Here are some of the very brutal/realistic but important things I've learned from watching the comic verse's most villainous character:

1. The world is shitty enough

The Joker reviews/memes are everywhere now, and some people are saying it’s so horrifying that viewers are walking out of the cinema hall. To whomever that’s reading this, please do not succumb to their opinions and end up missing out on a masterpiece.

Of course, art is subjective, but there’s nothing to lose when you have not even tried. Those are the kinds of people that probably just want to cause controversy among film-goers. And if political drama exists so often in the film industry, imagine what most regular people are going through on a daily basis.

For all I know, what truly adds to the horror factor in Joker is that it depicts what real life is all about. It's shitty. It's a film about our reality, or really just, the violence of our reality. The film is really disturbing and causes discomfort, but most of us loved it nonetheless.

A lot of us tend to find films as a form of escapism, away from the tough reality, but when a film is well executed like this, it will garner its very own fan base. And I think sometimes it's good to have reminders like these to help reflect what we are as a "civilised" society.

2. Mental illness is real, fantasies aren't

I strongly felt that Joker is a film that reminds, emphasises and reminds again how many of us actually just need help (and having nowhere/no one to turn to).

Even though mental health is getting more widespread attention, many are still left untreated. The days of associating it as a taboo is not entirely gone. It's not wrong to fantasise once in a while, but remember that they are not real. Mental illness is, although fantasies can be bred from the illness.

So if there's someone you know who may be hurting, or if you are, do not be ashamed to seek help. We don't need to snap out of it, but we need to snap out of the stigma.

We're all a little mad and crazy inside anyways, but there's always help when we actively, consciously look for it.

3. Adoption doesn't have to be painful

Many viewers are still debating on whether Arthur was indeed adopted, or it was just Thomas Wayne forging documents to get away with it. This is because:

  • If Arthur was indeed adopted, the authorities should be firm that Penny Fleck isn't fit to be a mother because of her own mental illnesses. Then again, this may not be helpful too if the authorities are just going to accept bribery from Thomas Wayne.
  • If Thomas Wayne is really forging documents, he's just a pure dickhead. Adoption shouldn't be messed with; children of all kinds should be loved the same.

Regardless the scenario, adoption is a serious business and one should only adopt when they are ready for it. Likewise if anyone wants to have a kid of their own. (Although on a side note, one should never have the fear of adopting of a child. It can be great!)

Alternatively, always opt to tell the kid the real reason and treat him/her with kindness just like you would to your own child. Just like how you'd want your parents to treat you.

4. Being kind to just about anyone

We need to stop picking people apart. We are more alike than we think, but we never know what the other person is going through too. They might be suffering as well, if not more so than you. Then again, everyone's sufferings are not by comparison.

With that being said, why are we only extra kinder to people when we’ve hurt them (or when they’re hurt)? Aren’t we supposed to try to have some decency whenever or to whomever we meet?

Joker taught me that the supposedly "crazy" guy that's always yelling on the streets probably has a mental disorder, and perhaps the furious woman you see on the bus is going through the worst phase of her life. That's not to say that some of them wouldn't have negative motives, but I generally don't think everyone is out there to harm you.

Just be careful and be nice.

5. Psychopaths are (once) humans too

Just like Joker himself. Before he was deemed Joker, he was Arthur Fleck. A misunderstood, socially inept man who has not experienced love and empathy in his entire life. He works hard, loves his job, and takes good care of his mother even though she criticises him too.

This is one of the rare films where you truly could feel sympathy over a protagonist, which is a villain. I've felt eerily guilty about it because I ended up rooting for him, but maybe the whole point is to make us feel this way. To make us feel that we could be responsible for someone's descent into madness.

Everyone has a good and an evil side. Depending on where you lean towards more, we are never born to kill (though there are those who are born with brain damage that could lead to dangerous behaviours). Regardless of the argument, we can be good human beings, if we choose to.

6. Everybody deserves to be whatever they want to be

In Arthur's case, yes he truly deserved all the love and attention he's gotten from standing up for himself, but that doesn't mean it's the right thing to do. Especially if that involves hurting/murdering people intentionally—that's not okay.

Arthur deserves to be loved and be happy, and not to be humiliated when all he wanted was to try doing stand-ups. Even if he's socially awkward in so many ways, that doesn't mean that the host at Pogo's can mock Arthur's "I want to spread joy and laughter to this cold, dark world" with a hint of sarcasm.

Maybe it is understood that back then, mental health awareness isn't so widespread, and people who do not have a clear understanding of it could say something totally unforgiving. But it's 2019 now, don't you think that this situation is still happening in current times?

7. The media is horrible in a lot of ways

It was and still is. I've always been interested in the way media and communications work, majored in it in college, but having a passion that couldn't be properly guided/reflected in practice really can break the spirits.

Watching this film made me feel so disappointed, because we as the media, are meant to inform and educate, and of course to entertain, but what we do not realise is that the very words we crafted or a video we've filmed could have the tendency of hurting someone. Sometimes for monetary benefits, sometimes just for the thrill of it.

And I've also learned that some of the supposedly "film critics" should really have their titles revoked. Especially through writing false, accusatory and Are we really trained/educated to inform the public about Joker being a film that's racist and too violent and hence frightening/forcing them not to watch it? Where's your conscience in writing truthful, appropriate information? If the audience's ratings and public comments are generally positive, why do you think the critics would want to ban the movie at all?

This is why Joker does it so effortlessly, reminding us (or at the very least, me) that reporters and journalists could (and are still) be cruel. I felt in some ways, guilty, and I've wanted to apologise too, if any of my words I've written or content I've created could have harmed someone along the way. All I can do is to be true to myself as a content creator, a media student—and I'm sure there are others like me.

8. It is NOT a film that glorifies violence and mental illness

And if it really is, again, that's up to you to decide. I've never found Joker to be anything of that, because let's face it, there are so many other movies out there that are much more violent and inappropriate.

Take John Wick for example. I loved all three parts of them, but isn't he using guns/a pencil or whatever to kill in the entire film? I was also re-watching White Chicks the other day, and I found a scene which was absolutely disturbing: When the girls went up the staircase, two young boys were peeking them from below and telling to each other that they're seeing "bush" and "balls." Wouldn't that be more "dangerous" to the kids too, even if it's a comedy movie?

I read somewhere on Quora saying that:

I love the (Joker) movie already because it exposed the critics for what they are - ideological shills who don’t care about cinema.

And that is why one should always take whatever they read with a grain of salt, and just watch them on your own without reading any reviews to gauge whether it is a good or a bad film. Critics are really not doing a good job nowadays anymore, and it's rare to see those who are neutral and knows what it's like to analyse a film as objectively as possible.

Also, not to mention that the Oscars are done in poor taste already too. I really hope this film can get some Oscars, but I doubt so because of the politics. No matter what the end result is in the award ceremonies, I'm pretty sure Joker already has a sweet spot in many of our hearts. There, I've said it.

--

You might think I am getting a bit too far ahead with the whole Joker controversy, but I will always find stories like these worth discussing.

I've since watched the film twice, and I'm really glad I did. These are the kinds of movies where I won't mind watching again and again, just to soak in all the beautiful details and relive that experience again.

I can't wait to see more of Joaquin's and Todd's work, and the shift of cinema genres now would be very exciting.

P/S: I'd like to note that Joker is a film, and my opinions are not to make anybody feel bad that they have "made" a Joker out of someone (or "making" one). But in all seriousness, we still shouldn't take each other's kindness for granted, and treat everyone as best we can.

P/P/S: Thank you, Todd Phillips and Joaquin Phoenix, and everyone from Joker.

review
4

About the Creator

Sookie Ng

Tell me your stories and I'll share mine.

Breaking Asian stereotypes, one article at a time.

Inspirations come in all shapes and sizes. I like writing them as they come by, and sharing what I know with the world. I aspire to inspire.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.