Geeks logo

Snaggletooth is the best cosplayer you haven’t heard of.

@snaggletoothu is a renaissance woman with a distinct look. She’s a mom too.

By Buck HardcastlePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
She can dress for any occasion.

One of the more unique cosplay accounts on Instagram you can follow is @snaggletoothu. While other cosplayers are all doing the same trendy character of the moment, Snaggletooth is more likely to be digging up a character from Blade Runner to portray. She can sing, play the guitar and paint. She describes herself as 5"6', 130lbs and mostly muscle. She practices for live action role play battles by going up against guys twice her size and weight. And for some reason she was terrified to talk to me. But hey, bravery isn’t having no fear, it’s being afraid and acting anyway. Conversation below has been lightly edited for clarity.

How did you get into cosplay?

I was 13 and my friend said "hey my parents agreed to drop us off in Orlando at the convention center and let us dick off for the whole day while my dad does things for work at the airport there."

"Wanna go?" "You have to dress up."

So I wore this half assed made Fushigi Yugi cosplay my mom strapped me into at 6am. Needless to say my friend did not dress up... at all and drug me around that for like 6 hours.

But there were other cosplayers and it made me really excited. I had only read about cosplay in like Anime magazines and otaku mag back then. So I was interested immediately.

My mom had taught me how to hand make costumes and things for years. So I just really enjoyed the concept of bringing characters I loved to life with people who also enjoyed them. And I've been cosplaying ever since. Like 20 years omfg. You'd think I'd be better. Lmao.

But I never really "buy" materials- I find them or I recycle old things into things I need. I'm sorta always broke because I do not adult.

That's a solid origin story. What's the hardest costume you ever made?

All of the vi costumes were a shit show. But I enjoyed it more than any other costumes I've done. Making the robot fists was a challenge. Making the armor was fun but a lot of work.

Had fun painting all of them and doing the electrical stuff. I think wearing them was a challenge because it takes a crew to manage a fucking fat fisted tight out fitted nimby that can't open doors or take a wizz on their own so that's a thing. But time, glue and wounds, ya know?

Just a lot of management. Like building a model but your size and you have to also be able to functionally move in it

What???

Like lots of gear. Lots and lots of non functional human gear. When you have like 8 pound wooden robot fists and an outfit 2 sizes too small.

I understand nimby to mean "not in my back yard" but I’ve never heard of "fat fisted tight out fitted nimby"

Well do you want all that gear and upset cramped lady in your backyard?

I mean... I guess not? Are you saying this cosplay caused trouble with your neighbors?

Lol I'm sure it has. But I definitely annoyed my friend making shit till the wee hours of the morning in his garage. But idk. He was building a life size Venom figure simultaneously. Most cosplay people just bother the people they live with because their mess making is beyond normal levels of "basic crafting".

I probably originally found you because of your Red Sonja cosplay (my favorite character) How comfortable are you wearing an outfit like that to a con?

I have stories about when I cosplayed it for the first time at a Miami con like 2015. Lmao.

What happened in Miami?

I was 26 and it was the first time I'd driven by myself to a convention. I was staying with my friend Leaping Lizard cosplay, she was a guest at the con. She was already there a day ahead and was doing her booth work when I arrived.

I got dressed and walked the 6 blocks from our hotel room. Six blocks at noon on Miami strip beach side. It was Supercon so there were other cosplayers and con goers about. However, there's also a lot of locals that have no clue what's happening.

I am in full scale mail bikini, wig and boots. Oh, and I have my real live steel bastard sword too. I collect swords because I'm a weeb/history nerd. Anyway, I'm walking and this rough looking guy asks why I'm wearing what I'm wearing.

I reply that I’m going to a comic book convention. He says something about how I should hang out with him instead. I'm like lol, no thank you. He looked me up and down. I thought, it’s broad daylight and I literally have a sword, I’ll be OK.

He then shouts, oh man- she's got a real sword. I'm pretty sure loud enough that everyone in the general area heard that. Groups are walking by and I'm now worried about being arrested for carrying a freaking sword around Miami beach. So I kinda chop off "well have a nice day!" And keep walking. After the con, which was a good day, I was walking back with my friend Liz. The same guy sees me and calls out to me across a park "Hey lady with the sword! Can you come here? I need you to cut something." Liz and I are kinda at a stand still. She's funny so she asks me "You know him?" "He wants to borrow your sword?" "Should we say hi?"

I'm like... can we stop saying “sword” there are cops here.

He continues "How sharp is it? Do you think it can help me cut my bike lock?"

I respond "haha." And then we took the long way back to the hotel.

Then Liz says "Well if anyone tried to mug us, you could have just stabbed them."

I said “You are not wrong, but can we please stop bringing attention to the actual steel sword that's not a prop and I could get in a lot of trouble for carrying around a major civic center. Thank you.”

I'm surprised you were allowed to carry it through the convention, usually weapons have to be peace tied.

I wrapped it in a loose piece of material lol.

In addition to cosplay you're an artist, a musician, a LARPer, a fitness buff... am I missing anything? Where do you find the time?

I'm a mom. Lol. I just go because there are no other options. I'm an insomniac so I mean that helps... or not.

Has running an OnlyFans been worthwhile?

Just recently I've been doing well enough to keep going. I haven't had a lot of experience being a sales person via the internet. Nor have I ever done anything like it. So it's all a learning experience.

I personally find it worthwhile. Its definitely not everyone's jam or avenue.

The way I do it is different from the regular content creators. I don't have the time to take pics everyday or do it as actively which I know could be more lucrative. But I like the pool of fans I have there and they are very kind and respectful. Their patronage is appreciated and I try to produce content for them.

It can be tiring. It has given me an opportunity to work from home during the last year of quarantine and not require a full on daycare for my child. I have a sitter for one day when I shoot. So I get to spend the rest of the week with my kid. I'd say its pretty worthwhile.

That's awesome. The last question I'll ask is what cosplay are you most proud of and why?

Every group cosplay I did when I was younger. 2006-07 I had a large group of friends who we used to get together and build cosplays. We entered contests and won that whole 2 year stretch. (Placing best group) but yeah that was something I'm still very fond of. Those years.

FF7

FF6

Ghost in the Shell

Trigun

Full Metal Alchemist

We all worked together and used all of our skills to help each other and we had a blast. It was hard. Drama and cosplay who knew... but it was worth it. Because we all cared enough to pull through together and have fun.

Its lonely now. But back then I was proud of being a part of something no matter the cosplay, that I worked on to make people happy. To entertain and be entertaining.

Gluing and sewing by yourself not really knowing if it's going to turn out or be well received- as a solo cosplayer now, it's really lonely. And I'm not proud of that. Yes we have community here and other ways. But as you get older more and more people ditch their hobbies and "Grow up" move on. I guess I never could. I'm proud of the cosplays I made with love with my friends. The memories and community. I'm proud of that. They helped shape me as I am now. And I'm glad for it.

I know you get a lot of DMs, so I appreciate your taking the time to talk to me.

I really have a ton of things always happening. Thank you for getting me out of my comfort zone.

cosplay
Like

About the Creator

Buck Hardcastle

Viscount of Hyrkania and private cartographer to the house of Beifong.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.