Geeks logo

Quarantine Entertainment: 20 Movies I grew up watching as a 90's kid

Because comedy dramas from the 2000s are lit. These were the years for Amanda Bynes, Hilary Duff & Lindsay Lohan.

By Leilani SalgadoPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Quarantine Entertainment: 20 Movies I grew up watching as a 90's kid
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

1. Agent Cody Banks

Regular high school kid is actually a secret spy. And his love interest? Hillary Duff.

2. Spy Kids

Spy Kids was so popular back in the day, McDonald's even featured Spy Kids themed Happy Meal toys.

3. She's The Man

5 words: Amanda Bynes as a dude.

4. What a Girl Wants

Amanda Bynes yet again, but this time... as a girl! *gasp* Haha jk. Watch for some rom-com, good music and posh London accents!

5. The Lizzie McGuire Movie

I think every girl fell in love with this movie and we secretly wished it was our life when we watched it. Um, a trip to Italy where you become a pop-star and meet a handsome Italian lover? YAS please, where do I sign up!??

Seriously.

A movie so good, it calls for more than one GIF.

Yassss queen!

And who can remember Lizzie's iconic Bitmoji? Way before we all had the chance to create our very own (thanks Snapchat).

😂

6. Cheaper By The Dozen

So many reminiscent memories with this one! If you have siblings, in this family full of 12, you are bound to relate to at least one of them. If you like the movie Grown Ups, you’ll be a fan of this movie. This movie does a good job at showcasing each family member’s personality and how that plays a role in family dynamics and interactions.

7. Bring It On Again

There’s a whole Bring It On series but my favorite is Bring It On Again; that’s the movie I remember watching the most, I think it’s because I actually owned this movie, vs the other editions I would only watch when I was over at a friend's house or if it was being played on TV or something. I was like 8 learning how to be feisty because of this movie! Also, can we reminisce on the song Hit Me with Your Best Shot?

8. Freaky Friday

I watched this movie on repeat with my mom because I was just fascinated by the whole series of events that took place in this movie. Right from the Chinese cookie, to Lindsay Lohan’s “boyfriend” falling for her mom! It was also awesome to see the roles reversed! The film does a great job at showing what life is like when daughter and mom switch roles and gain a new perspective.

9. 10 Things I Hate About You

If you were to ask me about my favorite all time movie it would be this one. Heath Ledger does an awesome job playing Padua High's bad boy and the 10 Things I Hate About You soundtrack even made it onto my YouTube playlist because once you watch it, the catchy songs will be forever stuck in your head and you will find yourself singing them at random moments in time throughout your life going, "what is this?" so yeah, watch it.

10. Clueless

Clueless is another classic just like 10 Things, it's another old school film about high school life, so if you appreciate girly, sassy, and sarcastic personalities, you'll enjoy this one!

An accurate representation of me getting an unwanted DM.

An accurate representation of me after they double text.

11. Return to Halloween Town

Well would you look at that... a movie that you actually make a point to re-watch because of how entertaining and unique it is! Okay this Disney movie seriously impressed me as a child, I'm gonna leave you with this old ass trailer that used to appear on Disney Channel back in 2006 and if stuff like this doesn't get you pumped, I don't know what will.

12. Aquamarine

A movie about befriending a real life mermaid!!! Honestly if you're having a virtual girls night, just pop in Aquamarine for one of the best nights of your life!! You're welcome. 😊

13. Enough

JLo is fierce in this one!!! From mistreated and submissive, to claiming & channeling your strong feminine power through boxing and a new 'tude, you'll love this movie about rising and not letting others control, manipulate or disrespect you, as ALL queens should be treated!!!

14. Mr. & Mrs. Smith

This movie is just hella hot in general so if you want to feel as hot as the people in this movie, watch this movie.

15. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

One of my favorite quotes from this movie is and forever will be, "this moment will just be another story someday". Ever since I heard this quote, it has lived on in my way of thinking because of its reminder to enjoy the little joys of everyday life because they will just be memories later on, only accessible through our minds and the feelings they brought us when we experienced them.

16. Nim's Island

Nim's Island is pretty much an accurate representation of how the world is currently feeling during the COVID-19 pandemic: isolated. But I think what I loved most about this movie is the intriguing thought that there are actual people out there who live a lifestyle like Nim, on an island alone or with a very small community. As a city girl, this type of lifestyle rings wild and only makes me want to learn about it more, Nim's Island gives you a little taste of that.

17. The Iron Giant

This movie screams, "take me back to Leilani's childhood days!!". Seriously guys, The Iron Giant? This movie goes hand in hand with the horse movie Spirit. 😭 I never thought I could develop feelings for a robot, but The Iron Giant and Wall-E are the exception.

18. Mean Girls

"Get in loser, we're going shopping!" If you are clueless on Mean Girls references you are officially lame. Kidding! Although... you could just watch the movie and be fetch like the rest of us. Or re-watch it, because who can get enough of the "she doesn't even go here" scene?

19. The Parent Trap

We couldn't get enough of Lindsay Lohan in the 2000's now could we?

20. School of Rock

Because Miranda Cosgrove was more than just iCarly.

list
Like

About the Creator

Leilani Salgado

♡ Insta: @j_leilaa Find my work here: https://www.wayofvida.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.