Geeks logo

Parks and Rec Has The Best TV Characters In History and Here's Why

Grab yourself a waffle for this read

By Corinne JenkinsPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
7

Yes, I've watched Seinfeld, The Office, 30 Rock and How I Met Your Mother; yes, I have also watched New Girl, The Good Place, Community and Brooklyn 99, but I am making the heavily-researched & controversial statement that Parks and Recreation has the best characters in TV history. (It's not really going to be that heavily-researched).

Author's Note: After listing all of the other TV shows above, I realized those are all soooo good too, with the most amazing characters. (I think the Author may be biased).

Now, the list below is kind of in chronological order of my favorites, but keep in mind that I love all of these characters differently BUT equally. So, you may feel huffy because:

  1. You disagree with my title & overall theme of this story and/or
  2. You don't like the order of the characters listed below, to which I say go grab some food you sound hangry, perhaps some apps & 'serts?

So enjoy the list below, and yes it will be filled with GIFs just like 90% of my other stories.

1. Leslie Knope

I think in the professional world, you want someone like the Queen, Leslie Knope, as your boss or coworker. She is so uplifting and happy to be where she is, which feels inspiring.

Leslie's arc begins with her as a cringe-y, awkward, however hard-working individual who truly grows into herself. You watch her confidence blossom throughout the series and see how she deals with her career alongside the love of her life, sweet Ben.

K to the N to the O-P-E, she's the coolest chick in all of Pawnee, Indiana.

All women should be influenced by Leslie Knope. Her determination alone is something I aspire for every single day. She is a great friend and someone you'd always want in your corner. She is the best TV character of all time because she gives everything 7,000% and who can argue with that?

2. Donna Meagle

Donna is doing Donna. She is the wild card. How could I not want to emulate that?

Donna's arc follows her through a life of pure independence and absolute fabulosity (holy crap, wait - fabulosity is a word??). She ends up with the yin to her yang by the end of it and I honestly couldn't be happier.

Donna couldn't care less about the small stuff, does what she wants to do, and is her most authentic self ALWAYS. But, who is she really?? She has so many moments where she reveals something about herself that nobody saw coming.

I hope to treat myself the way Donna Meagle treats herself.

3. April Ludgate

She hates everything and I really love that. Because same? Not really, but kinda.

April's arc begins as one April Ludgate: intern and sarcasm-aficionado and she turns into April and Andy (#5) by the end of it. I can't think of one without the other and many will argue that all of the best episodes are the ones after April & Andy are finally together.

I wish to not care what others think, just like April. She is the best at being scary and being true to herself.

Favorite line of hers: I'm just gonna go live under a bridge and ask people riddles before they cross.

April kind of wins at life, I mean - she finds the love of her life, gets to work with Leslie Knope as a boss and has the cutest 3-legged dog named Champion. I do wish she was nicer to Ann sometimes, though.

4. Ron Swanson

The man, the myth, the legend: Ron freaking Swanson.

Ron progresses into a meat-eating machine that has the best scenes throughout the series. He hates government, vegetables, and many people. He's always so good to Leslie, though, which warms my heart as we watch their friendship go through so much (especially in the last season).

Like Donna, Ron is set in his ways. And don't you dare try to change that. Also a turkey leg wrapped in bacon is named after him, so that's pretty cool.

Fun Fact: Ron Swanson is based on a real-life person who worked in government. (My boyfriend told me that, I have no idea if that's true. Again, very little research being done here).

5. Andy Dwyer

Oh sweet Andy, sweet sweet Andy. He truly grows on you after the first season, and he may be dumb - but he is kind.

Andy is a lovable idiot who has the funniest moments through this show's history. He is so sweet with April and honestly they are the perfect match.

He just is the dumbest, sweetest character there ever was.

6. Ann Perkins

Ann is a badass nurse and discovers who she is throughout the series. She may have the best story arc in terms of true growth in self-assuredness.

She is the best gal pal to Leslie, and she works on herself to become who she wants to be. I love Ann because she is so loyal and strong, plus the only person who could compete with Leslie for being the best friend ever.

7. Chris Traeger

I aspire for this level of positivity and sheer will. Sometimes I feel like I am Chris Traeger because I always want people to know when they've done a great job, plus I say literally like literally all of the time.

Probably the best match for an actor - fit to the most perfect character of all time. Literally.

8. Ben Wyatt

He really is Leslie's soulmate. You watch Ben go from a jerk to the nerdiest, cutest, and most-perfect match for her.

He has some of the funniest lines and reactions. He's the biggest dork ever and he is my spirit animal. Plus he's the creator of the game: The Cones of Dunshire. Side note: this is actually a game you can buy (so, okay, a little research was done here! *pats self on back*).

9. Jean Ralphio

Someone who has some of my favorite scenes throughout the entire series. He may be a 'side character' but he stole every single scene he was in. His arc is more of a straight line because he stays practically the same from start to finish.

I love him SO much.

10. Tom Haverford

In a lot of ways, Tom is also just a little pupppyyyyy (<- quote from the show, if you didn't know).

I vibe with the fact that he always walks on a red carpet by lining all of his shoes with red carpet. Plus he's a part of the best tradition of all time: Treat Yo Self.

11. Jerry Gergich

He will always be Jerry to me.

Jerry is the worst but he's the best because he's the worst. We honestly find out throughout the show that he has the best life and he's a lovable klutz.

Jerry Larry Gengurch Terry Garry Gergrench Garry Girgich Barry the Mailman

Other Amazing Characters

Mona Lisa Saperstein

She is absolutely insane. She and Jean Ralphio should've gotten their own spinoff based on this clip below:

Craig

I relate to Craig honestly.

Everyone wants to be a Leslie but honestly my anxiety is so insane sometimes that I may actually be Craig in real life.

My Favorite Side Characters:

Tammy 2 (she is actually married to Ron Swanson IRL)

-

Bobby Newport - (in Ben's Campaign Manager voice)

-

Jen Barkley

Honorable Mentions:

  • Leslie's Mom
  • Mark Brendanawitz, also known as: Mark BrendanaQUITS
  • Shauna Malwae-Tweep
  • Lucy
  • Perd - he's actually a weather man IRL
  • Carl Lorthner
  • Tammy 1

And finally, one of my favorite scenes from Parks and Recreation:

💕, Corinne

tv
7

About the Creator

Corinne Jenkins

🌻 Likes:

  • Nice people
  • All dogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ~ Remy2 years ago

    Love all the GIFs!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.