Geeks logo

Ranking Doctors

Doctor Who

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like

Before we go into Ncuti’s run as the Doctor and before I make my first journey to Gallifrey One I wanted to go ahead and make a ranking list of the Doctors. Now obviously this is entirely based on my preferences and what I have seen. I haven’t watched all of everyone’s seasons because the writing just didn’t connect with me as well and that's okay. I am excited for the new season and I can’t wait to see Ncuti really step into the role. We will go from most awesome to least awesome.

My favorite Doctor will forever be Matt Smith. I normally say David Tennent but I realized that I rewatch Matt’s the most. He’s just so goofy but he has no problem stepping into the intensity of the role when the story gets a little bit darker. He also has just the most concentrated amount of amazing episodes. I was making his list of best episodes and honestly it's like his whole first season. The writing in his seasons, especially at the beginning, was just so incredible.

Next up we have David Tennent. His and Rose’s dynamic was of course amazing and sweet and fun. But really the season that shines is 10 and Donna. I know the fans' opinions on Martha are rather split. It seems you either love her and think she is one of the best companions the Doctor has ever had or you completely hate her and there really doesn’t seem to be any in between. But that said the storyline given to Martha was very good. I love David Tennent’s take on the Doctor, he is suave and smooth and charming but can also turn up the intensity when necessary.

My first Doctor will always have a special place in my heart, Christopher Eccelston. Really the only problem was that we only got one season. But the first season with 9 is really when I fell in love with the Doctor and Rose. His seasons had a couple of skippable episodes but he also got one of the most emotional and incredibly written 2-parters in all of new who. Eccelston was the perfect person to bring the Doctor back and I just wish the production didn’t suck so hard so he would’ve stuck around.

Next up is Jodi Whittikar. Look she was amazing, she was an incredible and perfect casting choice. I think she embodied the Doctor so wonderfully the writing team simply failed her. I don’t think she was given good stories to work with and I don’t think the writing for her companions was very well done either. Everything that makes the Doctor compelling was absent from the writing in Jodi’s seasons and it was wildly disappointing. We finally had a female Doctor and they really wasted her. I hope they don’t do the same thing to Ncuti.

And in last place comes Peter Capaldi. Now I LOVE Peter Capaldi as the Doctor. I think that he was a perfect casting choice. The problem with his seasons for me was 1. Clara. I hated her as Smith’s companion and she was somehow worse as Capaldi’s. She really acted like she was too good to travel with the Doctor, like traveling through time and space was a wild inconvenience for her and it was so irritating. And 2. Tone. All of the other Doctors had intense storylines but there was also a great amount of goofy, silly energy to offset the darkness. Capaldi’s writing just felt dark, dark, dark all the time with not enough humor to offset it.

I love Doctor Who and I love all the Doctor’s there are just some portrayals I connect with more than others. The writing has definitely gone through some phases but hopefully with Russel T. Davies back it will get itself back on track. They have an amazing Doctor in Ncuti and I think they will do an incredible job.

listtvpop cultureentertainment
Like

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.