Geeks logo

Seven degrees

of tv shows and movies

By Jazzy Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Seven degrees
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

This year has been rough, and honestly, that’s an understatement. However, one thing I should have invested in at the beginning of this pandemic is streaming services, and they are blowing up. Especially because we are all stuck indoors and need some sense of normalcy and that is where we turn to the television and the lighthearted shows that might make us lose the sadness our lives have become. I don’t know about you, but this actually doesn’t sound like a punishment to me. I get to stay home and watch as many movies as I want? Yes, please. In fact, do ya’ll remember when Netflix tweeted and said, “to the 42 people who have watched ‘A Christmas Prince’ 42 times since Thanksgiving, who hurt you?” I was one of those people. Movies and shows are my life. My personality is a cacophony of literature characters and characters from shows I really enjoy.

One reason I went into the medical field, Grey’s Anatomy, which you’d totally enjoy if you liked M*A*S*H by the way. I actually rewatch Grey’s Anatomy, simply because I have anxiety, and rewatching my favorite show calms me down. Once you’re all calm and need more to watch just follow anything that has Shanda Rhymes’s name attached to it, and you can never go wrong. Examples include; Scandal, How To Get Away With Murder, Station 19. That woman can write so much television it almost embarrasses me how little my imagination can do. What vision and creativity this woman can come up with, you have to imagine she has some really weird dreams.

Moving on, sometimes you just can’t rewatch the same things over and over again. I suggest moving to lighthearted crime shows. Which feels like an oxymoron, but actually exists. In this case, I recommend Psych. It happens to be one of the best shows, although I am not including the last season in this suggestion so don’t hold that against me. If you like Criminal Minds, you’d like Psych. This is a USA Network show, which you also can never go wrong with. It’s like USA Network will only pick up good shows. Examples: Suits, Psych, Monk. I rest my case.

As you can see I like to categorize my viewings and based on my mood is usually how I end up somewhere. There are quite a few comedies on Netflix that are easy to watch, like Paradise PD, which you’d like if you liked Brinkleberry. There are tons of stand-up specials, so if you liked the Chappelle Show, you will like Bill Burr. Who if we swerve to the left we can also look at F is for Family, a show by Bill Burr. Then on the topic of animated shows for adults you really need to look into Archer. What a fantastic show, it was so fantastic I actually used that as my baby shower theme. If you liked Arrested Development, you’ll like Archer. Animated shows for adults, who would have guessed. If you like the Simpsons, you’ll like Bob Burgers, who has the same voice actor as the guy from Archer, yes it does.

I’m sure you are seeing my pattern here. I basically find something I like and pulled seven degrees of Kevin Bacon, I find more viewing materials from there. I’ve had someone ask me once if there was one thing that I would recommend to watch, any one thing at all, what would it be? I honestly can’t narrow it down, I feel like I have learned a lot from different people and characters. I have been inspired by so many shows and movies to pursue new and exciting things or to face my fears or feelings I may have never done so without those characters. I am a beautiful quilt of characters, just as you might be after watching some of these shows too.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.