Geeks logo

Oscar Nominations

Hopes and Dreams

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

We are going to do a couple of separate articles in the next couple of days, this one is going to be my personal wants for Oscar nominations. We will then do a separate article for what I think will actually happen in the upcoming Oscar nominations. And then of course we will cover the actual nominations. But here and now we are focusing on what movies I would like to be nominated in each of the important categories.

Best Feature

Obviously we are starting with the biggest category, I would like to preface this with I think very few of the things on my entire list are going to get the recognition that they deserve and if we are honest we all know the reasons why. However this is my very small way of giving these films the credit they deserve so hopefully the 3-30 people that actually read this might see a movie that I think deserves the world and actually take the time to watch it. That would be enough for me, give these projects your time and attention because they deserve it.

Starting with the obvious, we have Barbie. Barbie was the highest grossing movie of the year and to not nominate it would be an obviously sexist move by the academy and I will never stop ranting about it if they stiff this film. Oppenheimer; another obvious choice but a rightful one. Chevalier; I really hope the beautiful visuals and incredible performances in this movie are not overlooked. Asteroid City; For the third act alone honestly, it was so beautifully crafted and the message was incredible. Godzilla Minus One; Seriously one of the best movies of the year. I know it won’t get the recognition it deserves but please please go see this movie. The Color Purple; Also won’t get the recognition it deserves but it is phenomenal and such a beautiful adaptation of the stage show. And finally The Iron Claw; Flawless, Zac Efron has so much more range and depth in this movie then he has ever shown before and it's incredible.

Best Animated Movie

Nimona; I really shouldn’t have to explain this one. Nimona had my heart the entire time, every moment of that film was perfect. Across the Spiderverse; also self explanatory I think it would be cool if the sequel won as well as Into the Spiderverse took this one home. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles; I feel like we aren’t talking about how incredible this movie was enough. This is the first time we’ve gotten a good TMNT movie and this one was more than good. It was phenomenal. The Boy and the Heron; Now Miyazaki isn’t gonna show up but it still deserves to be nominated.

Adapted Screenplay

This category is actually going to be really tough if any of these films get nominated they will absolutely deserve the win. Nimona, Oppenheimer, Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, Are You There God? It's Me Margaret, The Color Purple

Best Direction

Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer), Greta Gerwig (Barbie), Takashi Yamazika (Godzilla Minus One), Blitz Bazwule (The Color Purple), Yorgos Lanthimos (Poor Things), Sofia Coppola (Pricilla)

Supporting Actor

Robert Downey Jr.

Supporting Actress

Rachel McAdams, Emily Blunt, America Ferrera, Danielle Brooks, Taraji P. Henson

Original Screenplay

I am aware that the academy has forced Barbie into the adapted screenplay category but that's bullshit and a fundamentally wrong decision so for the purposes of this list I am ignoring it. Godzilla Minus One, The Iron Claw (this one could actually potentially be considered adapted because life rights exist but I don’t really know the details of how that would work).

Production Design

Barbie, Asteroid City, Poor Things

Best Actress

Margot Robbie, Rachel Ziegler, Fantasia, Emma Stone

Best Actor

Cillian Murphy, Kelvin Harris Jr. , Kamiki Ryunosuke, Zac Efron

Original Song

The Old Therebefore - Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, She Be Mine, Keep it Movin, Workin, Superpower - Literally anything from The Color Purple. If The Color Purple doesn’t win this category, I riot.

Overall I know that the real nominations will look next to nothing like my hopes and dreams here. But the academy wasn’t still a bunch of pretentious old white guys; this is exactly how the nominations would look. I am right and the academy is wrong but here we are.

pop culturemovielistindustryentertainment
Like

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Solid predictions. I’d be happy if Paul Giamatti is nominated as best actor for Holdovers. I also cannot see how The Color Purple and Past Lives are bypassed in at least some nominations.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.