Geeks logo

Say you Swear Book Review

Author: Meagan Brandy

By Devon ReneePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Rate: 5/5

Say you Swear is about your first love and the love after that. It’s about following your heart, even if you might not understand why it’s pointing you in the direction it is. This book touches on everything that love is, from beginning to end. If I saw love in the dictionary, this book would be in the definition. Absolutely amazing story, plot, characters, everything.

First of all, my favorite character hands down is Noah. From the very beginning when his character is introduced, he puts Arianna first. Throughout the entire book, his main focus is Arianna, no matter what way that has to be. Not only towards Ari, but her friends and family as well. His character didn’t necessarily have a character arc, but I didn’t find that a bad thing because of how well written his character was.

Noah’s mother was another character I loved in this book, even if she isn’t shown as much as I would’ve liked her to be. She’s the reason for everything turned out the way it did, she helped Arianna find her way when she was lost. So, she definitely deserves recognition and I would’ve liked a little more scenes with her in them.

I have two character arcs that I would love to dive into, and the first one is Arianna’s. The fact that she believes she wants one thing, but she follows her heart throughout the story. She overcomes what, and who, she thought she needed and went for what she wanted. She finally went for what she wanted, and didn’t stop even when everything seemed to be heading south. I also envy the love that she got to live through in this book and it definitely set high expectations in reality.

The second character arc that I appreciated, even if it seemed small, was Mason’s. He might be Ari’s twin brother, but at some point he realizes how hard he’s been on his sister. He changes from the protective sibling, to someone that Ari can lean on without worrying about being overprotective. And although his overprotectiveness might be a bit much, the kind of brotherly love his character showcases is amazing. Actually, the love he shows in general to everyone around him is something I enjoyed most while reading.

Chase Harper. I feel like everyone who has read this book feels what I feel when I simply say his name. His character may not have been the best, but he still brought the story together in a way no one else did. He is the starting point for all the feelings involved in this book, he is the one of the main people that brings out all these emotions while you read it. But, he is also the person behind my rage throughout the story.

My favorite thing about Say You Swear is that it brought out every emotion possible from me. I cried, more than once, laughed, got heartbroken, happy, mad, wanted to scream at every character, absolutely everything. I loved that I felt it all, I love that I was able to connect with this book and characters on such a deep level.

I also have to applaud the twists and turns that Meagan Brandy managed to incorporate in this book, along with the choices she made for her characters, especially Ari. The way she brought to life the idea of your first love, amazing. This is definitely an author I can stick behind and read more of books from.

This book is for mature audiences and anyone who can handle being juggled through different emotions. It’s for anyone who likes a love triangle with a happily ever after. There is spice in this book, and I think everyone should be prepared to have expectation higher for men in the real world after reading this book. Noah absolutely stole my heart from the beginning, and I have a feeling he will manage to do that to anyone who reads this story.

review
1

About the Creator

Devon Renee

First things first, I am an avid romance reader, but enjoy writing about anything. One thing you will probably see the most of is book reviews. I have recently obtained my BFA in Creative Writing and hope that you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hassan2 years ago

    Nice review. The book sounds intriguing. I will have to check it out.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.