Geeks logo

Oscar Nominations

Predictions

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
1

Okay so we have been over what I would like to happen as these Oscar nominations are announced. But now we have decided to go a more realistic route. This is my list for what I think the academy is actually going to nominate. Now I may not round out every category but this is a general idea of the movies that the academy will highlight (whether deserved or not).

Best Feature

Starting with the big one, there were lots of actual great films this year but I feel like I’ve got a good handle on what the academy likes. So here we go.

Oppenheimer; This is obvious and quite frankly it deserves to be here, Napoleon; doesn’t at all deserve the nomination but it is such a handpicked for the academy kind of movie that I unfortunately can not see a world where it doesn’t pull the nomination, Asteroid City; Deserves the nomination based on what I think the academy will do and Wes Anderson has enough name recognition to get the nomination, Maestro; absolutely does not deserve the nomination but this year feels like it's going to be a very by white guys, for white guys kind of award season. And last but not least, Killers of the Flower Moon; Martin Scorsese will pull out yet another nomination joining a group of some good and some mediocre film makers.

Animated Film

Moving on to a category that deserves far more reverence and recognition then it gets. There were a lot of awesome animated movies this year and I just know in my heart that they are going to get overlooked.

Across the Spiderverse; I mean obviously and it should also win but that's only based on the current vibes I am getting from the academy. Wish; deserves nothing but Disney has money so we all know how this is going to turn out. Elemental, good movie but not quite good enough for an Oscar nomination. Super Mario Bros.; I think the box office was too big for the academy to ignore but I do not think that it deserves the recognition that it's going to get.

Lead Actress

Margot Robbie; Look my girl should have gotten a nomination for Babylon last year and she didn’t and I’m still mad about it. If she doesn’t get one for Barbie I will be writing personal letters to every voting member of the academy. Emma Stone; She gave a seriously complex and wonderful performance in Poor Things and deserves a nomination and honestly the win.

Lead Actor

Cillian Murphy; Perfect casting and such an amazing portrayal of a complicated man and situation. Joaquin Phoenix; He was aggressively mediocre. Bradley Cooper; Was fine, movie was not.

Director

Ridley Scott; Doesn’t deserve nothing. Christopher Nolan; obvious but correct. Wes Anderson; Name recognition will get this, not necessarily earned. Scorsese; rightful nomination, doesn’t deserve to win though.

Supporting Actress

Emily Blunt

Supporting Actor

Ryan Gosling, Robert Downey Jr.,

Song

Wish; No, Songbirds and Snakes; Absolutely, The Color Purple; Obviously, Wonka; No, Barbie; As long as it's not Ken’s song then sure.

Production Design

Barbie, Asteroid City, Poor Things; All three movies had insane and incredible production design. I would be happy with any win of these three nominations.

This is a much more realistic list of what the real Oscar nominations might look like. It's rather homogeneous, disappointing and quite frankly, boring but so is the academy sooo. Nominations will officially be released on the 23rd at which time I will be saying I told you so as I cover who got nominated, snubbed and who I think will be taking home the awards.

listpop culturemovieentertainment
1

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.