Geeks logo

Nuclear Animation

Tokyo Bound

By Alice Donenfeld-VernouxPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Nuclear Animation
Photo by Lukáš Lehotský on Unsplash

Big mistake. Today I decided to go through my notebooks. Sounds innocuous, but as a writer, they are more than plentiful. I always loved to write, but business took me all over the world, conventions to license broadcast and licensing rights to Marvel Superheroes, Filmation Masters of the Universe and later, documentaries and outdoor programming.

Flying constantly from one end of the globe to another gave me plenty of time to read, and also to write, my favorite occupation. I always had a notebook with me and would scribble my thoughts for stories, TV programs, letters to people I loved, or hated - those would never get mailed - and funny things happening along my travels.

The first notebook I opened reminded me of the following story. Let me preface by saying I was one of only three or four women in the world of globetrotters who created the international television programming business. Before we started in the 1970s, each country produced their own programs for viewers. The idea of American programs broadcast outside the States was unimaginable. Even more unimaginable was the idea of international programs playing in the USA. But we did it, a small band of looney people who believed we could program the world, and we made it so. First, our North and South American programs were shown around the world. Getting the international programs on in the USA was more difficult. But now, turn on services like Prime, Acorn, Hulu, and NETFLIX today to see great series from Turkey, Poland, Eqypt, France, Italy, Germany, Sweden, Denmark, Latin America, and many more.

In the 1970’s I was Executive Vice President of Filmation Studios, a division of Westinghouse Broadcasting and Cable. At that time Westinghouse not only made your favorite home appliances, they were also in the nuclear power business. The fact an animation studio was part of the company was happenstance. The main office wanted to be in the cable business so they acquired a cable company and the animation studio was an appendage, like an appendix - useless but still there. Most of Westinghouse had no idea we existed as there was very little interaction.

There was a television convention in Australia and I had booked a suite to exhibit our programs for the Far Eastern market. Japan was a difficult market to crack as they were successful with their own animation, or anime, as it was referred to. Mazinger Z, Dragon Ball, Gaiking, and other series were even broadcast with some success in the USA when dubbed into English.

Westinghouse had an office in Tokyo, they booked a room for me and even set up an appointment with a major broadcaster. At that time, and maybe still, Japanese companies were loath to deal with women and wouldn’t even take meetings with me. I needed a man to go with me, and sadly, the Tokyo Westinghouse staff were not available. All my staff were either too youthful, or off to South America or traveling to conventions in Europe so I had to figure out how to find a man for my trip.

What the hell! Westinghouse was a big company with executives travelling around the world all the time, maybe they had someone who could spare a few hours in Tokyo?

I started with Westinghouse main office in Pittsburgh. “Human Resources, please?” I was very polite

“Looking for a job?” answered a brusque voice.

“No, I work for one of your divisions and I need to find someone to go to Tokyo with . . . .”

The voice on the other end cut me off in mid explanation. “Call the International Nuclear Sales Division. They go there all the time.” The extension number was rattled off and the phone slammed in my ear.

Sure, send me to nuclear sales. Animation? Cartoons? Why not?

A polite male voice answered. “Nuclear Sales, may I assist you?”

Okay, here goes. “I’m Alice Donenfeld, Exec. VP of Filmation Studios, a division of Westinghouse Broadcasting and Cable. I’m going to Tokyo next month for business and I need someone to come with me and there is no one appropriate and available at our division.” Even to myself I sounded whiny.

“What’s Flamation and what do they do?”

“It’s Filmation, like F- I -L- M and we make animated cartoons.”

“Is this a prank? Who put you up to this? We sell nuclear power plants!! Are you kidding?”

I took a deep breath. “Please, don’t hang up. I’m not kidding, this is not a joke. Check your corporate address book and look up my name and the name of the company. I’ll wait.”

There was a lot of sniffing, muttering and shuffling like someone trying to find something hidden in the bottom of a drawer. Finally a muted ‘Uh-ha!’ “Darn. Sorry. I just found your company and your name. Never came up before. Guess you don’t have much contact with us. What do you produce?”

I followed with a list of programs, “Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids” and “He-Man” brought a ‘wow’. His kids watched both.

“OK. I understand. Why do you need someone to go with you? Odd request for number two at the company.”

“Good question. The Japanese won’t do business with a woman, no matter what title we have. All the age appropriate guys on my staff are busy. I just need a man for a few hours to be introduced and shake hands with everyone. Then just sit and nod. I’ll handle the meeting.”

“What do you mean by ‘age appropriate’?” He asked.

“Older than twenties. The perfect man would be mature, in his late forties to early sixties, tall, well dressed and articulate.” Tall is always good and imposing, and a bit of age shows experience.

A laugh at the other end. “Looks like you might do better at Central Casting.”

Yeah, he was probably right. I was ready to say ‘thank you’ and try to figure out something else, when he began again. “Now I know the story, let me think about it and see if anyone is going anywhere close about that time. Give me your number and I’ll get back to you.”

I was overjoyed. Maybe I was about to be rescued. Maybe not.

Three days later, my phone rang. The receptionist said someone from soomething casting was calling?

The voice on the other end was deep with a slight accent. “Central Casting told me you needed someone. I’m 56 years old, six two, a PhD in Nuclear Physics and a scientist at Westinghouse Nuclear. Does that fit your request? I must be in Bejing around the time you need. What are we going to do?”

I couldn’t believe it. My prayers had been answered. I was almost speechless. A nuclear scientist!

“Do you know anythinn about licensing animated cartoons for broadcast?”

“No, but there is a first time for everything.”

I could hear a hidden laugh in his voice. This might turn out to be a good trip after all.

To make a long story short, we met in Tokyo, had several meetings where the Japanese wouldn’t even look at me, all questions were directed to my scientist who then nodded to me to answer. We never sold a darn thing but were taken for a fabulous dinner.

The next night, friends of mine were passing through and we were both invited to an enjoyable and interesting party at a French journalist’s home outside Tokyo.

Since his meeting in China was still a few days off, to kill some time he came to Australia to meet up with my gang. Our scientist helped set up our office at the convention. In two days with our clients laughing at our story, he even learned all about our animation series.

When I got back to my office in the States, I received a thank you letter saying it was one of the best business trips he ever had and to please remember him if I ever needed a cartoon salesman.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Alice Donenfeld-Vernoux

Alice Donenfeld, entertainment attorney, TV producer, international TV distributor, former VP Marvel Comics & Executive VP of Filmation Studios. Now retired, three published novels on Amazon, and runs Baja Wordsmiths creative writing group.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.