Geeks logo

Pain in Written Beauty

The Side leaving poems for Logan is suffering

By Monique StarPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Virgil knew that what he was doing would get him nowhere, but it was a habit that he couldn't cease so easily. He was already fond of poetry, but it wasn't until Roman pestered him that he proceeded to write poetry for his love. Unfortunately, from what Virgil had witnessed, his love thought Roman was the lovestruck wordsmith. Not only that, judging by Virgil's constant gagging, his love didn't seem to provide the emotional outcome he was hoping for.

Why did he have to fall in love with someone who treats emotions like a disease and the roles of his dynamic duo half like they're unnecessary? Virgil never asked for the strong feelings for the Side he snapped at for disappearing on them when the going went tough and he certainly didn't ask for the bad feelings at the pit of his stomach to blossom into something potentially fatal. It hurt every time Virgil wrote the poems for Logan since he already knew what was going to happen once he slid the poem under the nerd's door.

The most recent poem Virgil snuck Logan's way contributed the most to his pessimism and sickness. Not long after sliding it under the door, he sat on the kitchen table pretending to be listening to an audio book and saw Logan walk out his room with the poem in his hands. He knew Logan was smart and hoped that maybe Roman said something after the last several poems to imply he wasn't the bard he was looking for. However, Logan turned into the direction of Roman's room and shouted "Roman! Will you stop trying?" which led to Virgil anticipating the worst and teleporting to his room to drown in tears, flower petals, and blood.

The emo's hands had been itching to write, but his stomach, heart and head had been begging for him to just take Logan's advice and stop trying. A lot more blood and flower petals left his system and it made him certain that whatever he wrote would be the last thing he could write. Before he proceeded with his final piece, he hoped that his next incarnation would be better for his family and Thomas.

Logan was reading in his room and occasionally glanced at his door. Ever since the first poem slipped his way, he speculated that Roman was responsible for writing that one and the many others that followed. He liked reading them, but he didn't like the thought of Roman writing them for him if it meant he had Obsessive Love Disorder or anything wrong with his mind that didn't equal genuine feelings. Not only that, but Roman wasn't someone he saw more than platonically. No matter how many times he confronted the prince about the poems, he couldn't bring himself to believe Roman wasn't involved. After the most recent poem, Roman suggested that they make a bet that would include making Logan's bedroom door see-through from the inside only. If Logan saw Roman leave the next piece under his door, the nerd would win and Roman would have to sit through Titanic, Romeo and Juliet and Othello. If Logan saw that someone else was the wordsmith, then Roman would win and Logan would have to deal with Remus intruding his mind and reminding him that Hemingway disapproved of big words and Einstein preferred imagination.

After several minutes passed, he saw the toe of a black shoe he initially thought was Roman's shoe until he saw a familiar emo wearing purple and black. He noticed Virgil had a piece of paper in his hands and a somber expression on his face that was paler than usual. He bent down and slid the paper under Logan's door. As he was standing back up, Virgil coughed up bloody flower petals and ran back towards his room. Logan was concerned and wanted to go after Virgil, but he picked up the paper from the bottom of his door since he thought the emo wouldn't have brought it over while sick if he didn't want him to read it. Logan read the piece of paper and wished he received it sooner.

Dear Logan,

I took your advice and stopped trying with the poems. If you're not going to love me, I hope you'll at least be proud of me. I'm sorry my poems didn't meet your standards, but ever since I asked Princey for advice, he suggested poetry and, I guess you could say I felt inspired. I knew I should've stopped trying to win your heart when the first batch of petals drew blood, but I couldn't stop trying and, dare I say, hoping. I don't know what the next incarnation of Anxiety will be like, but I hope he treats you with as much respect as someone who is so smart, passionate, bold, and inspiring deserves to be treated. I love you, Logan, and I'm sorry I could never be whom you'd want.

Love,

Virgil

Logan knew he didn't have enough time to think the situation over, so he just ran to the room of the storm cloud and saw him on his Tim Burton-style bedsheets weakly coughing up more bloody flower petals. He knew he didn't want to lose Virgil and it wouldn't be the same if another incarnation was formed. He rushed to Virgil's side and felt his weak pulse.

"No, Virgil! Please! Please don't go!" he begged before placing his lips on the emo's blood-sprinkled lips.

Logan started to pull away until he felt warming hands pull him back and warming lips kiss his own. After successfully pulling back he noticed a little bit of color was restored to Virgil's figure.

"Virgil! You're regaining health!" Logan remarked.

"You... you love me?" Virgil asked while stunned.

"If it means that the idea of you being gone from my life felt like absolute torture, then I suppose I do love you," Logan answered.

Logan helped Virgil sit up and they sat close enough that two more centimeters would put Virgil on Logan's lap.

"I guess you saw my message?"

"Yes, I did. I'm truly sorry for not turning to you sooner. I had a feeling Roman was involved, but it still lingered even when he said he didn't write the poems."

"Umm, do you still want me to stop trying?"

"No! Of course not! I only shouted that to Roman because I thought he was trying to win me over. If I knew sooner that they were from you, I would've expressed how I felt sooner."

Virgil rested his head on Logan's shoulder and the nerd gently stroked the emo's hair. Logan saw the petals around the room and took them as reminders of one of the few mistakes he made. Immediately, his eyes widened as he remembered something.

"I guess since Roman's not the wordsmith, I have to fulfill my end of the deal."

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Monique Star

I'm not the most sophisticated adult out there. I'm also not the best at communicating all the time, but I do try my best to get my thoughts out there into the world verbally or nonverbally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.