Geeks logo

Real Truth about Why I Didn't Watch Omo Ghetto: The Saga - Funke Akindele

Funke speaks out.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Late last year, Nigeria’s own Funke Akindele-Bello put out a new movie called Omo Ghetto: The Saga during a time when people weren’t sure a lot of people would be going to the cinemas. Weeks after its release, not only did Omo Ghetto: The Saga do well, it also broke the record as the highest grossing Nollywood movie with a domestic gross of over 600 million naira.

Now in a sit-down interview with star interviewer Chude, Funke Akindele-Bello talks about the success of that movie and gets candid about her reaction to the film’s success and all the fanfare around it. Her response to the question came as quite a shock to people and well, let’s see if her answer surprises you as well. You might just be surprised. Here’s what Funke said about the success of Omo Ghetto: The Saga and how she feels about it.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Funke Akindele on #WithChude

During one of the highlight moments of the 30 minute interview, Chude spoke to Funke about Omo Ghetto: The Saga. He said:

"There is no meeting about film anywhere in Nigeria that I know of and I’ve been in several meetings where people are not talking about Omo Ghetto: The Saga and how it is the gold standard."

Funke responded to Chude saying:

Okay let me be truthful, you know I’m real. Anything I do, my darling, I don’t see it. I’m just giving you a secret today. I’m a big critic of my work. The wig I wore now, it was something else I wore this morning and I could see a little bit of the lace in front so I told the hairstylist ‘guy, oya remove it remove it’. He said ‘aunty, it’s okay. Your face is fine in it’, I said ‘No! The camera is going to be there, people will zoom in and the lace, they’ll see it.’ I’m a perfectionist. Anything I do I want to do it well.

Now the outcome, I never thought it would be the highest grossing. I did not target highest grossing. No, Abdul and I did not. We just wanted to do a good movie. We wanted to tell a story well. We wanted people to have fun, laugh, enjoy themselves. That’s all I wanted to do. But when the whole accolades came and everybody was like ‘oh you did it, you made it, highest grossing’, and Filmone knows how to do this thing – they’ll segment it: Highest Grossing Movie Producer, Highest Grossing Director, Highest Grossing Actress, kilode? This head dey swell.

But after seeing it, all I do is ‘Thank you Lord’ and I say you need to work harder, don’t push yourself, don’t force it. Just take your time.

Wow, I always knew Funke was humble so her response of how she reacted to the news after didn’t surprise me - I mean there is a whole video about it I’ve shared with you guys in the past, I've linked to it again above. What I’m surprised to find out today is that Funke doesn’t see the things she’s in after she’s made them. That means she doesn't watch Jenifa's Diary, Omo Ghetto: The Saga, nothing. Wow!

She's not the only one, a lot of artistes do this because for a lot of artistes, they are the most critical of their own work. Still, I didn’t know it was the case with Funke too. Very interesting to learn. Aunty Funke you made a very amazing movie. Even if you yourself have not watched it back, take it from us – you really finished work.

Omo Ghetto: The Saga will be available for streaming on Netflix starting on September 10, 2021.

That’s All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

movie

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.