Geeks logo

One of my Favorite Movies!

The Dark Knight Series

By Jen EllisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Let’s talk about my favorite adaptation of Batman and it’s multilayered villains:

The Dark Knight series 🖤 🦇

Christopher Nolan’s vision for this icon, The Dark Knight. The caped crusader has endured many interpretations since the iconic Batman premiered in May of 1939. 🦇 along with the addition that I personally feel is most notably on its level - Todd Phillips: Joker 🃏

I’d be hard pressed to choose a favorite of the 3 films, I feel they all have their purpose and bring greatness that is necessary to the entirety of the trilogy 🖤 So, I won’t pick a favorite - But, I’ll tell you a few of my favorite things about this legendary vision of one our favorite heroes 😉

I personally find Christian Bale to be THE representative of Batman, he IS The Dark Knight. Although some people disagree with that, but, tell me why? Is it just because you read somewhere his method of acting pushes the limit? Did you not care for his acting? Tell me why!

In my opinion he earned the role with his unique style and he immersed himself in the role and brought more depth and feeling to Bruce Wayne, as well as Waynes’ alter ego - than any other actor to put on the cape! Christian Bale made me understand the character more and believe it like I’d always wanted to! And to me that earns him the top spot in the legacy of the Batman 🦇

Heath Ledgers LEGENDARY performance as Joker, is a performance I could talk about until I’m 80 and ready to die - he also brought more to the role than ANYONE ever had before him! The lunacy, chaos and pain that BELONG to the Joker - completely came across screen through Ledgers performance 100% 🖤💜 when he DEMANDS attention “LOOK AT ME!” It insights terror in the viewer with no other choice but to stand at attention to the order. His performance is just simply -Perfection 👌

I honestly cannot even begin to describe how much I LOVED Tom Hardy as Bane! One of my favorite villain performances of all time! Without the benefit of using most of his face to give us emotional reactions at the appropriate times, Hardy GAVE it to us, regardless of a mask! During one of the final scenes of The Dark Knight Rises, When Talia tells our Dark Knight who Bane really is - and who SHE really is - and what Bane means to her - TELL ME that wasn’t powerful and moving, BECAUSE of Tom Hardy! I felt empathy for the antagonist with only a look from his eyes!

I will ALWAYS yearn for more of Nolan’s DK vision - but, I think how he left us was PERFECT 👌

Now fast forward a few years, and on to Todd Phillips Joker 🃏 💜💚🖤 And Joaquin Phoenix y’all 🃏💚💜🖤 WOW 🤩 just WOWWWWW!! If you haven’t seen it, you are TRULY missing out! I initially skipped this film at the box office, but my son told me I HAD to see it so I watched on cable one night and am glad I did! It takes you out of your own view and completely into the formation of a madman. You understand it. You feel it. You LOVE IT! It’s AMAZING! I never thought I’d see someone else takeover that role and do it so much justice since Heath Ledger - but Joaquin Phoenix made me a true believer and I’m grateful for it! It’s THAT good y’all!

Well I’ve told ya my opinions - I’m a lifelong comic/horror/Star Wars/heroes and villains lover, and love to debate with my fellow consortium of the same loves - so talk to me about all things DK 🦇🖤👇👇👇🖤

Hit me up on Facebook at Hey Jen Whatcha Watchin’!?

https://www.facebook.com/whatwouldjenwatch/

movie
Like

About the Creator

Jen Ellis

Single mother of two sons, 13 & 20. Passionate about prison reform and social justice issues. I’ve lived many lifetimes in my 42 years and I love to share my experiences with others and hear their stories as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.