Geeks logo

Ranking the 4 Disney+, MCU TV shows of 2021

Spoiler alert, obviously

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
https://www.pastemagazine.com/tv/disney-plus/marvel-tv-shows-ranked/

Although I miss the Marvel Netflix series, and it breaks my heart Netflix will be removing those shows on March 1st. The Disney+ shows we've gotten so far, has me incredibly excited for the future of the small screen MCU. Especially with shows like Moon Knight, She-Hulk, Secret Invasion and even Ms. Marvel on the way in 2022. So why not rank the first 4 live action shows in order from my most to least favorite. Key word though, live action. I'm going to write about "What-If?" soon enough, but with how much I can work with for "What-If?" that show deserves its own article.

Loki

From beginning to end, top to bottom this show was absolutely stellar. So much emotional depth from start to finish. Great action scenes. Last but certainly not least, the finale is one of the best finales I've ever seen. To think that's the finale, I can't wait for further seasons to come. Despite only being 6 episodes long, the first season certainly delivered and then some.

Negatives?: I don't really think I have any. I mean, only 6 episodes is a crime for a show this well done. I'm not saying make Loki 20/24 episodes long, but maybe an even 10. I feel like a few more episodes of Loki and Mobius chasing Sylvie through before they find her and before Loki jumps through the portal. A little bit more time with some more Loki variants. For example, we know Sylvie's Nexus event was wanting to become a Valkyrie. What if there was a Loki variant who was responsible for bringing The Avengers together not as a foe, but as an ally? Loki would have still met Thanos and made it seem like he was going to lead the Chitauri invasion of New York but instead he runs straight to his brother to tell him what's coming for Earth. Then he tells Thor to put his arrogance aside, find and form the Avengers alongside Loki so they can protect the Earth, but right as Thor agrees and realizes this isn't a ploy of some kind. Loki is being genuine and has changed. Boom the TVA show up.

My heart

WandaVision

Positives:

Although literally everyone's acting was amazing and there were so many characters I was so happy to see. Regardless of if they were new or recurring characters. But I have to single out Kathryn Hahn. She came out of nowhere and just killed it. I know Kathryn can act, but this was seriously next level for her and I can't wait to see more of Agatha. Also let's be real, the Agatha wink is an A1 meme. The acting from top to bottom. I love how this season had 9 episodes instead of the typical 6 like the other shows. 9/10 range is perfect for these shows. I feel like 6 is too short, you'll see this conversation come back later on in the list. Oh and even though Evan Peters wasn't actually Peter, it was still great to see him back and his storyline was great. Hopefully we'll be able to see Evan Peters come back as the real Quicksilver variant.

Negatives:

If I had to complain, I would of course say we're all upset we haven't seen Memphesto (yet). And although I wouldn't say there were any week episodes, the first two episodes could have been very confusing for casual viewers and I'm afraid it turned off a lot of those casual viewers to the show if they didn't make it past episode 2.

Definitely up there with "I love you 3000"

Falcon and the Winter Solider

I actually liked John Walker's character from start to finish. I think it was great casting, great character development. He really did start off as a good person and I like how with John's character has it felt so good to see Zemo back. We need to see more of Zemo. The chemistry between Sam and Bucky was amazing. From their lowest points in the beginning of the show being frenemies making jokes at each other's expense. To the therapy secession where Bucky opens up, not being envious or jealous of Sam being chosen to be Steve's successor. But being deeply hurt. "... Maybe he was wrong about you and if he was wrong about you then he was wrong about me". To truly becoming friends as Sam fully embraces becoming Captain America. Speaking of great dialog, there actually was a Lastly Isaiah Bradley

Negative: I need to watch a video of someone explaining Karli and The Flag Smashers. I didn't understand the point. Something about how like, they want the way things back to where they were after the blip? I also didn't like how lax they were with the super soldier serum. I get the point of, the serum Whatever that means.. Personally, I wasn't a fan of the Sharon Carter twist. It just kind of felt unnecessary.

Hawkeye

Let's be honest. Hawkeye was certainly the weakest of the shows. Which is a damn shame because Jeremy Renner gets so little respect in the MCU and he really does deserve it, but this show wasn't doing him any favors.

Positives:

It was incredible to see Vincent D'Onofrio back as Kingpin. I wouldn't mind if Kingpin steps up to be the "Big Bad" of the Disney+ shows. Sorry Julia Louis-Dreyfus, I know you just got Valentina Allegra de Fontaine character, and you've made all of two appearances totaling maybe a half an hour of screen time. But I'm cool with Kingpin taking the reigns from here. Maya was a good character with a ton of depth. The casting of Alaqua Cox was amazing and she's doing a great job. I can't wait to see more of her character.

And above all else, finally having Clint's hearing disabilities represented in the MCU, finally! Especially when he's coming face to face with Maya. I really hope Jeremy can stay around for Deadpool to make his way into the MCU so we can get this incredible scene.

Negatives:

Despite being 6 episodes long just like every other show this season, it still didn't feel complete. This show would have benefitted by 2 or maybe even 3 more episodes. Or just a better use of their time. When it was over it felt incomplete. Overall unfortunately it just, it still didn't do Hawkeye the justice I think he deserves. I know all the MCU shows have introduced plenty of villains but it felt like this show gave us one too many. Also from watching Hawkeye fighting the Chitauri and Ultron's "Ultron Bots" Ronan was single-handedly taking on the cartel and Yakuza, to the jumpsuit mafia.... It just felt like such a downgrade, and although they were funny. If they were really stupid enough to think they could take on The Ronin, There should have been a way more convincing villain to take him down since the Cartels/Yakuza could not.

All the feels, also first time we get to see the other perspective of the blip in real time

I'm very excited for the next slate of MCU Disney+ shows. For me Moon Knight is certainly at the top of the list. These trailers we've been getting recently have me incredibly hype. I am a huge fan of Oscar Isaac and I'm so happy to see him finally be a part of the MCU. I promise all my subscribers that I'll write another article reviewing the next batch of shows.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.