Geeks logo

Not the Same

How do you tell your boyfriend about the pain you're feeling?

By Monique StarPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

When Thomas summoned the sides for a brainstorming session, the first thing he noticed was Roman rubbing his head and neck. However, when he noticed that he wasn't ignored, the Prince stopped rubbing and changed his posture. The session consisted of the usual banter and debate with some sprinkles of Roman trying to sneak in a head rub or neck rub.

After the discussion, the sides sunk back into the mind palace leaving a very concerned and confused Dank Engine sitting on the couch.

Roman was sitting in the dining room discussing what movie they wanted to see together later that day. As this was happening, Patton walked by and looked at Roman with a concerned expression.

"Um, I'll be right back, geek charming" Roman told him before kissing his nose.

"Okay, don't be too long." Logan responded with an attempt to joke.

Roman walked with Patton until they were out of earshot.

"Roman, this has been going on for too long."

"It's only been a week."

"A week too long. Clearly, you're hurting as a result of this and not just on the outside. If you won't confront Logan, I will."

"No, no! Absolutely not! It's bad enough he has a melodramatic boyfriend. He doesn't need his polar opposite telling him how to do his part in a relationship, especially when it comes to something so small."

"At least tell him not to overwork."

"I would try again but I 'don't function as the brain, so I can't understand the struggles."

Roman puts on a fake smile, as he approaches his nerdy boyfriend again. As Patton went to the kitchen to bake, he couldn't help but think about how he would feel if he was in Roman's situation.

Later that night, Patton was making sure everyone was getting ready for bed. He turned on calming music for Virgil, and felt concern for Roman, so the last person he checked on was Logan. Since he knew Logan wouldn't answer his door if he knocked, the father figure proceeded to slowly open the door. He walked over to the necktie-wearing side who was sitting at his desk working on paperwork for plans that wouldn't happen for many weeks and leaned against the wall.

"So, about Roman... you think he's single?" Patton asked, nonchalantly.

Logan grunts before saying, "He and I have been dating for months, Patton. You know this."

Patton was satisfied by the attention received from the question.

"I dunno, when was the last time you noticed him struggling or being in some kind of pain?"

"If he was having some type of struggle, he'd tell me. He knows he can come to me."

Patton showed Logan an expression that demonstrated doubt. The nerd put down his pen and turned toward Patton.

"Did I overlook something? What do you know?" he asked aggressively.

Patton walked out the door and pointed the way to Roman's room. Logan immediately got up and started speed-walking for Roman's room. He didn't know what to feel and didn't know what he expected to see. When opened the door, he immediately identified his feelings: surprise, realization, and guilt.

In front of him was Roman in bed looking uncomfortable as he cuddled (or at least tried to) with the robot puppet of Logan. As he gazed at the attempt, he thought about how he noticed Roman's neck and head hurting, but always dismissed it as being the product of some dangerous shenanigans in the imagination. He sighed and approached the bed. Logan made the puppet disappear and quickly took its initial place by Roman. He held Roman in his arms and stroked the royal's hair.

Roman slowly woke up due to warmth replacing the feeling of cold metal. He looked down once he noticed Logan in bed with him.

"Why didn't you tell me?" Logan whispered.

"That you overwork? Because you dismissed my concerns last time I tried. That I want us to cuddle? Because you don't like being so close or anything resembling PDA. That I feel miserable and desperate to be with you that cuddling a puppet is my last resort even though it doesn't feel the same? Because being melodramatic would lead to you detesting me."

Logan took off his glasses and held Roman closer. He kissed Roman on the lips, and felt tears coming down the Prince's face.

"Roman, I know you being my first boyfriend is no excuse for ignorance, and I'm really sorry I've made you unhappy and feel like you can't talk to me, but just like how you seem to be making an effort for me, I am going to do the best I can to make an effort for you, starting with this cuddle session," Logan told him.

From then on, he did his best to fulfill his promise, by keeping himself from overworking by thinking of Roman's concerns and, as he continued having cuddle sessions with Roman, he steadily grew to like them.

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Monique Star

I'm not the most sophisticated adult out there. I'm also not the best at communicating all the time, but I do try my best to get my thoughts out there into the world verbally or nonverbally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.