Geeks logo

Restless Movie Review -A Unlikely Revival-

No Spoilers

By umer aliPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Restless Movie Review                      -A Unlikely Revival-
Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

Restless Movie REVIEW – An Unlikely Revival

More from Movie Magic

Heather’s Review

The trailer starts off all scary and tense, almost gothic like. It’s full of freaky imagery, but despite all of that, I was captivated by it immediately. I thought it was a powerful trailer, and a scary and moody film. After seeing the movie, I know that it did it’s job. It created the anxiety that the trailer engendered and kept my feet on the floor.

The story is based on a legend from a lighthouse in Maine, and takes place there, in the dark of night, as a handful of ‘restless people’ go on a sort of hellish mission. What makes the story so riveting and unpredictable, and makes it so intriguing is how you’re trying to get an idea of what the entire film is going to be from that trailer. It certainly leaves you wanting more and wanting more of this seemingly wonderful trailer. The movie does it’s best to keep you on your toes throughout.

Everyone who saw the trailer in the cinema, including me, was entranced by it, and we went into the theater with a bigger hunger for more of it. That’s all you can ask for in a trailer. Restless is the kind of horror movie I’d like to see a lot more of.

I have to admit that the movie was just OK. It kept my attention, but didn’t captivate me. It was a little too contrived for my liking. The plot and the characters didn’t create a feeling of excitement. But there were moments in the movie that surprised me, like the transition from a movie trailer to a scene in the movie itself, and the revelation of the rest of the characters at the end of the movie. They felt genuine, and they provided a connection to the rest of the movie that I found surprisingly engaging. I think that was the moment when I was really convinced that Restless could be a genuine thriller, and not just a showcase for a good trailer.

Restless is a movie that lives and dies by it’s story. The trailer certainly provides a great first impression, but if it’s not good enough to sustain the movie, then it won’t be good enough to stay alive. Restless should have had more depth to it. Nothing more. It lacks the epic, epic, epicness that other horror movies have.

Movies like Restless are still a rarity, and as an indie film, it doesn’t come cheap. But I think Restless needed to get a theatrical release to stay alive. In that sense, Restless does provide an alternative movie experience. The special effects were a little unrealistic at times, but the story and it’s actors kept it afloat for me. Some things were a little too unnerving for my tastes. I wasn’t just afraid to look at the scary monsters, I was afraid to look at anything. I couldn’t watch too many scenes, as I was afraid of what might happen to me.

The performances were great and the storyline was engaging and exciting. Restless is a movie that presents a horrific world, but it’s one that’s so dreadful, you won’t be able to get off of your couch. It’s so suspenseful and intense, and it makes you fear for your life. It’s exciting to watch, but it’s so relentless that you feel like you have no way to escape it. It’s an intense and relentless thriller that keeps you captivated with every scene. It’s a great summer movie, and I hope that this becomes a true cult classic.

A few years ago, I might have hated the trailer for Restless. But as I watch it now, as an adult, with a sense of maturity, with an emotional distance from it, it’s just fine. Restless is a trailer that successfully generated the feelings and emotions of excitement and fear, but it does it with a limited budget, and an original story. I can understand the need to keep it simple, and create the suspense and fear that it does, but this trailer can’t give me all of the mystery and anticipation that I had when I saw it as a teenager.

Restless Movie REVIEW – An Unlikely Revival

reviewinterviewindustryhumanityhow tofact or fictionentertainmentcosplayconventionscelebritiesartapparel
Like

About the Creator

umer ali

You Might Learn A thing or two here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.