Geeks logo

Oscar Fashion Review 2018

The Good, the Bad and the Flawless

By Katelynd VermeerPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

Here we go again, my favourite TV night of the year happened last night. I know, I know, it sounds cliché but I am definitely one of those people who wants to host extremely over the top Oscar parties at their house one day.

Movies mean so much to me. In a world of some pretty horrible, sad, and weird crap going on in the news, I have been treasuring the world of Hollywood more and more. Heading into a movie theater on a Saturday night is so utterly perfect to me. I can spend time with the people I love, and I can immerse myself in a whole other world for just a few hours and forget all of my troubles. I will forever be the world's biggest supporter of seeing movies in the theater, and spending my hard-earned money to support the actors, directors, and producers that make it possible. Anyway! Back to the topic of this article, fashion. On top of loving movies, I love the fashion that those actors and actresses bring to the Red Carpet on this ever so famous fashion night. So here we go, my picks for best, worst, and everything in between!

Jennifer Lawrence

My queen, my love, walked in (almost late, in true J Law fashion) in this full sequin dress, not her most lovely dress but, as she is my favorite person of all time and my spirit animal, I still have to give her a win on this one. She looks like a full-on female gladiator on the bottom and that harsh brown smokey eye and full head of curls on the top makes her look like a sexy lioness. Obsessed.

Taraji P. Henson

GUUURLLLLLL, just wow. This Vera Wang gown looks like it was made just for Taraji. Sexy, elegant, classy, is there nothing that this dress doesn't have?! Minimal jewelry and a natural makeup look makes the dress the centerpiece of the look, as it deserves to be. No one last night looked as effortlessly beautiful as Taraji. #1 choice, best dressed, hands down.

Jane Fonda

Jane Fonda walked out looking like the picture of grace in this statuesque all white number. Extremely fitted, it shows how this woman just does not age, her body is still killing it under that dress. The neck line is by far my favorite part, accentuating her bust and collarbone she is blindingly beautiful.

Mary J. Blige

This off the shoulder number looks great on Mary J. Blige, another white gown (which seemed to be a recurring theme, along with nudes) with crystals on the bodice. Although I can't help but be drawn to the waistline, with that faux belt hanging down, I don't love it, I almost wish it was straight across. But other than that, she killed it, and her performance of her Oscar nominated song was just as beautiful.

Chadwick Boseman

King T'Challa kills it in true Wakandan fashion. Although of course, Chadwick is not the actual king of the fictional country of Wakanda from the extremely popular Black Panther, it seems he chose a very fitting outfit. He is the epitome of men's fashion right now. The long jacket with detailed shoulders, the zipper on his shoes, and the chunky jewelry. He gets best dressed male actor by far!

Rita Moreno

Rita Moreno was wearing the exact dress from 1962 that she wore when she won her Oscar! How nostalgic, the show itself seemed to follow suit with some very touching short videos of movies of the last 90 years. I think this dress is insanely beautiful and Rita looks just as stunning as she did over 50 years ago. This just goes to show that fashion is not decided by time or generations, it is fluid and moves through time with grace and beauty.

Allison Janney

Now this is a dress made for the Oscars. Allison kills it in a classic red dress with sleeves that go on for days and a neckline that does the same. Nothing else needs to be said, just gorgeous.

Tiffany Haddish

Tiffany Haddish arrived in a traditional Eritrean princess gown. In honor of her father who passed away this past year, he wanted her to be proud of her culture and heritage, and she looked like a true African Princess. The shawl is personally my favorite part, and I am living for all of the African-inspired outfits on the Red Carpet this year!

Margot Robbie

Margot looks amazing in (another) white dress. With her being nominated for playing famous figure skater Tonya Harding in I, Tonya, this dress seems very reminiscent of a figure skater from the 80s in the most subtle and beautiful way. Chanel hit home with this one.

Gal Gadot

Expensive. The word that came to mind when I saw this dress and that necklace, wow. Another full sequin gown, like J Law, but that necklace just brings it to another level. She looks like a true Wonder Woman. I don't even know what else to say... expensive.

Nicole Kidman

I mean... When does Nicole Kidman NOT look like an ethereal goddess, but it was taken to the max last night in this super sweetheart neckline. That shiny blue and massive bow on the front make her look like the most perfect porcelain doll, and that red lip?! PLEASE. She can do no wrong.

Lupita Nyong'o

YOU GOLD GIRL. Wow the cast of Black Panther have COME THROUGH. She looks like she should be reigning over that small country in Africa. With a traditional Rwandan hairstyle, she looks like a true princess to match King T'Challa (Chadwick Boseman) who plays her love interest in the film.

Zendaya

I hate to say it but Zendaya wore a curtain to the Oscars. Although I love the colour, I think she has had SO many better dresses in the past. I am always excited to see her and she is always very bold, but I hate to say that I think this dress was a flop, especially compared to some of the other stunners on the runway this year.

So there you have it folks, my thoughts on this year's Oscar fashion! I was very impressed and I had a hard time picking my favorites because everyone did such an amazing job.

Although some people may think that fashion is not important, I think that this year's Red Carpet really showed that, in times like these, people like Lupita Nyong'o and Tiffany Haddish made statements with their cultural fashion choices. And many women and men were adorned with "TIMES UP" pins in support of a movement that is of the utmost importance in today's society, so I think that fashion is extremely important and a way for people to express themselves in a safe and very visual way.

Until next year.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Katelynd Vermeer

My mom says that I talk too much.. So I decided to write it all down.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.