Geeks logo

Shang-Chi and The Legend of The Ten Rings

Why this colossal flop is still a box office success even when it was not worth my $5 at the cinema?

By Oly AwambaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo from disney.com.au

It had been a year since I last saw a movie in the cinema. My friend, Adaobi convinced me that Shang-Chi was the movie to watch. So, I joined her to see that.

Plain 'ol me just wanted to see a marvel flick and feel a connection. That was all I wanted. Unfortunately. I got thrown all over the place in confusion instead.

Let’s talk.

Plotholes

Wenwu had a mythical creature in his home all this time and could not use him to find Ta Lo?

Wenwu’s thugs could not have targeted Shaun at home. They had to come to his job. And then, destroy the city for what? A pendant?

Of what significance were the man and the beast from the fight club? How and why did they disappear? And then reappear after closing credits?

The only character that was well developed was Wenwu. I don’t know what Marvel was thinking with the other characters. Even our dear superhero, Shang-Chi.

They tried to sell us on the part that leaving home and finding your path as a teenager is a piece of cake. It isn’t. Shang-Chi mysteriously ran away at 14 and took care of himself in a new city until adulthood.

Xialing replicated the same and even founded a fight club. We’re talking wonder kids.

Katy can just up and leave with her best friend wherever he goes. She has no family and answers to no one.

Even with all its haphazard character development, it is a box office hit. Why is that?

Cinematography

This is the best part of the movie. I did not feel any connection to the characters in this movie, but I respect the cinematographer.

In this case, William Pope.

The picture quality, camera angles, and special effects arrangements are top-notch.

I have to add that the action and stunts choreography in the movie are unmatched.

Casting

Akwafina stole our hearts as the goofy bestie and sidekick.

Tony Leung put on a convincing performance as the villain. And as the father of the hero.

Simu Liu, our beloved superhero was perfect as the motherless kid, who had to run away from his abusive father.

The entire cast brought their A-game to the fore. And boy, did it shine.

Screenshot by Author

Marketing

The Marvel cinematic universe already has a huge fanbase from which they can leverage audience for any new movies.

Even so, their marketing is usually off the charts. Their marketing sells. Whether or not the movie meets expectations.

They take the term diversity and inclusion seriously and run with it.

Look how they sold us Black Panther! Wakanda forever (my arms are across my chest as I type this).

The #StopAsianHate anti-Asian-violence rallies were in full force earlier in 2021, after a mass shooting that left six Asian women dead.

What a time to release a movie about the first Asian hero in the Marvel universe. It could not have come at a better time. What a way to say we see you. And care about you.

Takeaways

I still feel like I wasted my $5 to see this movie. It is a colossal flop to me because I felt no connection throughout its entire 2 hours, 12 minutes. The box office begs to differ.

Probably because it got these things right:

  • Cinematography
  • Action stunts and sequence
  • Casting choices
  • Strategic marketing

PS: One major thing I appreciate the director for is making sure there was no romantic relationship between Shaun and Katy. Enough of the bestie romance cliche.

-------

The original version of this story was published here.

-------

product review
Like

About the Creator

Oly Awamba

I write about life as I know it. As I experience it. As it could be better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.