Geeks logo

'Red Sparrow' (2018)

Film Review

By Michael GrubePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
10-2019

Jennifer Lawrence (Dominika Egorova) sheds the heroic chains of innocence that bound her time as Katniss. I know that is has been a few years since she blazed into our minds, forever scorching the fiery image of her riding a flaming chariot. Although, it seems, that not since Silver Linings (2012) has she given such an impressive performance as she has done in Red Sparrow. I fell out of love for Lawrence after the Hunger Games trilogy, as I believe that it was far beneath her skill as an actress.

The beginning of the film was, by appearance, another tale of spy versus spy. The CIA and SVR are spying on one another, but something goes wrong and an American is compromised. At the same time the Russians are weening a new spy through a program denoted the Red Sparrow. The program appears to have been around for some time, and usually recruits those that have been given the choice between successful completion or death. They train in the art of seduction and counter-intelligence, and Lawrence brings her 'A game' within both aspects. After the movie grasps hold of your mind, you are led down a path that is, not only, predictable, but also, devilishly twisted. Of course, the story grows deeper than the politics that pit these human pawns against each other, and by the time the plot is revealed you feel sympathy, anger, and understanding towards the broken ballerina.

I can honestly say that there were points that I was unsure as to where her loyalties lied, but it was refreshing to watch her character never waiver. No matter what she was promised or threatened with, Dominika stayed true to her course. I won't spoil the end of the film, but it is well worth watching until the very finish.

I think that this style of this film, and others like it, are slowly becoming my favorite to enjoy and review. Politics, war, division, racism, and hatred are all luxuries that can only be afforded by those in power. Not that I am condoning revenge or the like thereof, but I don't think it would be outlandish to understand where her character is coming from. Of course, I would draw the line at killing someone for looking at me cross, but even you, the reader, has had someone in your life (prayerfully not a family member) that has done you ill in some way. The Bible does teach us to turn the other cheek and modern morality teaches us that two wrongs do not make one right, but are either of these sources considering the individual?

If you were to place yourself within the mind of someone that had a darker agenda, I think that expecting no retaliation would be of great advantage. You could, essentially, do whatever to whomever you wished, and never pay the mortal price. You may have read other pieces that I've written, and can accurately surmise that I do not think this way. I implore you, however, that if you find yourself in a position that might resemble those of our protagonist, to think twice. Any cycle of violence is doomed to repeat itself if not impeded by finding a higher sense of self. I have seen many people in my life search for the purest water to quench that desire of revenge. I suppose the journey to finding it would be worthy of seeking it, but the worst outcome would be achieving that drink and the desire. You may succeed, but I believe in balance and Karma, and that means that everything has a price.

If you are looking for a film that may pluck at your soul strings and make you contemplate some of the choices you make, then Red Sparrow is for you. I wouldn't recommend watching it unless you have the time to devote to soaking in every moment. Red Sparrow did leave me with one lingering question. Do any of us really have a choice as to where our lives take us? We can influence the direction of the minor breaks and ebbs, but ultimately can we choose where our rivers flow?

review
Like

About the Creator

Michael Grube

I am 36 years old, an Army veteran, and officially divorced. I have been writing since i was young and have always been told that I have a knack for it. I've tried my writing a few novels, but my heart lies within poetry and journalism.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.