Geeks logo

Official Disney Animated Canon Ranking

All 60 Disney Films Ranked from Worst to Greatest

By Gabriele Del BussoPublished 2 years ago 47 min read
Like

When I was eighteen years old, at an age during which I firmly believed I could accomplish anything I set my mind to, I assembled a handful of classmates in the hopes of creating our very own short animated feature film. I had a storyboard going while the others (all excellent animators) were perfecting their craft, but for some odd reason, the project never came to be. I cannot recall why to be frank, but during that month of intense planning, I vowed to take inspiration from Disney films in an effort to determine from where stemmed the magic of the all-time great animated movies. As I was watching them, a personal ranking took place to help me with my storyboard, and although my project never did see the light of day, I've been updating my ranking every time a new Disney film gets released because why the hell not? The list had been made, and I already came so far.

Some decide to rank films based on originality (in which case Snow White & the Seven Dwarfs always tops these) while others tend to rank films based on storyline (in which case Beauty & the Beast usually tops these). Some will even go so far as ranking films based on pure nostalgia (am thinking of The Lion King and Frozen). Presented here is my order of the best Disney films in terms of pure artistry, those that left me awe in wonder over every last one of their details upon revisiting them, those that would undoubtedly make me feel the highest of emotions if I were to see them alone on the big screen in a dark silent cinema for the very first time today. I am not ranking them based on what I believe children would enjoy best (Encanto would have been placed much higher if this were the case). I am ranking based on what I believe to be an outstanding achievement in cinema as a whole. Without further ado, here is the list.

60. Home on the Range (2004)

This movie was... horrible. I have... no words. The bad guy is incredibly lame. His villainous "power" is his ability to lure in cows by yodelling. Luckily, the cows get help from a horse who enjoys kung-fu. Let that plotline sink in for a second.

59. Melody Time (1948)

Obviously, one should not expect any of the Wartime Era (the 2nd of the 7 Disney Canon eras) films to rank highly on anybody's list. It was undoubtedly the worst era, and if any film ranks lower than one of its six films, that should be saying quite a lot. Melody Time is the most boring one of the era, but still, I will not let Home on the Range get off that easily.

58. Chicken Little (2005)

Arguably as horrible as Home on the Range, it definitely is cringier. Luckily, this film was Disney's very first full venture into computer animation (seeing that Pixar had been receiving overwhelming success by that point), and so I gave it the slight edge. Do not be fooled though, this movie is horrendous.

57. Make Mine Music (1946)

Hey, another Wartime Era film. Who would have thought? This one is composed of ten segments, and although I remember feeling as if the whole lasted about three hours, it's apparently only 75 minutes in length. Interesting. There is one segment I particularly enjoyed entitled The Whale Who Wanted to Sing at the Met which deals with... basically everything the title describes. This was the segment that made me give it the edge over the snoozefest that was Melody Time.

56. The Three Caballeros (1944)

Let's get these Wartime Era package films out of the way and move on to the good stuff. The film's three caballeros are American Donald Duck, Brazilian José Carioca (the cigar smoker) and Mexican Panchito Pistoles (the pistol holder), and the whole acts as a goodwill message to Latin America more than anything else. It was more fun than the other films mentioned thus far, but the main theme was one that was already used in a previous package film (see Saludos Amigos) which proved better in my opinion.

55. Encanto (2021)

Besides being visually superior to all the other movies that ranked below it, Encanto is as garbage a film, and it quite literally had me and my younger sister asking ourselves, "Wait, was that really it?" by the end of it. It is a children's movie in the purest sense, in that I do not believe any adult could ever come to appreciate it for themselves. Also, Disney really milked it with overly familiar themes with this one. And one day, that little girl who had no superpowers kept her house from falling apart by proving that family is important. BOOOO-RING.

54. Atlantis: The Lost Empire (2001)

The Post-Renaissance Era suffered from excessively ambitious projects and storylines that seemed to deviate from the simple magic of the company. Atlantis: The Lost Empire is not a "bad" movie, but after seeing it, I did not wish to see it again. It had an interesting adventure I'm sure kids would like, but there is no real value in this film. Also, at a time during which the outstanding Pixar company was creating so many immense gems, Disney's films seemed relatively mediocre and forgettable in comparison.

53. Fun & Fancy Free (1947)

The last Wartime Era film I deem absolutely pointless is Fun & Fancy Free, a film split into two segments. While one deals with Mickey Mouse reenacting the famed Jack and the Beanstalk plotline, the other deals with bears displaying their love to one another by slapping each other in the face. I am not making this up, and if you wish to have your jaw wide open in disbelief and watch a two-minute cringefest to pass some time, go watch the song that accompanies the bears slapping the living hell out of each other, entitled "Say it with a slap". Who writes these things?

52. Oliver & Company (1988)

Although still a children's film above all else, at least this one is enjoyable from start to finish. Even if Oliver & Company does not hold much artistic value to it, when comparing it to the other eight films already mentioned, does that really matter? By this point, it should not, and this one feels as if it is leagues ahead of the others.

51. Fantasia 2000 (2000)

Nobody asked for an update on the original (the brilliantly executed Fantasia), released more than fifty years prior. Nobody thought much of the updated version either. Is it bad? No. There are segments that are quite beautiful. The original is just such an insane one-of-a-kind achievement, I really did not see the point of this one other than to showcase what animators were capable of in the year 2000.

50. Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018)

Just cracking the top 50 is the sequel to Wreck-It Ralph. Along with the previous entry, I did not see the point of this one. It was all right, I suppose. It had its funny moments and was very watcheable, but given the success of the first film, this just seemed like a surefire cash grab more than anything. Also, the characters were not as loveable as the first time around. Ralph seemed more idiotic, and the storyline was not as poignant. Just me?

49. Treasure Planet (2002)

Just like Atlantis: The Lost Empire, this film feels more ambitious in content than it does emotion, but Treasure Planet is undoubtedly fun, I do amit. I always enjoyed Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island, and this was a fine adaptation of the story. It isn't one that surpasses so many other Disney greats, but it's good, nonetheless.

48. Brother Bear (2003)

The Post-Renaissance really was nothing special. It's as if someone from the studio said, "Wow, we just created ten ridiculously impressive films! Should we keep it going and not let people down?", to which another responded, "Nah, to hell with our viewers." This is the sixth film of its era already presented on the list, and I'm beginning to doubt whether or not the Wartime Era truly was the worst one. (The answer is yes, it probably still was). Anyhow, the same thing said of Treasure Planet can be said for this one, but I gave Brother Bear the edge for creating slightly more emotional resonance.

47. The Fox & the Hound (1981)

As a kid, this film had one of the most heartbreaking moments in Disney history. Yes, I am referring to the moment the fox gets abandoned in the forrest. Children cried, the film's images broke hearts... Now that I am an adult, what is with those godawful oversentimental songs that accompany the film's scenes? The cringe. Way to ruin the moment. The Fox & the Hound is still a nice effort, nonetheless, but unfortunately it does prove a little too mawkish at times for my taste.

46. Dinosaur (2000)

Dinosaur mixed live action sequences and computer animation, and although the film might seem incredibly dull on the surface, I was pleasantly surprised to learn it was not the case at all. I actually enjoyed it the whole way through, and this, as an adult. Dinosaur definitely exceeded my expectations, just as I'm sure it would anybody who has not yet watched it.

45. The Black Cauldron (1985)

I totally understand why this film flopped. Compared to every other Disney film that came before and after it, The Black Cauldron is rather unique, in that it in no way feels like it belongs within the Disney canon. There are virtually no elements found in it that represent the company at all to be quite frank, but after having watched it, I really did think it to be quite enjoyable. It was a nice adventure, and the villain was indeed quite evil. Nonetheless, it was a box office bomb at the time of release, and most people tend to completely disregard this one today, but I promise you it's not any worse than all the films I ranked below it.

44. Saludos Amigos (1942)

The first Wartime Era film, Saludos Amigos kept me entertained the whole way through, and it is Disney's shortest feature length movie, clocking in at only 42 minutes (the ideal length for this type of film). All of its segments are brief and diverting, but the last segment in which Donald Duck and José Carioca explore the wonders of South America against a backdrop of samba and other latin music (including the highly famous song "Aquarela do Brasil") serves as the highlight of the flick.

43. The Rescuers (1977)

A little six-year-old girl stays at an adoption center. She sobs at not being wanted. She then gets abducted by a wretched woman. Two mice (her rescuers, as the title suggests) have to then save the poor girl and bring her back to the center. Also, the little girl is ridiculously cute, and her voice always sounds as if she just finished crying. Is it just me, or is this storyline particularly devastating? It honestly makes the sadder moments of The Fox & the Sound seem gut-wrenchingly hilarious in comparison. Albeit nowhere near perfect, the film is definitely fun and has a lot of enjoyable characters, and I definitely think we are entering "I recommend it" territory with this one. The reason it is ranked so low is simply because I believe Disney produced better.

42. The Sword in the Stone (1963)

This is another film people tend to really enjoy, and it is incredibly watcheable for sure. It's very light, in that there is never a moment in the film that has the viewer feel panicked or stressed or anxious as to what happens next. You are basically just following the teachings of one sorcerer to a boy who ultimately removes that famed sword from the stone. I have nothing bad to say about this one nor do I have anything astounding to say about it either.

41. The Rescuers Down Under (1991)

The worst film of Disney's famed Renaissance period still does not rank near the end of this list, which is saying quite a lot. The adventure is just as great as the original (if not, better), and some of its visuals are an astonishing breath of fresh air since it was with The Rescuer Down Under that the studio finally made extensive use of computer technology to animate some of its scenes. This achievement is the reason I gave it the slight edge over The Rescuers, and although not the most unforgettable Disney film to come out of the entire canon, it's one I for sure recommend to anyone seeking to watch something light in nature.

40. Frozen II (2019)

Sequels are rarely better than the original, and Frozen II certainly fits within that category. The world had already been created, and this sequel simply served to present a lesser storyline amongst familiar loveable characters. Cash grab? Probably. But there is a lot to admire in Frozen II all the same. The characters are just as diverting as the first time around, and some of its visuals proved just as striking (I think of Elsa's attempt to freeze the ocean as a vicious spirit horse tries to get a hold of her). The music was... subpar and somehow more annoying than that entire 2013 period during which children would not shut up singing the chorus to "Let it Go". Nonetheless, my sisters and I had gone to watch this in theatres as a sort of throwback, and we were not left dissapointed by any means. I will say one last thing. There was no point in including the salamander Bruni besides creating cute merchandise for children, and that feels so incredibly lame to me. There. I said it.

39. Bolt (2008)

Throughout the years, I've noticed that people tend to either absolutely love this one or despise it (probably because people say they love it). Bolt is a decent film that children will most definitely adore and one that adults will find enjoyable as well. It has a sweet concept that follows John Travolta as Bolt, a dog believing himself to be a superhero and wishing to return to his owner Penny (played by Miley Cyrus). It's a very caring effort, and I think people who claim to detest this one are really exaggerating. It's fun, warm and a good film to start off one of Disney's best eras (that being the Revival era).

38. Robin Hood (1973)

What a fun flick. From the opening credits that has an oddly cool rooster whistling a catchy tune as the film's characters get introduced to the chase scenes to the archery tournament to the final showdown, Robin Hood is truly delightful. Although reception tends to be mixed with this one, I can definitely understand why it has since garnered a cult following. However, I did feel the need to deduct it some points for recycling the choreography of scenes from previous Disney films (the most obvious of which is The Jungle Book). Great movie, nonetheless. It had me smiling the whole way through.

37. Raya and the Last Dragon (2021)

What Raya and the Last Dragon gets right is awesome, but man... how much more did the creators want to pack in this one? There is so much going on, so many locations the characters explore in so little time, and the ending is a little rushed. That being said, Awkwafina's character is humorous, the adventure is enjoyable, and it does attempt to be very different than the other Disney films that came before it. (Also, was definitely better than 2021's Oscar winner Encanto, but whatever, not a big deal.) Side note, although very much a children's movie for the entirety of its run, that little baby actually did have me and my sisters laugh out loud.

36. The Adventures of Ichabod & Mr Toad (1949)

In a decade or two, if Disney continues to release bullshit like Encanto, then The Adventures of Ichabod & Mr Toad might become the only film from the Wartime Era that will be placed in the better half of the eventual Disney canon. And gladly so. God, I think this movie to be so underrated. The Ichabod segment is actually quite frightening, and in all honesty, so is the Mr Toad segment. If my sisters were to watch this film individually, late at night, for the first time, in their basement, I guarantee they would shut it off in a panic and run to bed if the floor makes one of those cracking sounds. Disney would never make a film like this today, if it were only for the way that is depicted Mr Toad's bizarre obsession with motorcars, and I love it even more for this reason alone.

35. Pocahontas (1995)

Pocahontas suffers from being overly ambitious and provides a payoff that fails to meet expectations. It's a very beautiful story, and the awe-inspiring song "Colours of the Wind" is the clear highlight of the flick. Some of its scenes are truly gut-wrenching (especially for children), and the animated visuals of nature are splendid. However, the film does get slightly dull at times, and it left me wanting a little more once it concluded. Compared to Disney's others projects, it should certainly not be considered the company's best by any means.

34. Meet the Robinsons (2007)

THIS is not spoken of enough. One would think this to be another one of Disney's lame childish flicks from the 2000's, but wow... I would honestly place it near the top of the list if I was just considering feel-good quality alone. The whole is so cheerful, you feel for the good guys just as much as the bad guys by the end of it, and every character gets a happy ending. It might seem mawkish, but once again, in terms of pure art, it isn't as if the previous entries on this list surpass Meet the Robinsons, and at the end of the day, it is the Disney canon film I would bring with me (without hesitation) on a desert island if I compare it to all the films that ranked below. All this to say, it rightfully deserves its place in my opinion.

33. Moana (2016)

I was a little dumbfounded to learn that some people place this film near the top of the canon. Moana is one enormously entertaining adventure set amidst gorgeously animated ocean waters, and the music is quite catchy. The problem I have with this movie is the fact that its creators chose to recycle so many elements of so many Disney films that came before it in an evident effort to make it work. While that is not necessarily a bad thing, I prefer the ones that came before it since they are more subtle in nature. There are some moments that also felt subpar and/or a little too immature for my taste. The song "Shiny" (you know the one where the giant turtle rhymes the title by telling Maui he will "kick his hiney") is dreadful, and when that grandmother died at the start of the film (side note, they did not present it in a way that made me feel sad whatsoever), I literally told myself, "This lady will come back in the form of some spirit near the end of the film and encourage Moana somehow". And then came the spirit... Very fun movie, nonetheless, but there is definitely better.

32. Tarzan (1999)

If Tarzan came out today for the very first time, I am sure critics would rave about it still. The film feels very mature from start to finish, and the animation is gorgeous. I know South Park creators love to rip on Phil Collins for his supposedly godawful soundtrack to this film, but I actually enjoy it and believe it fits rather well with the entire flick. (They're probably just jealous they lost the Oscar to him that year, to be honest.) Also, not gonna lie, there are moments in this movie that can be pretty intense (am thinking of literally any instant that involves that highly possessed leopard and uhm... Clayton's... graphic fall). With respect to the story itself, Tarzan's upbringing is truly enjoyable, as much as his discovery of the human world and his immediate love for Jane. Of the ten Renaissance films, it's crazy to think I believe this one to be eighth-best, but that just goes to show how great of a period this truly was.

31. The Aristocats (1970)

This movie kicks ass. It's of the type that would be absolutely horrible if the studio ever attempted to make it today, for it would most likely suffer from both an exceeding childishness and a mawkish emphasis on the cute nature of the cats. Thankfully, released during the bronze era, it does neither of these things, and the whole film is just so entertaining, if only for a gang of ridiculously cool alley cats singing "Everybody Wants to Be a Cat" in early 20th century Paris.

30. The Great Mouse Detective (1986)

I have to admit, I was surprised by this one. Upon harking back on the Disney films that most marked them in their youth, nobody in my entourage ever mentions "The Great Mouse Detective" (probably because none of us ever actually watched it as children), yet it is absolutely fantastic. The characters are exceptionally well-written, the storyline is intriguing, and that final chase scene atop the Big Ben clocktower is one for the ages. This one is by far the most entertaining flick amongst all those that were previously mentioned.

29. Zootopia (2016)

With respect to morality lessons, Zootopia is truly amongst Disney's best. The concept is very clever, all of its characters are loveable, and the world of Zootopia itself is quite an impressive creation. At times funny, at times intriguing, Zootopia is a film both children and adults can equally enjoy. After watching it, did I tell myself, "Wow! THIS is art! I cannot believe how many emotions I felt thoughout this one!" No. I definitely did not. However, it evidently deserves to find a place in the better half of the canon, if only for its subject matter alone.

28. Hercules (1997)

This might be the most controversial decision on the list, for most people tend to rank this one slightly lower. Did Hercules make me laugh? Yes. Did it keep me entertained? Yes. Did it present a charming take on Greek mythology? Yes. Was the music consistent? You best believe it. How were the characters? Loved every single one of them, especially the soul-singers on the vases. I therefore believe Hercules to rightfully deserve its place here. (Note that although the films are all pretty much great by this point on the list, none of them have I referred to as tremendous art just yet, so Hercules being ranked this high should not come as that much of an enormous shock.)

27. Winnie the Pooh (2011)

The entire Winnie-the-Pooh franchise distinguishes itself from most others because it typically succeeds at presenting a children's story for which adults will feel an overwhelming nostalgia. The fact that the studio decided to release Winnie the Pooh during the Revival era (an era filled with impressive storylines, Broadway-like soundtracks and grandiose universes) adds to the beauty of such a film, and it is Disney's last traditionally-animated flick in the canon. I have always been someone to enjoy simplicity (especially in comparison to convoluted sotrylines that simply seem pretentious more than anything), and the innocent nature of this one will forever seem splendid through my eyes.

26. Peter Pan (1953)

I know this might seem as if it is ranked high, but I was honestly a little dissapointed by this one, for I initially believed it would for sure crack the top 15. Peter Pan is obviously a classic with respect to its storyline, its characters and its many memorable sequences (flying across the city with the help of pixie dust, the final battle with captain Hook, meeting the Lost Boys, etc.), but I was surprised how little impressive it seemed in comparison to the other Disney films of the same era (the Silver era). Once again, it is a very good children's film, but there is nothing that particularly stands out in terms of artistic merit, especially with respect to the many others that have yet to be presented.

25. The Princess & the Frog (2009)

Just like Peter Pan, this is an awesome film that I initially believed would fair slightly better. I was always a sucker for traditional animation as opposed to that of the computers, and the animators were particularly strong with this one. Also, after all the fluff Disney produced within the previous decade, The Princess & the Frog is an enormous fresh of breath air that seems to want to replicate the feel of the 90's Renaissance period. It greatly succeeded in that sense, but I do believe there to be flaws. For instance, I twice watched the film in my life and would not be able to sing you any of its tunes. This film also convinced me, as absolute proof, that traditionally animated films are not neccessarily better than the computer ones (this era's computer animated films proved far more impressive in my mind). That being said, the take on the jazz era was delightful, and the highlight of The Princess & the Frog has got to be anything involving Louis, the horn-playing alligator.

24. Big Hero 6 (2014)

Contrary to the previous two entries, this one came as a huge surprise in the good sense. It was like nothing Disney had ever done previously, and the storyline is based on one of the lesser-known Marvel comics. In terms of originality, Big Hero 6 is absolutely outstanding, and although the entire film is truly a wonder to be discovered, that one scene that has the protagonist fly across the fictional city of San Fransokyo (a hybrid between San Francisco and Tokyo) is awe-inspiring. Seriously, the landscapes you see in this one are gorgeous.

23. Tangled (2010)

I tend to compare Tangled to The Little Mermaid and Frozen to Beauty and the Beast for two distinct aspects: the accomplishments they brought forth with respect to the Disney animation studio, and the latter films which built on and perfected the craft of the former ones. Although there were Bolt and The Princess & the Frog that came before it, Tangled seemed to have set the blueprint for so many Disney films that followed it in the Revival era. It is beautifully crafted, and everything about it screams "Disney". Of its many arresting scenes, I would like to single out the one involving the floating lanters. Heavenly.

22. Wreck-It Ralph (2012)

Just like Big Hero 6, Wreck-It Ralph is so incredibly original for a Disney film, it is absolutely unbelievable. The world the storytellers created in this flick is incredibly intelligent, the storyline is diverting, and its characters (originally the losers of the film) are exceptionally loveable. The only reason this film did not rank higher is because of the incredible feats that have yet to be discussed. In terms of Disney making use of an entirely new theme rather than simply recycling recurring aspects of former films, Wreck-It Ralph gets it right.

21. The Emperor's New Groove (2000)

By far, without a doubt, the funniest film in the entire canon, and I say this without hesitation nor exaggeration of any kind. Every little detail of this movie is hilarious, every scene is entertaining, every character (villains included) is so agreeable, and the whole is one awesome experience I can watch endlessly. It might not be a work of art in comparison to the films in the top 20, but it rightfully deserves its place as close to the top as possible.

20. Frozen (2013)

As was mentioned previously, Frozen flawlessly perfected the craft so cleverly brought forth by all that Tangled came to represent. It had the Broadway songs, the loveable characters, the exciting universe (the wintry wonderland which was gorgeously animated, if I dare say so), and a marketability potential that was totally through the roof. Although the Disney Animation Studios had always been intended for children since its inauguration in the early 20th century, we have presently entered a period during which commerciability seems to have greatly exceeded art, and that's not necessarily a bad thing given what the studio wishes to accomplish, but I don't believe any of these movies will ever be considered amongst the all-time greats because of it. I believe the behemoth that was Frozen to represent the artistic peak of the Revival era, and I don't see how any of its ensuing films will ever surpass it (especially if we are given more Encanto's, my God... that movie sucks).

19. Lilo & Stitch (2002)

Lilo & Stitch is my highest ranked Disney film of the 21st century, and with good reason. There is a surprising amount of heartbreak felt in this one, and the concept is rather unique, unlike the other more "magical" Disney accomplishments that came before and after it. This film really resonates, and I believe it to be one that everyone will adore, to be frank. I never met anybody who told me, "Meh, I don't really like that one". In this one flick, from one scene to the next, are blended tragedy, comedy, adventure and cheerfulness, and each of these aspects make Lilo & Stitch truly unforgettable. Also, the scene involving the characters surfing in Hawaii against the sweet sounds of "Hawaiian Roller Coaster Ride" is as magical as anything one could wish for in a Disney film.

18. Mulan (1998)

You best believe my daughter (God willing I have one) is watching this one. This is a tour de force. Wonderfully animated, Mulan encompasses all elements that make up an outstanding Disney movie. Its characters are iconic, its soundtrack is exceptionally poignant, and the storyline is captivating for both children and adults. For a war movie, it is as Disney as it gets, in the sense that there are virtually no battle scenes whatsoever (the mountain scene is in no way a bloodfest), but that works fine for this type of film. Most surprisingly emotional scene of the movie that quite honestly came out of nowhere? The male soldiers, who have thus far been presented as loveable goofs, collectively admit that their lives would prove insufferable if they were not to have in mind "A Girl Worth Fighting For". Wow. I relate. This is a detail children won't appreciate nearly as much as adults will.

17. The Jungle Book (1967)

The final film the great Walt Disney produced before his death was The Jungle Book, and after all these years, it still does not dissapoint. The influence of 60's psychedelia can be felt throughout the entirety of this one, and every subsequent scene in the film proves more diverting than the previous one. The diverse characters the protagonist comes to meet throughout his venture in the jungle are so ridiculously engrossing and unique in their own way, and the music is arguably amongst Disney's best. Due to the influence of the era in which it was made, The Jungle Book might be the coolest flick of the entire canon, and while the whole feels extremely laidback (in the best of ways), the animation is pretty spectacular still.

16. The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh (1977)

Everything I wish to mention about this one has been said in a previous entry (see Winnie the Pooh). This is a film specifically made for children, but adults (such as myself) cannot help but feel a bizarre warm nostalgia that hits hard by the end of it, and this seems to ultimately be the movie's main purpose. By the very end of the many adventures presented on screen, Christopher Robin has grown older, and he then asks his stuffed bear, "Pooh, promise you won't forget me, ever?" to which Pooh responds, "Oh, I won't, Christopher, I promise." In case you have not yet noticed, arguably since the Lilo & Stitch entry, the ranking has very much entered the territory of "Why does this bizarrely hit so damn hard in my twenties?"

15. One Hundred and One Dalmatians (1961)

Walt Disney despised this movie. He despised it because he deemed it far inferior in terms of artistic merit than all the films he had hitherto released. When your company's creator deems an incredibly successful box office film inferior because its artistic merit feels subpar, you know that everything that came before it was most likely somehow an outstanding achievement in cinema. That being said, in terms of artistic merit, I still believe this one to be terrific. As much as I do not particularly like dogs, I admit the ones presented in this flick are actually adorable without it feeling forced, and the film's entertainment value is through the roof. Although it is an old flick, the scenes that have the dogs escape their tormentors are actually quite suspensful, and the ending is ridiculously uplifting, one cannot help but feel profound joy. To top it all off, in the final minute of the movie, the dog owner randomly suggests they build a dalmatian plantation and begins singing a highly delightful tune out of thin air, and the smile simply widens that much more by that point.

14. Aladdin (1992)

All right, so as much as I said The Jungle Book might be the coolest flick of the entire canon, I am now debating whether or not that title deserves to go to Aladdin instead. Following within the same pattern of all the Disney's 90's Renaissance films, Aladdin has a majestic storyline set amid an exotic land, exceptionally catchy song numbers, a charming love affair and loveable side characters that help keep the viewers entertained throughout its entirety. Robin Williams as the genie is undoubtedly the highlight of this flick, but there are so many exceptional scenes one can enjoy. Although all the songs are outstanding, "A Whole New World" is arguably Disney's greatest, and we are now entering a territory in the ranking that has me seriously question whether or not any Disney film in the near future can ever truly rank higher than this. I hope I am wrong, but something tells me it won't ever happen (at least not for a very long time), due to the direction in which the company seems to be heading. Simply put, this film is perfect, for every single one of its elements seem to come together splendidly, no matter the age at which you watch it.

13. Dumbo (1941)

Who wrote this movie? Who thought it okay to add that scene during which a crying baby elephant rocks within his imprisoned mother's trunk as the other babies of the zoo rest peacfully beside their parents? For the love of Christ... This might be the saddest film of the bunch. It isn't just one scene that stabs you in the heart. The whole movie is about one baby elephant, constantly ridiculed for the way he looks, wanting nothing more than to reunite with his mother. Added to this are the scene in which Dumbo and his only friend (Timothy the mouse) get drunk (yes, you read right) and hallucinate pink elephants, and the ridiculously uplifting scene in which a gang of crows teach the baby elephant to fly. I know people have come to criticize the film for its stereotypical portrayal of African-Americans through the birds, but I'm going to say like Whoopi Goldberg... Those crows were by far the coolest most likeable characters of the entire film, the only ones who were nice to Dumbo at that, and as a toddler, I admit heavily wishing to be a part of them. Dumbo is the least ambitious of Disney's 5 films from the Golden Age and is still ranked at number thirteen here, which should say quite a lot of the era.

12. The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1996)

In the 90's, Disney seemed less afraid to present taboo subject matter to its audience, and The Hunchback of Notre Dame might just be the most inappropriate children's movie in the entire canon. There is never any dumbing down whatsoever to the viewers, and most of the scenes and the music which accompanies them are incredibly frightening. The content of this flick is very mature in nature, and the viewing experience is rather troubling, especially upon considering that this is supposed to be another Disney film. The villain is arguably the creepiest of the entire canon, the music is superlative, and the animation is spellbinding. This is truly a work of art through my eyes, and Disney at its most ambitious. I know I keep repeating it, but it's actually crazy how spine-chilling this movie is, and I am so happy the company went through with it in the mid-90's.

11. Lady and the Tramp (1955)

If this is not the most charming Disney film of the entire canon, I do not know what is. How can two animated dogs so beautifully present what it means for two beings to fall in love with one another? Most live-action movies out there fail at presenting the same thing, which is pretty ridiculous to be frank. Lady and the Tramp is a simple flick whose love story is exceedingly poignant. There is no convoluted storyline, no unnecessary secondary character, no grandiose setting... It is the simple tale of two lovers from different backgrounds who fall madly for one another, and their relationship feels entirely relatable. It isn't even a musical, and still "Bella Notte" (sung and played on both the accordeon and guitar by two stereotypical Italian men as the dogs eat spaghetti in the film's most iconic scene) is honestly amongst the best songs in the canon.

10. Alice in Wonderland (1951)

So, uh... what the hell was going on in this one? Clearly, Lewis Carroll had always been a bit of a nut, but if Disney ever had to adapt his story, I'm so glad it was in 1951 rather than today. There was no real dumbing down to the audience, and the story's colorful characters are as offbeat as one would hope them to be. A flop upon release, Alice in Wonderland has grown on quite a number of critics who today view it as one of Disney's best. The characters are brilliantly brought to life, Alice's iconic adventures are hauntingly intriguing, and the film's animation is beyond ridiculous (the animators greatly taking advantage of the story's vivid imagery). There are quite a handful of moments in the film (especially the final scene that has Alice running away from the Red Queen and her army of cards) that might lead to the viewer telling themselves, "Wait, I don't remember taking drugs", but this is normal, for you probably did not. When my sisters and I were children, we found the movie so ridiculously creepy that we would dare one another to watch Alice in Wonderland late at night once our parents were sound asleep (we were indeed bizarre kids), but never did the film go past the scene during which the Walrus devours a hundred baby clams before all three of us would hurriedly shut the television set and scurry to bed. That being said, it feels as if there is so much more to appreciate in this film as an adult, for I now absolutely adore it and believe it to be a masterful piece of cinema.

9. Sleeping Beauty (1959)

In terms of pure animation, Sleeping Beauty is legitimately otherwordly. As opposed to the many other Disney films of the canon, Sleeping Beauty and its unusual production had its creators demand that an emphasis be put on outstanding visuals rather than comical characters and brief secondary stories. Therefore, the story itself is very straightforward, and the scenes rightfully take their time to unravel. Due to the use of the Super Technirama 70 process, Sleeping Beauty is presented via a particular widescreen format, one that amazingly displays the profound depths of each of the story's locations. Due to this relatively new technology, the settings all very much look like exceptional paintings, and this, for the entirety of the movie. The production and costume designs are fantastic, and even the characters move with the highest of detail. People will usually single out that final battle scene as presenting the most vividly sensational imagery of the entire flick, but there is something about the two lovers and their reflection dancing amongst the greenery to the song "Once Upon a Dream" that just seems incredibly spectacular to me.

8. Bambi (1942)

As of this point, I firmly do not see how my top 8 of the Disney canon can ever really change. I'm not saying it's impossible, I simply do not see it happening. The mere fact that a film like Bambi, which is of the most beautifully crafted animated films of all-time, is situated in position number eight is absolutely ludicrous. For starters, the animation is amazing; the animals in this movie move with such precision, and both the beauty and horror of life in the woods are flawlessly depicted. Bambi is a stellar accomplishment in cinema, and the little baby repeating "Mother! Mother!" as he searches for his (unbeknownst to him) dead mother is a jaw drop that still breaks hearts today. Also, that entire final sequence during which the forrest catches fire and the animals are being murdered one after the other is honestly just as shocking as the mother's death. I was never a fan of this film as a child, for I found it slightly dull, but wow... I appreciate it so much more as an adult, and just that scene involving the tune "Little April Shower" should serve as an excellent reason as to why this film should be regarded so highly by cinema enthusiasts.

7. The Little Mermaid (1989)

As much as I personally wished for this film to rank higher, the remainder of the films are simply too strong. If Disney lovers have anyone to thank for the company's output of the last thirty years, it is without a doubt those involved with the production of The Little Mermaid. It is the one on which so many subsequent Disney films have modeled themselves, and it still remarkably holds up today. The brave princess proving herself in the world, the Broadway musical numbers, a foreign universe not yet fully explored, comical side characters... This is the blueprint of all which came afterwards, and it's a formula that still works. The underwater animation is spectacular, the soundtrack is incredibly catchy, no side character feels unwanted, the storyline is wholly entertaining, and there is no holding back on the gruseome death of the main villain at the end of the flick. Also, The Little Mermaid was the final film of the Disney canon to be traditionally animated via the hand-painted cel method, which just makes the whole that much more impressive. Go rewatch "Under the Sea" knowing this fact, and prepare to be blown away.

6. Beauty and the Beast (1991)

Kind of like when I had earlier discussed Frozen as being the perfected spiritual successor to Tangled, Beauty and the Beast seems to have done just that with The Little Mermaid. All the elements found in the latter can very much be found in the former, but the experience is just that much better. The music is just as stellar, all major and minor characters are diverting (even Gaston is hilarious), the storyline is one of great beauty, and the world is gorgeously brought to life. It is on this last point that I believe Beauty and the Beast to have the edge over The Little Mermaid. I have seen other adaptations of the tale (notably Jean Cocteau's that was released in 1946), and I promise you, none are as awe-inspiringly magical as the one Disney released in 1991. If one wishes to know just what it is I'm attempting to highlight, the enchanted castle's rendition of "Be Our Guest" includes everything one needs to know about the ambition set forth by this flick. What Beauty and the Beast represents is the perfect embodiment of a film Disney has been endeavoring so hard to achieve for the last thirty or so years. For this reason, once again, I do not see how my top 8 can ever truly alter, but anything is possible.

5. Fantasia (1940)

As much as I adore the previous entry and believe it to encompass literally every detail Disney strives so hard to achieve nowadays, the top 5 are ranked higher simply because each of these films attempt something that not only had never been seen before but also will most likely never be accomplished ever again. At number five, there is Fantasia, a one-of-a-kind project that greatly succeeds expectations. The entire film is separated into many segments, each of which places an emphasis on wondrous hand-drawn animation meant to flow beautifully alongside pieces of classical music. Back in Cegép, at the age of eighteen, many of my friends from the arts department referred to this as their all-time favourite movie of any genre due to the admirable boldness of its undertaking. For those who seek any Disney film to watch as a simple throwback, this is evidently not the movie for you, but for those who seek to watch a film of immense aesthetic value, take a look at the wonder that is Fantasia.

4. Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (1937)

On top of being the one that started it all, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is actually a tremendous work of art. Films with morality and convoluted storylines and an immense amount of loveable characters that always seek to captivate the viewer's attention can be extremely entertaining for sure, but the films whose beauty solely, yet successfully, relies on the simplicity and innocence of each ensuing scene are beyond compare. If I were to watch this film alone on a giant screen late one night for the very first time, you best believe I would be wonderstruck by the elegance of it all. In terms of pure fairy tale, this is it. This is no exaggeratedly modernized adaption (not that that is necessarily bad); the characters are as one-dimensional as the fairy tales from centuries ago, and I sadly don't believe Disney will ever attempt to reproduce this ever again. With Snow White, I'm not asking myself, "What was going through her mind when she took that apple?" or telling myself, "Well, that's not really realistic". No. It is an animated fairy tale, presented as a true work of art, and the subtle details make its viewing experience absolutely worthwhile. At the start of the film, as Snow White scrubs the floor steps, heavenly white doves come to surround her as a faint charming music plays in the background, and she then lets out an overexaggerated sigh. "Do you want to know a secret?" she innocently asks the birds, "Promise not to tell?" The birds nod. "We are standing by a wishing well." The curious birds then proceed to take a peak inside the wishing well, and the entire film follows in the footsteps of everything so ingeniously laid out in this divine scene. So innocent. So beautiful.

3. Cinderella (1950)

For decades, Disney has been pushing quite extensively on the concept that their movies and theme parks are magical and dreamlike. If there is one film that best represents the reasons for this, it is undoubtedly Cinderella, which shines on so many levels. The artlike quality and innocent content of the Golden Age are still very much present in this one, as are the character development and bold visuals of the Silver Age. Everything that had previously been stated about Snow White can be repeated here but once again, Disney's craft seemed to have been perfected with Cinderella. Every second of this film seems so ethereal, from the moment a well-rested Cinderella says, "What kind of a dream? Mh-mh, can't tell, otherwise it won't come true", to the final scene where the lovers embrace as the words "And they lived happily ever after" appear at the bottom of the screen. If someone is seeking an unrealistic film about one's greatest desires coming true in the most serendipitous of ways, Cinderella is arguably the best in all of cinema. Even when bad things happen in this flick, one cannot help but smile at the very evident knowledge that all will be all right by the conclusion. From the highly inspiring musical content (from "A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes" to "Bippity Boppity Boo" to "So This is Love?") to those ridiculously endearing mice and birds (who are arguably the greatest pals in the entire Disney canon... the things they do to make the protagonist happy... sheesh...) to the wondrous animation (look no further than Cinderella's iconic gown transformation) to that last instant during which the glass slipper shatters (quite literally shattering the hearts, hopes and dreams of so many children who watched it for the first time) only to reveal that Cinderella had the other slipper, immediately after which the viewer becomes as shocked as the evil stepmother, and the animals celebrate as the slipper is iconically put on the protagonist's foot (in a retrospectively obvious plot twist I admit not having seen coming), every detail of this film is perfect. It is without a doubt an immense work of art, one that will never make its way to the giant screen ever again if for its masterful innocent quality alone. Disney has grown out of these kinds of films to please the masses, and that's fine (see the following entry), but man they do not make them like this anymore.

2. The Lion King (1994)

Remove the overwhelming buzz surounding this flick. Remove the fact that you know every line by heart. Remove everything you already know about The Lion King. Expecting another great Disney movie, you walk into a dark silent cinema, and eyes on the screen, you hear the faint sound of wildlife. Suddenly, a voice blasts out as the hot yellow haze of the savanna sun rises in the distance. Various animal species all go on some sort of pilgrimage as "Circle of Life" plays in the background, and as Pride Rock is ultimately revealed, the music grows in intensity. Without speech of any kind, the characters are well identified: Zazoo the blue bird is Mufasa the King's assistant and messenger, and Rafiki the monkey is godfather to future king Simba (this detail will come in handy later on in the flick, explaining why Rafiki is always so keen on looking after the lion). After the child is baptized, the music grows in intensity once more, the enormous sound of a drum cuts it off in the most abrupt of manners, and the title card comes on screen. These were the first five minutes. In terms of ambition set forth by the 90's Renaissance, there is nothing as bold as The Lion King, a film which is practically in a category of its own. Taking advantage of the vivid imagery of the Pride Lands, The Lion King mixes humor and fear with extremely well-written interesting characters (from comic relief characters Timon & Pumbaa to the ridiculously cruel lion that is Scar), arguably the best soundtrack of them all, a storyline that is quite disparate from the rest of the canon, total heartbreak (rather than not know his mother has died as was the case in Bambi, Simba actually watches his father die), morality which never feels forced and a finale that inspires like no other. Nobody involved with the project believed it would be as great as Disney's following film Pocahontas, which seems absolutely ridiculous in retrospect, for this was truly an undertaking like no other, and every detail of The Lion King is everything one can hope for in a Disney film. As much as I've always admitted adoring the simplicity of some of the other films such as Cinderella, I would be lying to myself if I disregarded the awesomeness of everything The Lion King comes to represent.

1. Pinocchio (1940)

Not only is Pinocchio the greatest Disney animated feature of all-time, but it is also the greatest animated feature of all-time, and it also very much deserves a place in Sight & Sound's all-time top 250. As much as I adore Pixar and Hayao Miyazaki, Pinocchio is the absolute best in the animated genre, and I don't see how anything will ever beat it. Is there anything wrong with this film? Absolutely not, but that shouldn't be enough to say it's the greatest. Is there anything impressive, aesthetic and emotionally profound about this film? Every single moment, and I say this without exaggeration. For starters, it begins with one of the most recognizeable songs in the history of cinema "When You Wish Upon a Star", sung by Jiminy Cricket who is both Pinocchio's conscience and a heck of a pal, so you know you're in for something good from the get-go. Although this shouldn't be the ONLY reason people should hold this film in high esteem, it was also a groundbreaking achievement in animation with respect to both the motion of characters and objects, and natural phenomenon such as smoke, rain and water. Eighty-two years later, the animation still looks as fresh and outstanding as ever. The storyline is by far the greatest of the entire canon, and there are so many adventures one follows throughout the entirety of this flick, hardly none of which would seem suitable for children by today's standards. This whole film is a metaphor for "Children act as if they are born yesterday", which in Pinocchio's case is very much the reality of things. The puppet first gets abducted, then he is forced to perform for the notorious Stromboli against his own will, then his saddened companions (all of them, children) who turn into donkeys for disobeying their parents get enslaved for the remainder of their lives, then a terrifying whale (who wants nothing but to devour everything he sees) eats Geppetto his creator, then he actually dies in attempting to save him. It is only at the end of the flick, due to the fact that Pinocchio was ultimately deemed able to separate right from wrong and fight for what he believed in that the Blue Fairy revives him and transforms him into a real boy. So... a lot going on in this one. The haunting morality behind it all is wicked, and there truly is reason to believe this innocent child (or puppet) has grown into a better person by the end of it. I will mention it again, but if one really stops to think of it, is that whole donkey sequence (during which Pinocchio chugs beers and smokes cigars, and kids sob because they will never again see their "mamma's") not amongst the most terrifying scenes in all of cinema? Luckily, I do not believe parents complained about it back in 1940, but no way in hell is this film being made again today. In terms of pure cinematic achievement, Pinocchio is an absolute work of genius, a materpiece, one enormous aesthetic journey that has very evidently stood the test of time. It's (I believe) the only animated film I would place in my top 100 films of all-time, and it should definitely be considered for the Sight & Sound poll which will be renewed later this year.

review
Like

About the Creator

Gabriele Del Busso

Anglo-Italian having grown up within the predominantly French-speaking city of Montreal.

Passion for all forms of art (especially cinema and music).

Short stories usually deal with nostalgia and optimism within a highly pessimistic society.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.