Geeks logo

Oscar and the Jet-Ski

All the Juicy Deets from Hollywood's Biggest Night

By Katelynd VermeerPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

Jimmy Kimmel's opening was amazing, reminiscent of the black and white movies, it highlighted the 90th year of the Oscars ceremony perfectly I think. His jokes were highly political (as we all expected in this political climate) and they hit home every time. First, he made it a point to bring up Harvey Weinstein and his expulsion from the academy. Focal point on the Time's Up movement. Second, the Mark Wahlberg and Michelle Williams story, touches on equal pay and how we as a society have a long way to come. If you don't know, Mark Wahlberg was paid 1.5 million to reshoot some scenes and Michelle Williams was paid $80 per diem (a day). Although Mark donated all of his $1.5 million to the Time's Up legal fund, it still puts a huge magnifying glass on the sad truth of equal pay. Although he also makes a point to talk about positive change. Black Panther and Wonder Woman, movies with a black lead and a female lead are some of the highest grossing movies of last year, these are movies that are making history, albeit way later then they should be. And of course Jordan Peele, with his nominations for Best Picture, Best Director and Best Screenplay all on his very first movie, Get Out. That makes him only the third person in 90 years to be nominated in all three categories at once. The most well played out pun I think was the jet-ski. Jimmy touched on the ever extending time of the Oscars, and how the very first Oscars 90 years ago was only 15 minutes long, and in past years it has become a four or five hour lengthy show. His remedy for this was hilarious. Why not time each winner's speech and give the person who had the shortest speech time an $18,000 Kawasaki Jet-ski. The joke landed and his plan worked! Many of the Oscar recipients ran up to the stage and Sam Rockwell who won Best Supporting Actor put down his Oscar and yelled "Start the clock Jimmy! I want that Jet-ski!" and kept his speech very short and sweet.

Frances Mcdormand's speech for winning Best Actress in a Leading Role was kooky, fun, and important. To finish it off she asked if every female nominated for an award would stand, and look around. They all did and it was a glorious sight to see. She encouraged executives to go invite them to their offices and hear what they had to say. I think it was a great way to really take in the progress, however small, that the academy made over the last year with its inclusion and addition of more female and black members. She left us all with two words "inclusion rider," which I'm sure sparked a million Google searches for what and inclusion rider is. It is a clause added to a contract when making a movie that provide requirements for gender and racial diversity in films. What a great two words to leave us with in this political climate.

I suppose in contrast I must talk about Gary Oldman's win for Best Actor as well. I am sad for many reasons, sad that Gary Oldman was accused of hitting his ex-wife in front of their children in 2001, because that is obviously horrible and I don't care who you are or how bad your marriage is, that is unacceptable, and because I hate to see people that I love in film prove me wrong as bad people in their personal lives. Sad because I absolutely loved his portrayal of one of my all time favorite historical figures, Winston Churchill, and I think he really deserved that Oscar...but he also hit his wife. Sad because I wish I could be really proud of him for winning an Oscar for such an iconic role, but all I can think about is his treatment of his ex-wife. I feel like I want to say that I love Gary as an actor, I have been watching him my entire life and he has portrayed one of my all time favorite literary characters on screen (Sirius Black) but obviously, people's actions in the real world must affect how we see them on screen. Even if the performance was a once in a lifetime great. Hollywood still has a long way to come.

But I'll leave my talk about speeches on a high note. Best Picture Winner Shape of Water Director Guillermo Del Toro's speech. Another hard hitting speech that reflects today's political climate, whether he meant it to or not. He spoke of a young Guillermo in Mexico, watching films and dreaming of his place in Hollywood and how he never thought that he would make it this far. He encouraged young people from every country in the world to make movies and follow their dreams, because "Hollywood is a door, kick it down and come on in." I think that was a great way to end the night, truly.

The honest to goodness highlight of this years 90th Oscars for me was the highlights of movies from the past. 100 percent. Movies are why we all sit in front of the screen once a year and watch our heroes get awards for acting in, creating, writing, and all of the above. Movies are my favorite things. Every time I get a few minutes I throw on a movie, whether I have seen it before or not. I am just absolutely in love with immersing myself in another world. Feeling someone else's feelings, looking at the world in a different way, and transporting myself to a place that only exists in the minds of the creators of the film.

I have such a great love and respect for these people I have never met, because they, sometimes more than everyday life, can evoke emotions in me that I sometimes never knew I had. It makes me beyond happy that people in my favorite industry are coming together to combat some of the injustices that so many people face in society, not only in Hollywood. I am glad that there have been some changes this year, and I am even more interested in the changes that are to come.

Until next year.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Katelynd Vermeer

My mom says that I talk too much.. So I decided to write it all down.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.