Geeks logo

Save one

A great scene in an atrocious film

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
6
Source: Google image "Justice League 2017"

I recently re-watched 2017's "Justice League" in preparation for the "Synder Cut" to come. As much as I would love to make this article entirely trashing this film, I won't. I'm about three years late for that. However, I felt like there's one interaction that I feel is incredibly overlooked and showed me that this movie does actually have some potential. That sentence really pains me to say as some who absolutely loves the DC universe.

So the scene I'm referring to is as the title implies "save one"; for those who haven't seen this film yet allow me to provide some very brief context as to where we are in the film. Our main Villain "Steppenwolf" has kidnapped a bunch of scientists who were studying the "mother box", one of which happens to be Cyborg's father and The Flash Barry Allen tells batman that he's scarred. Character wise "The Flash" really isn't anybody yet. More of an urban legend than a true hero. Meanwhile Batman has already been Batman for years to the point he's already lost Jason Todd. Also I feel it should be known I really dislike Ezra Miller's portrayal of The Flash, no one can do as good of a job as Grant Gustin has been doing on CW's "The Flash". But that's honestly why this scene impressed me so much. Barry tells Batman ".... I've just pushed some people and run away". To which Batman responds with "Save one, save one person". Barry then asks "which one?". Without acknowledging Barry's question Batman continues on with "Don't talk. Don't fight. Get in, get one out". Then the last two lines of dialog are; Barry "and then?". To which Batman finishes with "You'll know". In the background we hear The Flash's music start to play and Barry shakes his head with a final "okay" to Batman.

Let me take a step back and explain why this scene in a bubble is so important. With how rushed the Justice league was in respects to the much superior MCU counterpart we as the audience are just watching characters with very little time to explain their motivations or their personalities. At this point the only two heroes we've spent any significant time with is Superman and Wonder Woman. Batman we already know: but poor Flash and Cyborg just have their introductions barreled through with absolutely zero depth given to their characters. Now for those of us who are hardcore DC fans or maybe have even spent some time with Grant Gustin's Flash over the years we know a few key traits about Barry. He's incredibly intelligent, a wise-crack, loves the color red, is the fastest man alive, but above all else and most importantly is truly a good person who will stop at nothing to do the right thing. More so than Batman in my opinion. So much so that literally in any universe without a Flash, the world goes up in smoke.

Now back to the scene at hand, as instructed Barry goes in and saves Miles Dyson I mean Silas Stone (Cyborg's father). Shout out to fellow terminator fans. Sorry back to The Flash, once he's able to save Silas he doesn't just stop at one civilian saved. He runs back and is able to save everyone. I know it may not seem like much but this is incredibly important to the film and is something the entire DCEU is sorely lacking. We're shown, not told, as an audience just what type of person Barry is and why we're rooting for them to beat Steppenwolf. And then we get to see a Batman we need to see, not the eternal cry-baby whose backstory has been drilled into our brains since Michael Keaton. But a Batman who uses his experience, veteran leadership, and unfortunately painful past with Robin to make sure his team doesn't end up like Robin did. I honestly compare the importance of this scene to the very first time we see not Captain America, but puny Steve Rogers literally throw himself onto a grenade while everyone else was running away. Establishing heroes personalities, that's all I want to see from now on with the DCEU. If the DCEU keeps this up, I'll finally feel proud to say I love the DCEU.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

superheroes
6

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.