Geeks logo

Out with the old: in with the new. The new era of TV is here.

Streaming has never been easier with so many apps and titles to choose from.

By Dianiri PaulinoPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Out with the old: in with the new. The new era of TV is here.
Photo by Mollie Sivaram on Unsplash

I feel that Netflix has revolutionized the industry with fresh and unique content. It has brought a wave of international shows that we wouldn't have previously had access to. Through Netflix, I feel I have become someone multicultural capable of appreciating the stories of other countries.

I have laughed, cried, and identified with characters whom I thought I had nothing in common. Being exposed to varied content has helped me become more human. In this new era of diversity, I have been able to appreciate the similarities and differences that we all share regardless of where we come from, what language we speak, or what culture we live in.

Thanks to the huge selection available on Netflix, I can watch shows not only in the United States of America but also in Europe and Asia. My new obsession has been to watch shows that come from Asia such as those from China, Taiwan, and South Korea.

By Sava Bobov on Unsplash

It stunned me how easily I found the kind of TV shows I wanted to watch when I went on a binge-watching binge with these Asian shows on Netflix and other platforms. When I discovered they had everything I enjoyed I began looking everywhere for them. It's not just that I am just a hopeless romantic, I also love action, suspense, comedies, and a dash of drama. Therefore, when I realized most shows and movies lacked some of these elements, I started looking elsewhere. That’s when I found it! The type of stories I was looking forward to seeing.

It has all of the Genres I enjoy in one, but I find that the Asian Dramas, especially Korean Dramas (K-Dramas) teach you important lessons you cannot ignore and get deep down in your heart. Let me give you an example...

BOYS OVER FLOWERS

There's a lot to learn from this K-drama. Below are some examples:

1-Don't be ashamed of what your Background is: Even if you are poor or rich. It does not define your identity and you should not be ashamed of yourself. Stand up for yourself. Do not conform and do not attempt to fit in with the crowd. Act as a leader, not a follower.

2-Bullying is just not ok: You should treat others the same way you would like to be treated. You should tolerate no form of violence. Hit back and talk harder.

3-Rich people can also have problems: having lots of money does not mean you are stress-free or don’t have any problems at all. Sometimes those who have money can struggle more than those who have less.

These are some of the things I've learned, but I'm sure there are a lot more. If you haven't seen this one, I recommend you give it a try, you would absolutely adore it.

If you are looking for something new to look at and would like something with more action involved. Then you should certainly check out the latest Netflix K-Drama: SISYPHUS: THE MYTH.

Synopsys: As Han Tae-Sul tries to discover the truth of what happened to his brother, a strange woman, from the future enters his life, and everything changes.

If you loved The Terminator Franchise, you would definitely love this one. The Terminator vibes are everywhere. This TV show is currently available for streaming on Netflix and new episodes come each Wednesday and Thursday. I hope that as you start looking into your TV for what you need to watch, you can include it in your list. Happy Streaming!

tv
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.