Geeks logo

Raine's Seasons in the sun(The Owl House oneshot)

The draining spell is in progress and Raine wants to sing a song to Eda as they feel that their time is drawing near. The story contains and is inspired by the song Seasons in the Sun by Terry Jacks. There is a happy ending.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Eda holding Raine who is being drained by the draining spell (screenshot)

AN

I'm using an existing song, Seasons in the Sun by Terry Jacks as part of the story and it's inspiration.

The ------ separates the song and the rest of the fic.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

------

After pulling off Eda's arm, Raine looked at her lovingly through the pain of the draining spell. "I never stopped loving you Eda," meeting her gaze.

"Well, neither did I," she cried. They smiled softly, physical pain was visible in Raine's eyes as Eda's were full of emotional pain, and longing. The no longer wild witch helped them up into somewhat of a sitting position where they were leaning against her chest, finding it a little awkward missing a hand. Despite that it was definitely worth it. Both of them had been longing for the other's touch for three decades.

"Part of being in the bard coven is learning human songs, you'd be surprised how much sheet music makes its way to the Boiling Aisles, I have a song that I want to sing to you."

"Raine-"

"Please, Eda, Let me sing this for you. You've told me on numerous occasions that you love the sound of my voice" They looked into her tear blurred eyes and started singing.

--------------

Goodbye to you, my trusted friend

We've known each other since we were nine or ten

Together we've climbed hills and trees

Learned of love and ABCs

Skinned our hearts and skinned our knees

Goodbye my friend, it's hard to die

When all the birds are singing in the sky

Now that the spring is in the air

Pretty girls are everywhere

Think of me and I'll be there

---------

"Wait! Raine... is that a-" Eda couldn't finish her sentence as drops of tears fell down her face and onto the bard. They just kept singing

--------

We had joy, we had fun

We had seasons in the sun

But the hills that we climbed

Were just seasons out of time

--------

"No! Raine! You can't I just got you back! I won't let you die!" her words were laced with desperation. They ignored Eda, having excepted their fate, they just smiled and continued the song.

--------

We had joy, we had fun

We had seasons in the sun

But the wine and the song

Like the seasons have all gone

We had joy, we had fun

We had seasons in the sun

But the wine and the song

Like the seasons have all gone

------

"NO! Raine, the seasons are not done! No! I won't let you die! you can't die!" it took a lot of effort but Raine, reached up to put their hand on Eda's cheek and wiped away some of the tears that just kept falling. They continued the song, changing the name in the next verse, knowing that at the exponential rate they were getting weaker, they weren't sure that they'd even be able to finish the song.

-------

Goodbye Eda, my beloved one

You gave me love and helped me find the sun

And every time that I was down

You would always come around

And get my feet back on the ground

Bye Edalyn, it's hard to die

When all the birds are singing in the sky

Now that the spring is in the air

With the flowers everywhere

I wish that we could both be there

---------

"No, you will still be there!" she spoke through the tears, "I won't let you die on me got that Rainstorm!"

-----------

We had joy, we had fun

We had seasons in the sun

But the stars we could reach

Were just starfish on the beach

We had joy, we had fun

We had seasons in the sun

But the stars we could reach

Were just starfish on the beach

------

Raine was running out of energy quickly and struggled to get the song out.

-------

We had joy, we had fun

We had seasons in the sun

But the wine and the song

Like the seasons have all gone

All our lives we had fun

We had seasons in the sun

But the hills tha-

----------

They couldn't finish the song as they slipped out of consciousness.

They opened their eyes, they were still weak, but no longer in excruciating pain, they were in Eda's arms, pulled away from the rest of the coven heads.

"Raine?" Eda whispered, afraid that if she spoke too loud it would break them, tears were still running down her face.

"Yeah, Eda I'm here," they whispered back.

She pulled them closer, I was afraid you wouldn't wake up, that song, you seemed so ready to you know..."

"I knew that I could die, that's why I didn't want you here, I didn't want you to die."

"Well, I didn't want you to die either!" her flash of frustration disappeared as quickly as it came, replaced by a love-sick version of herself. "Raine," her hand was cupping their cheek as they looked into each other's eyes, "you said that you never stopped loving me."

"Breaking up with you and not getting back together with you was the hardest thing I've ever done," they both wanted to look away, but they couldn't unlock their eyes.

"I was a stupid kid, but I'm not a kid anymore, and I never got over you, do you, you know want to give our relationship another go?" she smiled hopefully.

"I'd like that," Raine replied as the distance between their lips closed, as they melted into each other no one that either of them had kissed felt that right.

And then they were brought back to reality by a frantic King running over and calling for Eda.

AN

If you like this story? I have more Owl House one-shots out and more to come. I have and several different series, including one about Raine figuring out their gender, as well as a poetry collection. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc: Click Here

Please, heart, tip, comment, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.