Geeks logo

Sir Sean Connery Dies Aged 90

With His Passing, So Goes A Piece Of My Childhood

By Christina St-JeanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
https://www.unilad.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/sean-connery.jpg

I wasn't introduced to the likes of #JamesBond until I was in my very early teens, but when I was, I was all about #SirSeanConnery, who died on Halloween at the age of 90.

I'm actually fairly certain the first James Bond flick I saw featured #RogerMoore, now that I really think about it, but in reality, those Bond movies were for me fairly unmemorable. It was #SeanConnery who captivated me with his easy charm, dapper good looks and that accent. Of course, I didn't quite understand at the time the distinction between Roger Moore's British accent and Connery's, having not been aware at the time that Connery was, in fact, Scottish, but the fact of the matter is, there was something very compelling about the man every time he stepped into Bond's polished shoes that made me watch. I was sad when I realized that 1983's Never Say Never Again was Connery's last turn as the suave British spy, but it made sense. Even I, who was not among the most perceptive of individuals when I was younger, could tell that Connery was at the very least not quite as young as might be expected, and therefore possibly not quite as appealing to the typical demographic that would have been attracted to Bond at the time. It made sense; Connery was at the time 52 years old and actually three years younger than his replacement, Roger Moore, and after Diamonds Are Forever had vowed that he would not take on the role of Bond again. 12 years later, however, the story was different, Connery was back in the saddle for one last ride as Bond, and what a ride it was!

I didn't realize at the time that Connery had acted in other films beyond the Bond series, and so when The Untouchables came out four years after Never Say Never Again, I was thrilled to see him again. Sure, he was older than I had last seen him on film, but then, who isn't? He was just as captivating as ever, this time in the role of Irish cop Jimmy Malone. However, I'd heard the rumors that Connery's character wouldn't survive the film, and sure enough, I could barely watch when Malone was gunned down. Sure, I was more than old enough to understand that movies were make-believe and all that, but I cared about Malone through the course of the film, and to see him gunned down so brutally just about broke my heart at the time. Connery would, of course, go on to win the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor at the time.

For me, his most memorable role would be that of Professor Henry Jones, Senior in 1989's Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade. It was a film I'd gone to see with my mother, who loved the Indiana Jones movies. We were both struck by the dynamic between Harrison Ford and Sean Connery, who were entirely believable as father and son, and the film forever ranks as pretty much my favorite in the series of Indiana Jones movies next to Raiders Of The Lost Ark. It was emotionally resonant, funny, and gripping as far as its sense of adventure went, and I still enjoy sitting and watching the movie if it's available on streaming, and I'm looking for a good adventure flick.

Connery was by no means a perfect man, and he did stir some controversy when he said, "I don’t think there is anything particularly wrong about hitting a woman" in a 1965 interview with Playboy - comments that resurfaced years later - but the fact of the matter is, he was compelling to watch, particularly in the role that made him famous. It is because he was a tremendous actor, regardless of comments he may have made, that his work has continued to be interesting to watch, and it is for that reason I still enjoy watching his work.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Christina St-Jean

I'm a high school English and French teacher who trains in the martial arts and works towards continuous self-improvement.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.