Geeks logo

Reluctant Favorites

Overly-hyped things I loved after I finally caved into consuming

By cPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Reluctant Favorites
Photo by Jonas Augustin on Unsplash

If you're like me, you get bitter when something becomes popular after years of you enjoying it when it was not so mainstream.

On the contrary, you may also start to roll your eyes when you watch as others constantly gab about something you haven't had the time to get into yourself.

I have many shows, movies, music, and even foods that I have hesitated to try or start, but here is a list of the ones I don't feel as bitter about anymore, now that I've taken the dive into the craze.

  1. Squid Game

I won't spoil anything, but I will say that this show is incredible, even though I hesitated to watch it, as I struggle with subtitles and feel terrible for using English dub, as I feel it can take away from the original acting and storyline. One night after a long day of schoolwork, my girlfriend and I sat down and pressed play - we finished the entire season in about 3 days. If you can stomach the violence and cold nature of the games, then this show depicting the depravities of human nature is both inspiring and raw. I encourage you to give it a chance, as it is both artistic and archaic in nature.

By Vadim Bogulov on Unsplash

2. Nine Perfect Strangers

This Hulu original starring Melissa McArthy and Nicole Kidman is trippy and a plot twister. Created by the directors of Big Little Lies (another guilty pleasure of mine), this show will have you deeply invested in the lives of these rather imperfect as they navigate their time at a 10-day retreat led by Russian guru Nicole Kidman, where she has been microdosing them with drugs without their consent. This show made me laugh, cry, and gasp, oftentimes in the same episode. You'll be upset when you realize you're on the last episode.

By Sage Friedman on Unsplash

3. Boba

Growing up, a way my mom and I would bond would be to try different foods, as we were the only two people in our immediate family that would eat anything other than chicken, pizza, and pasta. As a lover of all things spicy, we became big fans of Indian food and then later moved to Thai cuisine. When I tried a Thai Iced Tea at the ripe age of 12, I was hooked. I then found a spot near my house that used Thai Iced Tea flavoring and tapioca balls - Boba tea. You're probably skimming through this section as you already know what Boba is, it's all the craze now, with fruity popping bubbles, slushies with fruit jelly, and a hundred more combinations. I don't want to be that white kid in my small town who says "I liked bubble tea before it was cool" because that isn't true and I think this trend is something everyone should be able to enjoy.

By Katie Rainbow 🏳️‍🌈 on Unsplash

4. Animals Crossing

I detested sitting still on Sunday mornings in the Church services I regularly attended (hello undiagnosed ADHD) so my parents begrudgingly allowed my sister and me to bring our Nintendo DS to occupy ourselves, on mute. I had New Leaf at the time and was addicted to paying off Tom Nook to expand my housing, as I ran around the village doing favors for the animals and selling the gifts they extended to me, shaking trees, winding up with bee stings at least 10x a day.

I grew out of my Nintendo and moved on to reading as a pastime, but my sister still had the bug when it came to gaming. Recently, she preordered the Animal Crossing Nintendo Switch, and as many must have heard, a new "mod" was released for the game, bringing a bunch of cool new content. When my sister came home for break this past week, I hopped on her switch and made my own villager like I was 9 years old again. Before I knew it, I had been playing for hours without realizing it. This game is relaxing and peaceful and truly has a "go at your own pace" vibe. This game is self-care in one little gamecard. Safe to say, I might be purchasing myself a Switch.

By Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

review
Like

About the Creator

c

writing as release

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.